Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Song of the Lion LP - (Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel) Large Print by Anne Hillerman (Paperback)

Song of the Lion LP - (Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel) Large Print by  Anne Hillerman (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Song of the Lion LP - (Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel) Large Print by  Anne Hillerman (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$20.99 sale price when purchased online
$29.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Don't miss the TV series, Dark Winds, based on the Leaphorn, Chee, & Manuelito novels, now on AMC and AMC+!
  • Author(s): Anne Hillerman
  • 448 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Mystery & Detective
  • Series Name: Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel

Description



About the Book



While investigating a car bomb meant for a mediator for a development planned at the Grand Canyon, tribal police officers Manuelito, Chee, and their mentor Lieutenant Leaphorn link the bombing to a cold case and a patient killer bent on revenge.



Book Synopsis



Don't miss the TV series, Dark Winds, based on the Leaphorn, Chee, & Manuelito novels, now on AMC and AMC+!

New York Times Bestseller

"Fans of Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito, characters created by the author's father, Tony Hillerman, will savor this multilayered story of suspense, with its background of contemporary environmental vs. development issues." -- Library Journal

A deadly bombing takes Navajo Tribal cops Bernadette Manuelito, Jim Chee, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, back into the past to find a vengeful killer in this riveting Southwestern mystery from the bestselling author of Spider Woman's Daughter and Rock with Wings.

When a car bomb kills a young man in the Shiprock High School parking lot, Officer Bernadette Manuelito discovers that the intended victim was a mediator for a multi-million-dollar development planned at the Grand Canyon.

But what seems like an act of ecoterrorism turns out to be something far more nefarious. Piecing together the clues, Bernadette and her husband, Sergeant Jim Chee, uncover a scheme to disrupt the negotiations and inflame tensions between the Hopi and Dine tribes.

Retired Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn has seen just about everything in his long career. As the tribal police's investigation unfolds, he begins to suspect that the bombing may be linked to a cold case he handled years ago. As he, Bernadette, and Chee carefully pull away the layers behind the crime, they make a disturbing discovery: a meticulous and very patient killer with a long-simmering plan of revenge.

Writing with a clarity and grace that is all her own, Anne Hillerman depicts the beauty and mystery of Navajo Country and the rituals, myths, and customs of its people in a mystery that builds on and complements the beloved, bestselling mysteries of her acclaimed father, Tony Hillerman.



From the Back Cover



When a car bomb kills a young man in the Shiprock High School parking lot, Officer Bernadette Manuelito discovers that the intended victim was a mediator for a multimillion-dollar development planned at the Grand Canyon.

But what seems like an act of ecoterrorism turns out to be something far more nefarious and complex. Piecing together the clues, Bernadette and her husband, Sergeant Jim Chee, uncover a scheme to disrupt the negotiations and inflame tensions between the Hopi and Diné tribes.

Retired Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn has seen just about everything in his long career. As the tribal police's invest-igation unfolds, he begins to suspect that the bombing may be linked to a cold case he handled years ago. As he, Bernie, and Chee carefully pull away the layers behind the crime, they make a disturbing discovery: a meticulous and very patient killer with a long-simmering plan of revenge.



Review Quotes




"Fans of Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito, characters created by the author's father, Tony Hillerman, will savor this multilayered story of suspense, with its background of contemporary environmental vs. development issues." -- Library Journal

"Though seasoned mystery readers may guess the perpetrator before the tense denouement, the book offers insights on the strength of family ties and the possibilities of redemption after a history of pain." -- Publishers Weekly

"The latest from Hillerman continues worldbuilding in a tale that will reward long-term readers." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Hillerman seamlessly blends tribal lore and custom into a well-directed plot, continuing in the spirit of her late father, Tony, by keeping his characters (like Chee) in the mix, but still establishing Manuelito as the main player in what has become a fine legacy series." -- Booklist

"Song of the Lion offers more than a good read, a well-crafted Southwestern mystery, [and] an exciting glimpse of a widely varied population in a beautiful landscape with layers of history, blood, land, and water issues...It will take the reader on a journey to an unshakeable, soul-deepening, life- enhancing awareness." -- Midwest Book Review


Dimensions (Overall): 9.0 Inches (H) x 6.0 Inches (W) x 1.0 Inches (D)
Weight: .95 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 448
Series Title: Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Mystery & Detective
Publisher: Harper Large Print
Theme: Police Procedural
Format: Paperback
Author: Anne Hillerman
Language: English
Street Date: April 11, 2017
TCIN: 51987461
UPC: 9780062644275
Item Number (DPCI): 248-38-3733
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.95 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy