Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Local Woman Missing - by Mary Kubica

Local Woman Missing - by Mary Kubica - image 1 of 1
Local Woman Missing - by Mary Kubica - image 1 of 1
$14.75 sale price when purchased online
$27.99 list price

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



People don't just disappear without a trace...

Shelby Tebow is the first to go missing. Not long after, Meredith Dickey and her six-year-old daughter, Delilah, vanish just blocks away from where Shelby was last seen, striking fear into their once-peaceful community. Are these incidents connected? After an elusive search that yields more questions than answers, the case eventually goes cold.

Now, eleven years later, Delilah shockingly returns. Everyone wants to know what happened to her, but no one is prepared for what they'll find...

In this smart and chilling thriller, master of suspense and New York Times bestselling author Mary Kubica takes domestic secrets to a whole new level, showing that some people will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried.



Review Quotes



"[A] daringly plotted, emotionally eviscerating psychological thriller." --Publishers Weekly

"[Local Woman Missing] will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Gregg Olsen.... The twists, turns, and an unpredictable ending make it irresistible." --Library Journal

"I'm shamelessly addicted to Mary Kubica's juicy, unpredictable reads, as much for her well-rounded, fully human, flawed characters as her sizzling plots--and she just keeps getting better. LOCAL WOMAN MISSING is a propulsive journey through a winding maze of secrets, leading to a jaw-dropping twist that I never saw coming. Loved every minute." --Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever

"Dark and twisty, with all the white-knuckle tension and jaw-dropping surprises readers have come to expect from Mary Kubica." --Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Home Before Dark

"Complex, richly atmospheric and thoroughly riveting, Local Woman Missing is a thoughtful look at how even the most innocuous secrets between happy couples and beloved friends in tightly knit neighborhoods can sometimes turn so unexpectedly and terrifyingly deadly." --Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and A Good Marriage

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 352
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Park Row
Format: Hardcover
Author: Mary Kubica
Book theme: Psychological
Language: English
Street Date: May 18, 2021
TCIN: 81225904
UPC: 9780778389446
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-9994
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6.13 inches width x 9.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.22 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.7 out of 5 stars with 181 reviews
92% would recommend
40 recommendations

Great book!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Xraechel - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
I finished this in a few days! The ending was definitely a twist! Highly recommend!
Did you find this review helpful?

Good book

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Mary - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Read in three days—great read!
Did you find this review helpful?

You Don't see it coming

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Emma T - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
I was COMPLETELY off from what I thought happened. This book was so well written. It handles jumping from perspective to perspective in the perfect way with out making it confusing. Until the moment I find out what actually happened to Meredith, and the police had to badger to open a door, I had no idea what happened to Delilah. I almost want a second book, one directly off of this book, that goes through the life and struggle of how the two girls adjust back to their home life, one that also goes into the disappearance of Carly and the life Delilah lived whole in hiding.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing!!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
AGH - 7 months ago
This is the best book ever! I finished it in a couple of hours, I couldn’t put it down! The author really grabs all of your attention and there’s so many twists and turns throughout the book. If you like a good mystery book that makes it hard to put down, this is for you!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Pick another book........

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Kay - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
Part One of the book was excruciating to get through. I felt like it was poorly written, and in retrospect, the book could have been written without that portion of the storyline. It wasn’t hard to figure out who the murder was. The author made it abundantly clear by the overwhelmingly positive comments about this character. Overall, this book was extremely far fetched and left us without some answers. For instance, are Sam and Marty the same person? The end of this book felt rushed. The authors took us down so many dead ends throughout the book and left many details unresolved throughout the book and then finished the book like their worlds were suddenly perfect. I think some of the side stories should have been left out and more time should have been spent on the ending I wouldn’t recommend this book. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I read it. If you are looking for a book recommendation, read The Last Thing He Told Me. It’s a much better read.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Addicting!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
AdamTBacon - 11 months ago
Bought this for my fiancé and she couldn’t put it down. She said it’s the most addicting book she’s read and she had the ending on her mind for days! She would definitely recommend 10/10
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Must Read

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Chelsea - 11 months ago
Excellent, excellent book.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Really good!

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
AW - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This was a nice second-read by this author and the twists were very well executed!!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

so good!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
nessa - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
loved this book! buy it!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Highly recommend

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Nelly - 1 year ago
Love the book, it was a fast read and a cool twist at the end. If love murder mystery and thriller you’ll love this book
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Read it!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Micah G - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Great read! Kept me turning pages and wanting more, and a shocking plot twist to end the story.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Its a keeper

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
hQ - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This is a good book with a major twist
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

For Murder Mystery Lovers!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
shelby_reads - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This was my first read of Mary Kubica, and all I can say is WOW. Typically reading books like this you can figure out who killed who and why, but with this read, definitely surprised me and took a turn I wasn’t expecting. I’m typically not a fan of books that jump around through time, especially with different characters, but this was written so well! If you’re into the murder mystery this one is for you!
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Loved

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
PinkAndGold - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This is a book that you cannot predict the ending as you are reading. You think you know but then you don’t. My jaw was dropped for the last like 75 pages.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great !!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
J - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Great book! Shocking ending.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

10/10

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
jmartinez - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Loved this book! It’s a definite must read.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Skip it

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
victoria88 - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Entertaining enough but was not a fan of all the different POVS throughout, made it a bit confusing/annoying. The end wasnt this huge plot twist, honestly was underwhelming. Wasnt worth it. Also no need to have been 350 pages. It dragged out a lot for the ending to be so eh
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

gripping

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
chloe - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
It was hard to put down. Took about a couple days to read, AMAZING plot twists. Each character was well thought out, the book itself is thought provoking and tragic in the best way. 11/10 would recommend to anyone who loves suspense/thriller novels.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Book review

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Michelle Tickle - 2 years ago
excellent book, very fast paced with a lot of twists and turns!! highly recommend
Did you find this review helpful?

Great book

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ig - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
So good! Couldn’t put it down
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy