Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Green/Blue

Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Green/Blue - image 1 of 4Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Green/Blue - image 2 of 4Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Green/Blue - image 3 of 4Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Green/Blue - image 4 of 4
Mongoose Scepter 24" Mountain Bike - Green/Blue - image 1 of 4
$229.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Steel mountain frame with suspension fork to smooth bumps and increase control on the trail.
  • 21-speed with twist shifters and a mountain bike rear derailleur for precise gear changes.
  • Front and rear linear pull brakes provide fast, controlled stops.
  • Alloy rims provide lightweight durability, while the 3-piece crank makes for a reliable power train.
  • 24-inch wheel fits riders 4’8” to 5’6”. This bike comes unassembled.
  • The manufacturer may substitute components with components of equal or greater performance level.

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 48 Inches (L), 40 Inches (H)

Weight: 35 Pounds

Holds up to: 200 Pounds

Suggested Age: 8-13 Years

Bicycle Frame Material: Steel

Gear Speeds: 21

Rim Material: Steel

Pedal Material: Plastic

Seat Material: Vinyl

Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided

Wheel height: 24"

Tire Type: Knobby

Bicycle frame size: 14"

Front Brake System: V Brake

Rear Brake System: V Brake

Tire Width: 2 Inches

Bicycle Frame Type: Step-Over

Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 77523386
UPC: 038675201354
Item Number (DPCI): 082-09-9937
Origin: Imported

Description

Take on steep slopes and tough trails with confidence on the Scepter Mountain Bike from Mongoose. Made for experienced mountain bikers and new riders alike, this hardtail mountain bike is built with a durable steel mountain frame and front suspension fork that are designed to take the abuse of bumps and dips found on dirt paths and trails. 21-speed twist shifters and the mountain bike rear derailleur offer complete control over resistance and speed while traveling, giving you a wide gear range and letting you fine-tune your ride as you go. The Scepter benefits from light and strong alloy rims that help lighten the load and knobby mountain tires that dig into dirt, sand or grass on your toughest rides. Slowing down to a halt, even on a steep hill, is simple thanks to the linear pull brakes. Add in the steel 3-piece crank for superior gearing and there's only one choice for your next mountain ride.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 9.47 inches length x 49.43 inches width x 24.96 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 39.15 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Hawaii, APO/FPO, Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: what age is this for for boys?

submitted by smiling widely - 2 years ago
  • A: 8-10 perhaps. depends on their height

    submitted byDavis Mom - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! This model is recommended for riders 4'6-5'2.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this bike okay for a girl to ride or is this for a boy?

submitted by Mamaquestions - 3 years ago
  • A: It could be unisex for either a boy or girl.

    submitted byChaosismylife - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! This bike is recommended for riders 4'6-5'2 in height regardless of gender.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this come assembled if I pick it up in-store?

submitted by MLM - 3 years ago
  • A: Yes, Target assembles for free if you have store pick up. Make sure you call the Store and ask them when they could it assemble for you to pick up. We got our 2 bikes ordered online and walked out of the store riding them.

    submitted byBaba - 2 years ago
  • A: Yes, the bike should be assembled when you pick up in store.

    submitted bySchwinn - 3 years ago

Q: hi, does this bike come assembled?

submitted by eliana - 6 months ago
  • A: Hi Eliana: Bikes bought directly from Target.com arrive 90% assembled. You will need to attach the pedals, seat, and handlebars. You will also need to make the necessary adjustments to the derailleur and brakes as they may have shifted during shipping. Please reach out to your local Target for in-store assembly options.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 6 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does Target offer assembly of the bike if you pick it up?

submitted by Cathy - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Cathy: Please reach out to your local Target for in-store assembly options.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the model number for this bike

submitted by Smilessoa - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi there! The model number for this bike is R3022TG.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: can I put training wheels on this bicycle?

submitted by Fay - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Fay! We do not recommend training wheels for this model.

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: How much does the Mongoose Scepter 24" bike weigh?

submitted by John - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi John! This bike weighs approximately 34 lbs. Thanks for the question!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How much feet is the chain?

submitted by Paola - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi Paola! The chain length for this bike is 52". Thanks for the question!-Jamie

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this bike have pre drilled holes for a bottle holder?

submitted by Question - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi, Yes, you can easily install a bottle cage on the downtube of the Mongoose Scepter. There are pre-drilled holes. Thanks, Alex

    submitted byMongooseCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
2.3 out of 5 stars with 99 reviews
27% would recommend
48 recommendations
comfort: 3.09 out of 5
value: 2.02 out of 5
quality: 1.9 out of 5

It's okay

3 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Nick - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I bought it already assembled in a Target, so maybe that's the first mistake I made, I don't know. The handle bar moves slightly to the left or right after a little while of riding on and off sidewalks in a little rough way. I never had a bike do that before. I have tightened the bolt very well, but still it doesn't seem to keep the handle bar in place. It makes a clicking noise all the time, maybe the derailer needs to be adjusted, so I need to look into that. The gears seem to shift without any problem up or down. The brakes are so-so; the front one is disc and has no stopping power at all. I tried adjusting it following the big manual, but it didn't help, so I'm going to have to buy a better brake to install. The rear brake does have power, but still I did some adjustments to make it better and faster since it's the only one, so be careful on hills. The frame is steel, not very heavy, I can carry the bike around but for a smaller person I think it's heavy; it's around 30 lbs. The tires seem fine, and they inflate and seem to remain inflated so far. The seat is comfortable, and it can be adjusted up, I'm about 5'8" and I have it almost all the way up and I reach the pedals properly, it's not a small bike, but that's as far as the seat goes up, maybe i can accomodate a person up to 5'10" if you pull the seat a little more up 1 inch. It's a pretty bike, the paint job is great. It draws people's eyes, must be the neon color which the frame says it will fade over time, maybe because of the sun, it will turn white eventually which isn't too bad. Still pretty. It's a good bike for the price, but it's not professional grade; you will need to buy better parts and make adjustments to make it solid
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

So far so good!

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Amy Pond - 2 months ago
We initially purchased this bike during the Pandemic so we didn’t have a lot of options at the time, especially for the price point we wanted. My son didn’t really start riding it regularly until December 2021 but, so far, it has held up and we haven’t had any major issues. The only minor issue we had, which others mentioned, was that the handle bars would come out of align. This was an easy fix, though. We just had to pop the small cap off, which was located on the stem of the handle bars, and tighten the bolt. Since doing this, we haven’t had any other issues. Maybe we just lucked out and got a good one or maybe ours was assembled differently, but I will post an update if we run into other issues! So far, it has been a good bike for the $.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 2 months ago
Hi Amy: Thanks so much for your valuable feedback!
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
comfort: 4 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Rear Derailer Broke off with limited use. Total junk product.

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Fallsy - 4 months ago
Rear derailer snapped off. Very limited use from my daughter. Don’t buy this bike! She’s crushed and we’re lucky that she didn’t get hurt. Looking for parts and will need to talk to Target. Product should be recalled. Total junk.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 4 months ago
Hi there: So sorry about your experience with our product! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
comfort: 1 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fell apart in 5 minutes!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Sad Dad - 5 months ago
We purchased this bike at Target and brought it home. My son rode it up the street and had to push it back because the crank arms fell off. They won't secure properly. The only way to fix it is to disassemble and replace. No thanks! Avoid this bike! It looks nice, but upon closer inspection, it is cheaply made.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 5 months ago
Hi there: Oh, no! So sorry this happened! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help make things right. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Multiple repairs out of the box

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Steph - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
We were excited to get this bike for our son. However, my husband spent many hours over the course of 3 days just getting it in working order (rear derailleur hanger was bent, a brake pad kept sticking to rear wheel, front derailleur never adjusted properly, and front rotor for disc brake was bent). After it was as good as possible, there were so many squeaks and vibrations that made the bike unenjoyable. Not to mention, the seat is as hard as a rock. Returning this as soon as possible.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 5 months ago
Hi Steph: So sorry about your experience with our product! Our Consumer Care Center is always happy to help get things up to code and on the road! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

only 6 months of riding

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
good for only 6 months - 6 months ago
I bought this bike for my son in March of 2021 and the gears broke by the end of summer 2021. It doesn't work at all. It is now bike season again and I am having a heck of a time dealing with Target.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 6 months ago
Hi there: So sorry about your experience! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Junk!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Firemom2011 - 6 months ago
Petal fell out. Gears broke. Less than 6 months of ownership. Extremely disappointed in the quality.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 6 months ago
Hi there: So sorry about your experience! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help make things right. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Poorly Made For A Mongoose

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Kflo - 8 months ago
Disappointed Had To Return Exactly 1 Month After Purchase. Gears Made Chain Fall Off Track. Seat Loose, Handlebars Wouldn't Stay Aligned. Sad.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 8 months ago
Hi there: Oh, no! So sorry about your experience with our product, but glad you were able to make a successful return. Our Consumer Care Center is also always happy to help make things right! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

1 month of use, broken.

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
T drake - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
Back chain assembly broke after purchasing for our son for Christmas 2021.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 8 months ago
Hi there: So sorry this happened! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Sporty Bike!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
TargetMama - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
My son is very happy with the colors and I’m happy with the ease of assembly and all the adjustments I can use as he grows. This is a great bike on a budget!
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
comfort: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Very Unhappy

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Onemadmomma - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
Got this for my son this past Christmas, and the chain has broken off already. He doesn’t even ride it that much, and when he does it’s a block from our house. For this brand and price I expected a lot more use than barely three months.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 8 months ago
Hi there: Oh, no! So sorry this happened. Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
comfort: 4 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

READ other reviews

1 out of 5 stars
Momster - 9 months ago
This bike has a history of the gears breaking after a little bit of use. This happened to ours. I expect more from a Mongoose brand. Low quality, not durable, same problem as other reviewers.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 9 months ago
Hi there: So sorry this happened! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help make things right. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Gabage

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Bike Rating - 9 months ago
Just like other reviews, the rear gear mechanicanism snapped after only a few rides. Hopefully we can return.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 9 months ago
Hi there: So sorry this happened! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help make things right! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Mountain Bike

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
DC - 9 months ago
The color is amazing and we’ve got this bike last year and it took me a whole year to write this review and the bike is still in perfect condition. Hasn’t broken at all! I’ve already replaced the tire tubes from so much ridding it’s gone through. Maybe we got lucky and this bike is not defective at all!! I’m sorry most people had problems. I also didn’t put this bike together, it was built in store and we bought it built
value: 5 out of 5
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

dangerous

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
shopper - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
as per other reviews this model not trustworthy, bike used 3 times and broke amidst riding, glad it did not cause an accident. This occurred within 2 months of purchase so Target took bike back and refunded without any problems but seems bike design faulty. We have had many schwinn/mongoose bikes prior without any issue.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 9 months ago
Hi there: So sorry about your experience with our product! Glad you were able to make a successful return. Our Consumer Care Center is always happy to help! We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

The Bike is falling apart more and more as he rids it. We have only ridden it 3 times

1 out of 5 stars
Andrew Hosford - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
The bike came out of the box with a damaged break cable. Then the break broke off at the support on the handle bars. Each time he hits a bump in the the road the wheel twists a little so that the handle bars are not in alignment. I constantly have to straighten them out. The reflectors do not tighten down on the frame and they keep getting in the way of the wheel. Its will only be a matter of time before they get caught in the wheel and break off. I hope it does not damage the wheel when that happens. It's way to cheaply made. Disappointed that I gave it as a Christmas gift.
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 11 months ago
Hello Andrew! We are so sorry to hear this has happened! For more assistance, please give our Consumer Care Center a call at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7:00 am to 6:00 pm CST. We can also be reached on social media via Facebook and Instagram. For faster service, please make sure to have your model number and date code from our Pacific Cycle sticker on the frame. Thank you for reaching out!
quality: 1 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
KatieJ - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
I would give it zero stars if I could. Completely disappointed on Christmas Day. The gear shaft vibrates and moves when you pedal and is complete garbage. Returning the bike asap
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 11 months ago
Hi KatieJ! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you were able to successfully return the item. We will inform our quality team of your experience. Additionally, our Consumer Care Center is always happy to help. We can best be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. Thanks for reaching out!
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Christmas bummer

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Emr729 - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
Would have been a cool bike. My son was super excited upon receiving this as a Christmas gift still in the box. Then when his grandfather who is very handy took it out of the box to put together he noticed a bent gear shifter. When my son tried to push his bike out the garage to get on it the gear shifter popped and can’t be fixed. NOW target says I have to bring the item back before i can get a refund!!!! The reason I bought it to be shipped and Unassembled is because I don’t have room in my car to transport the bike! Now I have to unassemble and return in order to get a refund/or new bike for my son!! Total Target customer service fail!
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 11 months ago
Hello Emr729! We are so sorry to hear this has happened! For more assistance, please give our Consumer Care Center a call at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7:00 am to 6:00 pm CST. We can also be reached on social media via Facebook and Instagram. For faster service, please make sure to have your model number and date code from our Pacific Cycle sticker on the frame. Thank you for reaching out!
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Junk

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Tjg - 1 year ago
Had less than a year. The pedal falls off and we can’t get it to stay on. The chain falls off and/or won’t switch gears. So disappointing
1 reply from MongooseCustomerSupport team - 11 months ago
Hi there: So sorry about your experience! Our Consumer Care Center would be happy to help make things right. We can be reached at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 7 am-6 pm CST. We can also be reached via DM on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. For faster service, please have your bike’s model number and date code handy. These can be found on a black and silver sticker on the frame above the pedal area. It says Pacific Cycle at the top.
quality: 1 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great Looking Bike

5 out of 5 stars
KR - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Just picked up the bike, looks great and has a quality look to it.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads