Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Secret Pizza Party - by  Adam Rubin (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Secret Pizza Party - by  Adam Rubin (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$13.89 sale price when purchased online
$18.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Shhhh!
  • 3-7 Years
  • 10.0" x 10.2" Hardcover
  • 40 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Animals

Description



About the Book



The "New York Times"-bestselling creators of "Dragons Love Tacos" are back with a mouthwatering new book that chronicles a raccoon's love for pizza. Full color.



Book Synopsis



Shhhh! Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos and Robo-Sauce!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course!
But shhh! It's a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn't already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012

"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids' lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri--whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor--shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity: 'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."-Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly. Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." -San Francisco Chronicle

"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." -Kirkus Reviews

"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." -School Library Journal



Review Quotes




Praise for Secret Pizza Party

* "With a casually diverse cast of characters, Secret Pizza Party is a sure hit for primary-grade kids, who will appreciate the subtle humor and absurdity."--School Library Journal, starred review

"From the madcap creators of Dragons Love Tacos (2012), another animal foodie shows just how far he will go to get his favorite meal. This screwball of a story will leave readers hankering for a slice."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos

New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012
Summer Kids' Indie Next List

"This book gets everything right."--New York Times Book Review

* "Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids' lit today."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A heaping helping of silly."--San Francisco Chronicle

"Muy caliente."--Daily Candy Kids



About the Author



Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri are the creative team behind several delicious picture books. Adam's pizza of choice is pepperoni, while Daniel prefers his with mushrooms. They both live in New York City, pizza capital of the world.
Dimensions (Overall): 10.0 Inches (H) x 10.2 Inches (W) x .3 Inches (D)
Weight: .85 Pounds
Suggested Age: 3-7 Years
Number of Pages: 40
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Animals
Publisher: Dial Books
Theme: Nocturnal
Format: Hardcover
Author: Adam Rubin
Language: English
Street Date: September 3, 2013
TCIN: 14635545
UPC: 9780803739475
Item Number (DPCI): 248-83-1509
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.3 inches length x 10.2 inches width x 10 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.85 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
3.4 out of 5 stars with 15 reviews
57% would recommend
7 recommendations

Do not recommend this book!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
TargetShopper - 3 months ago
I can't agree with the message in this book. It teaches that secrets make things special. Not the take away I would ever want my kid to have. Can not stand behind this book. It was hard to read it to a trusting 5 year old who I try to teach the exact opposite for obvious reasons
Did you find this review helpful?

awful for kids

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
luc989 - 1 year ago
The first half of the book was nice and then the last half is just the worst. If you like to teach your kids stealing and ruining parties is okay, this is the book for you. Otherwise, DO NOT BUY. I would give this 0 stars if I could.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Cute!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Danik - 1 year ago
Love this one! Have bought for a few kids.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Love it!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Jkincaid - 2 years ago
So fun and silly. My daughter loves this book
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

About a racoon that wants to have a pizza party.

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Brie like the cheese - 2 years ago
Such a cute children’s book. Nothing about this book is bad. There is no hidden agenda in the story line, unless you think raccoons are trained ninjas plotting to take leftovers pizza from middle aged pizza shop owners. Then you are pretty much spot on. I own a pizza shop and I always buy a copy of this book and a pizza themed baby outfit that I deliver in a pizza box as a gift for our friends having a new baby.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fun book

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Jnb - 3 years ago
This is a fun book about a pizza loving raccoon trying to get some pizza, my daughter loves it
13 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Should be banned

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
lgcsula - 4 years ago
This book is absolutely repulsive. It has a much much much deeper sinister meaning than you think.
34 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy