Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

One Second After (Paperback) by William R. Forstchen

One Second After (Paperback) by William R. Forstchen - image 1 of 1

About this item

After a mysterious nuclear device detonates over the United States, the electrical grid of the nation is fried, leading to mass devastation and chaos. A history professor in North Carolina is among the first to recognize the extent of the catastrophe, and he begins the agonizing and almost unfathomably complicated process of triage, seeking to end the bedlam. While the book has some elements of a common thriller, the focus is more on documenting and detailing our dangerous reliance on technological systems which are so extensive that they actually remain hidden.
New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.
 
Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres, Fiction + Literature Themes
Sub-Genre: Action + Thrillers, Science Fiction + Fantasy, Politics, Disasters
Format: Paperback
Author: William R. Forstchen
Language: English
Street Date: November 24, 2009
TCIN: 11856055
UPC: 9780765327253
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-2962
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.59
MSRPwas $15.99

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.