Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Inheritance Games - by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Paperback)

The Inheritance Games - by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Inheritance Games - by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$6.99 sale price when purchased online
$10.99 list price

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



Don't miss this New York Times bestselling impossible to put down (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why -- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.

To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch -- and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.



Review Quotes



Praise for The Inheritance Games:
A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and high-stakes treasure hunt, set in the mysterious world of Texas billionaires. The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page!--Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals

* Part The Westing Game, part We Were Liars, completely entertaining.--Kirkus, starred review

* This strong, Knives Out-esque series opener...provides ample enjoyment.--Publishers Weekly, starred review

[A] well-characterized mystery that's packed to the brim with twists and tricks. Hand immediately to teen fans of Knives Out or readers who love Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious series.--Booklist

Barnes's meticulously crafted novel is like the film Knives Out for the YA world, perfect for any reader seeking suspense, romance, and glamour. ...Barnes crafts high-stakes tension, a swoony love triangle, and a large but memorable cast of characters. Fun and fast-paced, fans of Karen M. McManus's One of Us is Lying and Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious will find a new home at Hawthorne House.--SLJ

Impossible to put down.--Buzzfeed

Prickly, witty, and stubborn as a mule, Avery is an eminently likable protagonist, and her savvy ability to manage the obnoxiously privileged people she suddenly finds herself surrounded by is admirable, helped plenty by her quippy one-liners that level even the snobbiest among them.--BCCB



About The Author



Jennifer Lynn Barnes is the New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty acclaimed young adult novels, including Little White Lies, Deadly Little Scandals, The Lovely and the Lost, and The Naturals series: The Naturals, Killer Instinct, All In, Bad Blood, and the e-novella, Twelve. Jen is also a Fulbright Scholar with advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science. She received her Ph.D. from Yale University in 2012 and is currently a professor of psychology and professional writing at the University of Oklahoma. You can find her online at www.jenniferlynnbarnes.com or follow her on Twitter @jenlynnbarnes
Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x .8 Inches (W) x 6.8 Inches (D)
Weight: 1 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13-19 Years
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Mysteries & Detective Stories
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Paperback
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Language: English
Street Date: July 27, 2021
TCIN: 81987330
UPC: 9780759555402
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-1790
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.33 inches length x 5.42 inches width x 8.15 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.8 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: How many pages are in the paperback version of this book?

submitted by AG - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi, AG! Regarding your question about the The Inheritance Games - by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Paperback): This book has 400 pages. If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact Target.com at 1-800-591-3869 every day, between 7am-11pm CST.

    submitted byTaylor - 3 years ago
    Target expert support
  • A: Is this book appropriate for 12 year olds? Most of the YOUNG ADULT books we have looked at has inappropriate stuff in.

    submitted byAC - 1 year ago
4.7 out of 5 stars with 130 reviews
100% would recommend
12 recommendations

Took a moment....

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Yofavoritetargetshopper - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
It took a moment to get my attention but soon, after watching the characters develop I fell into the very risky gamble. This book was easy to read and kind of personal. I enjoyed the plots and trying to guess what was coming next. Can’t wait to read the rest!
Did you find this review helpful?

Love this book!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Katelyn - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is SUCH an amazing book. I was captivated from the beginning and left wanting more at the end. So many plot twists! Definitely recommend!!
Did you find this review helpful?

A amazing book!!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
hi - 1 year ago
This book has a perfect balance between its themes. it has a great deal of suspense and smoothly leaves you on a cliffhanger at the end of the book making you want to read the next one. i loved this book and the series. I recommend it 100%.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

SO GOOD

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Sandy4books - 1 year ago
YALL BETTER RUN. Such a good book, I loved every second reading this book. Just listen to me and read it 😌
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

BUY IT

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Myah - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This book is amazing and it’s very capturing of the mind. Definitely a cool little read. BUY IT
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Missing Chapters

1 out of 5 stars
Katie - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
The book is good, but this copy is missing 13 chapters. Not sure if it’s a printing mistake, but chapters 38-49 are completely missing from the book. It jumps from 37-40. You miss several plot points and I had to go back and figure out what I had missed.
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Favorite book!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Sabrina - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
My favorite book I’ve ever read! It’s an easy read, keeps you coming back for more, and is full of twists and turns. I’m hooked and am going to buy the second book now!
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love the story!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Joni - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Cute mystery books, I like they way it unfolds. And I also love how Target wraps the book in plastic to prevent dust or other things that might dirty the book.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Must read!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
morgalorga - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I really liked this book! I guessed the one major twist from the beginning but thoroughly enjoyed it! I finished it in under 24 hours.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great Read

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
DJ - 2 years ago
Couldn’t put the book down!
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

So good must have!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Bri - 3 years ago
Best book I have ever read in my whole life like so good
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing!!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
kate - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Read this book in a day!! I couldn’t put it down!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

10/10 recommend

5 out of 5 stars
25Grab - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
I Fing loved this book. Kept me intrigued and interested the whole time. I straight up couldn’t put it down and finished it in 3 days.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

A must read for mystery lovers.

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Kiana B - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Very fast paced and super short chapters!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy