Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Love Is - by Diane Adams (Hardcover)

Love Is - by  Diane Adams (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Love Is - by  Diane Adams (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$12.79 sale price when purchased online
$16.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • A heartwarming book for young children about the challenges and joys that come with giving and receiving love.
  • 3-5 Years
  • 9.4" x 7.4" Hardcover
  • 32 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Family

Description



About the Book



A girl finds a baby duckling, and discovers that love is taking care of something that needs you, and also knowing when to let it go.



Book Synopsis



A heartwarming book for young children about the challenges and joys that come with giving and receiving love.

This beautifully illustrated book tells the moving story of a little girl and a duckling who both grow to understand what it means to care for each other as they learn that love is as much about letting go as it is about holding on.

When a little girl finds a duckling who has wandered away from the park onto the city streets, she takes it home to care for it. The baby duck requires constant attention--early morning feedings, bathing, and tidying--until the time comes to say goodbye. When her pet has grown too big for the bath, the girl takes the full-grown duck back to the pond. Afterward, she misses it and wonders if it remembers her . . . until one day, the duck comes back--with six ducklings of her own.

ENGAGING AND EDUCATIONAL: Lyrical text makes the book fun to read aloud, while the story conveys important lessons about responsibility.

TALENTED CREATORS: Diane Adams is the author of Two Hands to Love You. Illustrator Claire Keane is the author and illustrator of Once Upon a Cloud and is also known for her development art for the movies Tangled and Frozen.

READERS LOVE IT: With a nearly 5-star rating on Amazon, reviewer rave! "This sweet and playful text, paired masterfully with engaging illustrations, defines love in its purest form," says one. Another calls it "the most beautiful children's book . . . super sweet, cute, and inspiring!"

Perfect for:

  • Children who love animals
  • Gift givers looking for a great birthday, Valentine's Day, or Easter gift for children
  • Fans of If Animals Kissed Good Night and On the Night You Were Born



Review Quotes




"A love poem, an ode to motherhood, this sweet and touching book will speak to children who have or want a pet, as well as to their parents."-School Library Journal

"From the start of this book, the caring nature of a little girl and neediness of a lost duckling become intertwined."--The Washington Post

"Tenderly funny."--Here Wee Read

A Mighty Girl Books of the Year



About the Author



Claire Keane is the author and illustrator of Once Upon A Cloud and is also known for her development art for the movies Tangled and Frozen. She lives in Venice Beach, California, with her husband and kids.

Diane Adams is the author of Two Hands to Love You, among other picture books. She lives in California.

Dimensions (Overall): 9.4 Inches (H) x 7.4 Inches (W) x .5 Inches (D)
Weight: .62 Pounds
Suggested Age: 3-5 Years
Number of Pages: 32
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Family
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Format: Hardcover
Author: Diane Adams
Language: English
Street Date: January 24, 2017
TCIN: 51740022
UPC: 9781452139975
Item Number (DPCI): 248-33-2241
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.5 inches length x 7.4 inches width x 9.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.62 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.8 out of 5 stars with 11 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

Beautiful book but story resonates more with parents than little kids

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
elizabeth - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is a beautiful book, as are all of Claire Keane’s illustrations. The story is very sweet, definitely a tear jerker, but the concept is a bit advanced for little kids (to whom it is marketed) since it is quite metaphorical. It feels like it would resonate more parents or maybe an older child leaving home for college for example. I guess I could see it helping a little kid process losing a pet? Since that would be a literal reading of the story and what a preschooler would probably take away from it. I see now why most of the reviews are about the parent’s reaction to the book and not whether their kids enjoyed it. I bought it for my 3.5 year old for valentine’s but I don’t think it’s going to appeal to her at this age. I’ll save it because it’s beautiful but probably stash it until she’s older.
Did you find this review helpful?

Love Is

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Marnie - 1 year ago
Darling book! Love the message and the illustrations!
Did you find this review helpful?

A new favorite!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
- 4 years ago
What a beautiful story that mirrors a parent’s journey with a new baby and they learn and grow! The illustrations are so original and the text is simple, but poignant and beautiful. This is a new favorite in our house!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy