Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Luckiest Girl Alive (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jessica Knoll

Luckiest Girl Alive (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jessica Knoll - image 1 of 1
Luckiest Girl Alive (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jessica Knoll - image 1 of 1
$11.21 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancâe, she's this close to living the perfect life she's worked so hard to achieve. But Ani has a secret. There's something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything."--



Book Synopsis



Soon to be a major Netflix film starring Mila Kunis!

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will thrill at this "perfect page-turner" (People)--that Reese Witherspoon describes as "one of those reads you just can't put down!" This instant New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling novel follows an unforgettable young woman striving to create the perfect life--until a violent incident from her past threatens to unravel everything and expose her most shocking secret.

HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she's this close to living the perfect life she's worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There's something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

With a singular voice and twists you won't see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to "have it all" and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that's bigger than it first appears.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for--or, will it at long last, set Ani free?



Review Quotes



[Readers] probably won't leave Luckiest Girl Alive wishing they had a friend just like TifAni, but . . . if they liked Gone Girl, they'll be thrilled to see another woman who's allowed to be smart and mean, vulnerable and detestable. --Time.com

One of 18 Brilliant Books You Won't Want To Miss This Summer--The Huffington Post

"Luckiest Girl Alive is crime fiction at its best, proving the genre's deep connections to society's fears, ambitions, and ability to question the status quo. . . . Jessica Knoll is a writer to keep an eye on, especially after being compared to Gillian Flynn by Megan Abbott. . . . However, I have found enough personality in Knoll's debut novel to let her stand on her own, rather than label her 'the next Gillian Flynn.' Knoll's version of the feminist crime novel is more steeped in pop culture than Flynn's, and Ani's psyche has nothing to envy of Amy's: they are both troubled, and they both put up outstanding gender and class performances. But while Amy is more private and emotional, Ani relies on modern fashion references that will thrill even Vogue, Cosmo, and Glamour readers. . . . . Luckiest Girl Alive is the ultimate critical companion to millennial femininity."--Los Angeles Review of Books

"Luckiest Girl Alive is a wickedly well-plotted page-turner that lifts back the veil of Ani FaNelli's glamour and privilege to tread amongst the sharp emotional thorns lying beneath. Knoll's novel dazzles with humor, cultural insight, and thematic heft." --Alissa Nutting, author of Tampa

"Luckiest Girl Alive is Gone Girl meets Cosmo meets Sex and the City. . . . Knoll hits it out of the park."--Fort Worth Star-Telegram

"[Ani FaNelli is] a cross between Sex and the City's Carrie Bradshaw and Gone Girl's Amy Dunne. . . . Knoll's debut truly delivers and will keep readers engaged until the end."--Library Journal

"[A] huge summer read . . . one of those great stories that you can't put down!"-- Reese Witherspoon, InStyle

"A knockout debut novel . . . completely enthralling . . . devilishly dark and fun."--Publishers Weekly

"A pulse-pounding, jaw-dropping novel about how tragedy twists and shapes lives."--InTouch (A-)

"At turns funny, shocking, violent and heart-rending, Luckiest Girl Alive hooks its reader and doesn't let go. Jessica Knoll's twisted, twisting debut beautifully explores reinvention, retribution and redemption--and all the rawness in between." --Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet

"Compelling."--Booklist

"Dark, clever and wildly addictive."--SELF Magazine

"Dark, twisty . . . razor-sharp writing . . . propulsive prose . . . [The] reveal is a real doozy--a legitimately shocking, completely unputdownable sequence that unfolds like a slow-motion horror film. It instantly elevates Luckiest Girl . . . and that momentum keeps going until its final pages."--EW


"Fresh, funny, biting and shocking--Luckiest Girl Alive kept me riveted from cover to cover. I absolutely loved it." --Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

"Loved Gone Girl? We promise [Luckiest Girl Alive is] just as addictive."--Good Housekeeping

"Readers guessing what the 'dark underbelly' of this story is can guess again. It is just the beginning, a trap set by the author [who] scatters the clues so obscurely and randomly that peeking at the ending is just a waste of time. . . . No shortcuts here. . . . Knoll's knack for social nuances on both sides of the socioeconomic tracks deserves mention for the high praise it already is receiving in the book world."--Buffalo News

"The most compelling debut novel I've read in years! Luckiest Girl Alive is intriguing, surprising, and even shockingly funny at times. And Ani FaNelli is a complex, heartbreaking, and unforgettable heroine." --John Searles, author of Help for the Haunted

"The perfect kind of summer read: Nail-bitingly addictive, equal parts funny and twisted, and full of 'I never saw THAT coming' moments."
--Glamour

"The perfect page-turner to start your summer."--People (Book of the Week)

"This is going to be the book you insist all your friends read this summer. . . . [A] clever, cunning satire on the female condition in the 21st century."--Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

"When Ani FaNelli wants something, she gets it: the job, the body, the man. What starts as a Mean Girls-seeming story line transforms into something so dark, so plot-twistingly intense that...well, actually, no spoilers here." --Marie Claire

"With the cunning and verve of Gillian Flynn but with a febrile intensity all its own, Jessica Knoll's Luckiest Girl Alive is a debut you won't want to miss. Sly, darkly funny and chilling-to-the bone, it gets under your skin and stays there." -- Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me and The Fever

"Your next book."--People StyleWatch

"Knoll introduces you to your new best frenemy, and you're going to love it. . . . Destined to become one of the summer's most gripping reads."--Bustle.com
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inches (W) x 1.1 Inches (D)
Weight: .7 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 341
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Women
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Format: Paperback
Author: Jessica Knoll
Language: English
Street Date: April 5, 2016
TCIN: 50464175
UPC: 9781476789644
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-1703
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 1 inches width x 8.72 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.1 out of 5 stars with 8 reviews
66% would recommend
3 recommendations

A very emotional, engaging, and unique novel

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
kgriffin7785 - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
I saw that Netflix came out with the movie based on this novel. I always read the book first, and I’m so glad it did. I seriously couldn’t put this book down, and finished it in two nights.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Very dark & not in a fun way

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
ereciew - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Not what I expected. It’s very dark, and not in a fun thriller or mystery way; 2 main themes are eating disorders and underage r*pe. Basically every character is a terrible person, including the main character, who I could not stand. Wish I skipped this one.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Amber - 7 years ago
Smarter than your average chick lit. thriller.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy