Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere (Hardcover) (Elise Gravel)

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere (Hardcover) (Elise Gravel) - image 1 of 1
Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere (Hardcover) (Elise Gravel) - image 1 of 1
$8.09 sale price when purchased online
$12.99 list price

About this item

Description



About the Book



Discovering a smelly creature in her garbage can that she names after herself, Olga befriends and studies the eccentric Olgamus using the scientific method, the practices of Jane Goodall, and other scientific concepts.



Book Synopsis



A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year!

Meet Olga, the amazing child scientist who LOVES animals (because they are super-cute)! Brightly put this heavily illustrated don't-miss book on their Ultimate Summer Reading List for 9- to 12-Year-Olds.

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is jam-packed with fun: vibrant illustrations, word bubbles, quirky humor, olgamus facts, and plenty of excitement for readers who love making discoveries and meeting new friends. Olga is a charming combination of independent, curious, and smart--making her the coolest girl scientist around--perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Captain Underpants.

When Olga crosses paths with a weird creature and becomes the first kid to discover the species olgamus ridiculus, she is ecstatic! What does an olgamus eat? How does it poop? Why does its burp sound like the word rubber? With her trusty observation notebook and the help of a librarian, a shopkeeper, and some friends, Olga sets out to do science--learning the facts about her smelly, almost-furry pal and searching for him when he goes missing. The scientific method is the best way to discover anything!



From the Back Cover



I love animals. I get along with them JUST FINE.

HUMANS? That's another story.

I'll be an animal scientist soon--you'll see. All the newspapers will talk about Olga, the amazing child scientist--especially after people meet the weird creature I just discovered.

What You'll Find in This Book:

  • Boys with strange haircuts
  • Animal poop facts
  • Beauty tips (NOT!)
  • Silly teen magazines
  • A French-speaking spider



Review Quotes



"A visually interesting mix of illustration and story, punctuated by numerous lists, comic panels, and cartoon diagrams and led by a smart female protagonist. A bubble-gum crowd pleaser with wide audience appeal."--Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will get lots of laughs out of the steady stream of gross-out jokes, as well as Olga's misanthropic humor, though her attitude toward humans softens slightly by book's end."--Publishers Weekly

"Researching the creature she dubs Meh fills Olga's days with purpose and her notebook with hilarious quips ("He doesn't like it when I put a sock on his head.... He's really scared of bananas"), which Gravel captures in her signature brand of chunky cartooning, accented with red."--Publishers Weekly

"This laugh-out-loud book is a perfect pick for transitioning readers with a penchant for silly stories, or graduates of the Fly Guy series."--Booklist

"Animal-loving Olga makes her biggest scientific discovery yet in this amusing story!" (Recommended on "The Ultimate Summer Reading List for 9- to 12-Year-Olds--2017 Edition")--Brightly

"An apt readalike for fans of Wimpy Kid, and Gravel deploys spot art, larger illustrations, word balloons, and chunks of text with great success in the layout."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"[An] obvious sell to fans of animals, but it will also hit a humorous note with anybody who has felt a little left behind by these things we call humans."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"For fans of Dork Diaries and Captain Underpants, Olga will be a big hit. Kids will devour the toilet humor along with the quick one-liners Olga throws out."--School Library Journal

"Great, kooky, monstrous fun!"--Jim Benton, bestselling author of Franny K. Stein
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .95 Pounds
Suggested Age: 9-12 Years
Number of Pages: 1673
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Animals, Methodology
Series Title: Olga
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Format: Hardcover
Author: Elise Gravel
Language: English
Street Date: March 14, 2017
TCIN: 51551212
UPC: 9780062351265
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1252
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 1 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy