Loading, please wait...

Junk Boy - by Tony Abbott (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Novels in Verse

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Age Range: Teen

Author: Tony Abbott

Language: English

Street Date: October 13, 2020
TCIN: 80151499
UPC: 9780062491251
Item Number (DPCI): 247-46-4867
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Bobby, who is bullied by the kids at school for living in a home with a front yard that is filled with garbage, meets a young artist who teaches him to see himself as more than "Junk Boy.""--



Book Synopsis



Bestselling author Tony Abbott's YA novel-in-verse is an unflinching and heartbreaking look at a boy's junk-filled life, and the ways he finds redemption and hope, perfect for fans of The Crossover and Long Way Down.

Junk. That's what the kids at school call Bobby Lang, mostly because his rundown house looks like a junkyard, but also because they want to put him down. Trying desperately to live under the radar at school--and at the home he shares with his angry, neglectful father--Bobby develops a sort of proud loneliness. The only buffer between him and the uncaring world is his love of the long, wooded trail between school and home.

Life grinds along quietly and hopelessly for Bobby until he meets Rachel. Rachel is an artist who sees him in a way no one ever has. Maybe it's because she has her own kind of junk, and a parent who hates what Rachel is: gay. Together the two embark on journeys to clean up the messes that fill their lives, searching against all odds for hope and redemption.

Narrated in Bobby's unique voice in arresting free verse, this novel will captivate readers right from its opening lines, urging them on page after page, all the way to its explosive conclusion.



Review Quotes




Bobby narrates in largely unrhymed verse with clipped lines and a propulsive cadence that befits its speaker. There's light and redemption at the end that's hard earned for all players--adult and teen.--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Writing in spare, straightforward verse, Abbott deftly captures the characters' hurt at feeling forgotten and misunderstood, the isolation of coming-of-age under traumatic circumstances, and the solace of being seen and accepted. Graceful in execution and in substance, Bobby and Rachel's moving story is emotionally satisfying.--Publishers Weekly


This poignant novel in verse captures the bleakness and frustration of both teens' lives and draws them out of their despair with courage and compassion. The . . . conclusion is both hopeful and a relief.--Booklist

Seasoned YA author Abbott crafts a nuanced story about an unlikely but desperately needed friendship between two outsiders. Readers will be pushed to think critically about how words and actions affect others. The narrative also respectfully shows positive aspects of religion and getting mental health assistance. This novel-in-verse has an engaging male POV, and would be a good read-alike for those who enjoyed Jason Reynolds's Long Way Down. The message of breaking through barriers to reach out for help and being an empathetic friend are important themes for teens to understand, and makes this a definite buy for YA collections.--School Library Journal

The free-verse form effectively propels this story, which is at once action-oriented and introspective, forward. Bobby's emotion-filled thoughts make him a narrator it is easy to feel sympathy toward. The idea that people can help others even as they contend with their own demons is clear. This message, and the easily accessible, evocative language of the verse, should hold appeal for a range of realistic fiction fans.--Kirkus Reviews
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.3 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.95 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.