Loading, please wait...

My Dear Hamilton : A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton - by Stephanie Dray & Laura Kamoie (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8 Inches (H) x 5.3 Inch (W) x 1.3 Inch (D)

Weight: 1.1 Pounds

Number of Pages: 64116

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Biographical, Family Life, Historical

Format: Paperback

Publisher: HarperCollins

Author: Stephanie Dray & Laura Kamoie

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: General

Language: English

Street Date: April 3, 2018
TCIN: 53200192
UPC: 9780062466167
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-2736
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Tells the story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton, a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal, and tragedy--discussing her not just as the wronged wife at the center of a political sex scandal, but also as a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.



Book Synopsis



An edge-of my sear immersion into historical events...No study of Alexander Hamilton would be complete without reading this book. --Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

The best book of the year! --Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

Wife, Widow, and Warrior in Alexander Hamilton's quest for a more perfect union

From the New York Times bestselling authors of America's First Daughter comes the epic story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton--a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal, and tragedy. Perfect for fans of Ron Chernow's biography Alexander Hamilton and fans of Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton: the Musical.

In this haunting, moving, and beautifully written novel, Dray and Kamoie used thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza's story as it's never been told before--not just as the wronged wife at the center of a political sex scandal--but also as a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.

A general's daughter...

Coming of age on the perilous frontier of revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler champions the fight for independence. And when she meets Alexander Hamilton, Washington's penniless but passionate aide-de-camp, she's captivated by the young officer's charisma and brilliance. They fall in love, despite Hamilton's bastard birth and the uncertainties of war.

A founding father's wife...

But the union they create--in their marriage and the new nation--is far from perfect. From glittering inaugural balls to bloody street riots, the Hamiltons are at the center of it all--including the political treachery of America's first sex scandal, which forces Eliza to struggle through heartbreak and betrayal to find forgiveness.

The last surviving light of the Revolution...

When a duel destroys Eliza's hard-won peace, the grieving widow fights her husband's enemies to preserve Alexander's legacy. But long-buried secrets threaten everything Eliza believes about her marriage and her own legacy. Questioning her tireless devotion to the man and country that have broken her heart, she's left with one last battle--to understand the flawed man she married and imperfect union he could never have created without her...



From the Back Cover



A general's daughter . . .

Coming of age on the perilous frontier of revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler champions the fight for independence. And when she meets Alexander Hamilton, General George Washington's penniless but passionate aide-de-camp, she's captivated by the young officer's charisma and brilliance. They fall in love, despite Hamilton's bastard birth and the uncertainties of war.

A Founding Father's wife . . .

But the union they create--in their marriage and the new nation--is far from perfect. From glittering inaugural balls to bloody street riots, the Hamiltons are at the center of it all--including the political treachery of America's first sex scandal, which forces Eliza to struggle through heartbreak and betrayal to find forgiveness.

The last surviving light of the Revolution . . .

When a duel destroys Eliza's hard-won peace, the grieving widow fights her husband's enemies to preserve Alexander's legacy. But long-buried secrets threaten everything Eliza believes about her marriage and her own legacy. Questioning her tireless devotion to the man and country that have broken her heart, she's left with one last battle--to understand the flawed man she married and the imperfect union he never could have created without her . . .



Review Quotes



"Following their stunning success in America's First Daughter, Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamois have penned an unforgettable story of the woman behind Hamilton [...] My Dear Hamilton is a masterpiece that is both intimate in detail and epic in scope--a triumph!" --Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale

"Not since I read Erik Larson's Dead Wake have I had such an edge-of-my-seat immersion into historical events. Eliza Hamilton is a remarkable heroine, depicted here with gorgeous prose and heart-tugging realism. No study of Alexander Hamilton would be complete without reading this book and learning the true source of the great man's strength--his wife. Full of history, engaging characters who shimmer on each page, and a tremendous love story, this is a book for everyone."--Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

"This entertaining blend of romance, fictional biography, and history will be in suitably high demand."--Booklist

"Through Eliza's eyes we are treated to an in-depth portrait of Hamilton, not to mention forward-looking psychoanalysis of his genius and personality defects."--Kirkus Reviews

"The historical fiction dream team does it again with the wife of Hamilton...Haunting, moving, and beautifully written, Dray and Kamoie used thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza's story as it's never been told before..."--Fresh Fiction

"Dray and Kamoie have written a book that stands as a real tribute to Eliza, one of America's founding women. Their research has rewarded the reader with a truly immersive read."--Historical Novels Review

"Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie weave such an enchanting spell with their take on the life of Eliza Hamilton [...] An excellent experience, a festival for the mind and heart, this is a true gem that's worth every cent and every second spent upon it."--All About Romance

"My Dear Hamilton is both an intimate portrayal of the strength, courage, and grace of one of our nation's founding mothers and the engrossing saga of the birth of a country. Richly detailed, beautifully written, and impressive in its scope and heart, this is historical fiction at its best!"--Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana

"If you've ever wanted to banter with Hamilton or share a dish of tea with the Marquis de Lafayette, open the covers of My Dear Hamiltonand step right in to Eliza Hamilton's parlor [...] The gang's all there!"--Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of The English Wife

"My Dear Hamilton is a fascinating work of historical fiction, beautifully crafted and richly detailed. If you think you already know Eliza Schuyler Hamilton, her role in the founding of our country, her marriage, and her heartbreak, you'll marvel at the woman you meet in this compelling novel."--Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker and Enchantress of Numbers

"Beautifully written and meticulously researched, this stunning novel captures the courage, strength, and kindness of the remarkable woman behind Alexander Hamilton. A fascinating read!"--Ellen Marie Wiseman, international bestselling author of The Life She Was Given

"My Dear Hamilton is a superbly written, meticulously researched homage to the birth of America [...] At once a wartime drama, a woman's coming of age, and a lesson on politics that resonates in today's world, My Dear Hamilton is the book of the year."--Kate Quinn, USA Today bestselling author of The Alice Network

"An incredible, surprising, and altogether lovely tribute to the woman who stood beside one of the most unknowable, irascible, energetic, and passionate men wo contributed to the foundation of this nation."--Lars Hedbor, author of The Path: Tales from a Revolution

"Eliza Hamilton assumes her rightful place as one of America's founding mothers as she guides first her husband and then her fledgling nation into the annals of history. My Dear Hamilton is historical fiction at its most addictive!"--Stephanie Thornton, author of The Tiger Queens
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 1 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.