EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Many Fortunes of Maya - by Nicole D Collier (Hardcover)

The Many Fortunes of Maya - by  Nicole D Collier (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
The Many Fortunes of Maya - by  Nicole D Collier (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$11.79 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"For answers and a dose of good luck, twelve-year-old Maya turns to her Wheel of Fortunes, a cardboard circle covered with the small slips of wisdom she's collected from fortune cookies. But can the fortunes answer her deep-down questions? The ones she's too scared to ask out loud? Such as, where did Mama's smile go, the real one that lit up everything around her? When will Daddy move back home? And, most of all, does she have enough courage to truly listen to the voice in her heart?"--



Book Synopsis



Read by Tony-award winning actress Anika Noni Rose, voice of Princess Tiana in Disney's The Princess and the Frog.

In this lyrical novel that will appeal to fans of Meg Medina, Maya turns to her trusty "wheel of fortunes" for guidance on the toughest questions--like why her best friend suddenly feels far away, or when her Daddy will move back home. But can Maya find the courage to write her own fortune?

Maya J. Jenkins is bursting with questions:

    Will she get the MVP award at this year's soccer banquet?Who will win the big grill off between Daddy and Uncle J?When will she pass the swim test and get a green bracelet?

For answers and a dose of good luck, 12-year-old Maya turns to her Wheel of Fortunes, a cardboard circle covered with the small slips of wisdom she's collected from fortune cookies.

But can the fortunes answer her deep-down questions? The ones she's too scared to ask out loud? Like, where did Mama's smile go, the real one that lit up everything around her? When will Daddy move back home? And most of all, does she have enough courage to truly listen to the voice in her heart?



Review Quotes




"Collier masterfully delivers a multidimensional protagonist with a clear and relatable voice. . . . Maya's journey as she learns to adjust to life's curveballs and listen to her inner truth will keep readers hooked from start to finish." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Beginning each chapter with a fortune, Collier (Just Right Jillian) delivers another immersive novel, and its emotionally tinged first-person voice offers fresh observations about parental tensions and changing friendship dynamics." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This book is filled to the brim with relatable characters who can demonstrate to readers how to navigate the complexities of friendship and family." -- Booklist

"This is my kind of book! If you like stories about family, friendship, and learning to listen to your heart to figure out what's true for you, then this will be your kind of book, too!" -- Debbi Michiko Florence, author of Sweet and Sour

"With sweetness, humor, and an abundance of heart, Collier paints an authentic and layered portrait of what it means to ask questions that don't have simple answers, to be true to oneself, and to grow with and because of the love that surrounds us. A soul-satisfying treat!" -- Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich, author of Operation Sisterhood

"Nicole captures the beauty in the absolute messiness of being a 12-year-old. Maya's struggle to be loyal to what her parents want for her vs. what she wants for herself is the lesson we all need." -- Paula Chase, author of So Done

"In Maya Jenkins, Nicole D. Collier has created a voice that's distinct and compelling, vulnerable and real. Maya will make her way into your heart from the very first page. And readers will see their own complex, tender, and strong extended families in Collier's lovingly drawn portrait. THE MANY FORTUNES OF MAYA is a delight."
-- Kate Albus, author of A Place to Hang the Moon


Dimensions (Overall): 8.51 Inches (H) x 5.85 Inches (W) x .93 Inches (D)
Weight: .7 Pounds
Suggested Age: 8-12 Years
Number of Pages: 240
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Publisher: Versify
Format: Hardcover
Author: Nicole D Collier
Language: English
Street Date: January 24, 2023
TCIN: 86695916
UPC: 9780358434641
Item Number (DPCI): 247-39-1931
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.93 inches length x 5.85 inches width x 8.51 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.7 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

A truly relatable, immersive tale

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Lady Loves to Read - 1 year ago
This book was really good. There were funny moments and sad moments and some angry moments too. I loved that each chapter started with a fortune that gave a hint how things might turn out. It was satisfying in the end, and just relatable through and through.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads