Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Princess Who Flew with Dragons - (Dragon Heart) by Stephanie Burgis (Paperback)

The Princess Who Flew with Dragons - (Dragon Heart) by  Stephanie Burgis (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Princess Who Flew with Dragons - (Dragon Heart) by  Stephanie Burgis (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$8.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, this girl-powered fantasy follows a smart young princess determined to save her kingdom.
  • 8-12 Years
  • 8.2" x 5.5" Paperback
  • 240 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Fantasy & Magic
  • Series Name: Dragon Heart

Description



Book Synopsis



Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, this girl-powered fantasy follows a smart young princess determined to save her kingdom.

Princess Sofia of Drachenburg is sick of being used for her older sister's political gains. At twelve years old, she's already been a hostage to invading dragons and promised to marry a wicked fairy. Now she's being sent to far-off Villene to play the part of a charming, diplomatic princess. Her only comfort lies in writing letters to her pen pal and best friend--Jasper, a young dragon she's never even met.

But when an accident leads to her exile from Villene, Sofia is free to wander as she pleases for the first time in her life. And when Jasper's magical sister Aventurine turns him into a human boy, Sofia thinks life can't get any better. Until . . . the legendary ice giants of the north attack, trying to reclaim the territory that was theirs centuries ago. With the dragons and royals frozen in ice, can Sofia and Jasper save their families and kingdom?

With another strong heroine and plenty of action, this is an enchanting and strong-hearted fantasy set in the same world as The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and The Girl with the Dragon Heart.

Acclaim for The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart
A Kids' Indie Next List Pick
An Amazon Best Book of the Month
A Mighty Girl Best Book of the Year
A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year
A VOYA Top Shelf Pick



Review Quotes




"A rousing adventure story with convincing characters and a colorful setting." --Booklist on THE PRINCESS WHO FLEW WITH DRAGONS

"Black-presenting Silke's an entirely believable character; supporting characters are equally well-drawn, and Burgis' world is a robustly diverse one. As with the first book, the fantasy hijinks are tempered with depth for a story that's sweet but not saccharine." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON HEART

"Full of secrets and supernatural beings and topped with chocolate, the book hooks fans of fantasy with a fast-paced adventure that gradually reveals its mysteries." --BCCB on THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON HEART

"Chocolate and dragons, together at last! Like sipping hot cocoa on a cold day, reading this book was an absolute delight. And by the end I felt like a dragon sitting on a pile of gold, knowing I'd found a treasure. Readers of all ages will love this deliciously charming adventure and its feisty dragon-transformed-into-a-girl main character, Aventurine!" --Sheila Grau, author of the Dr. Critchlore's School for Minions series on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

"In The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart, Aventurine is turned into a girl, but inside she remains ALL dragon, every fierce, lovable inch of her. This story is a delightfully delicious blend of magic spiced with adventure and a heart as sweet and warm as molten chocolate. I completely adored this book!" --Sarah Prineas, author of THE MAGIC THIEF and Winterling series on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

"The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart is a perfect confection: rich, satisfying, and remarkably delicious." --Caroline Carlson, author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

"A gloriously fresh story to be read with a steaming cup of chocolate at hand." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

"Aventurine's fiery spirit is immediately endearing, and a diverse cast of fully realized supporting characters fill out a fantasy world that readers will love to inhabit. Pair with chocolate for maximum enjoyment . . . will satisfy readers who hunger for feel-good tales that pack a girl-power punch, like Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or the movie Moana." --School Library Journal on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART

"Burgis creates a feisty protagonist with a temper that suits her dragon heritage. . . . Readers will be rooting for Adventurine throughout this well-paced, colorful narrative. An appealing chapter book for young fantasy fans." --Booklist on THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART




About the Author



Stephanie Burgis grew up in East Lansing, Michigan, but now lives in Wales with her husband and two sons, surrounded by mountains, castles and coffee shops. She is the author of The Girl with the Dragon Heart, The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart, the tween fantasy trilogy, Kat, Incorrigible and the adult historical fantasy title, Masks and Shadows.
www.stephanieburgis.com; @stephanieburgis

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.5 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .55 Pounds
Suggested Age: 8-12 Years
Number of Pages: 240
Series Title: Dragon Heart
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Author: Stephanie Burgis
Language: English
Street Date: December 1, 2020
TCIN: 92049668
UPC: 9781547604821
Item Number (DPCI): 247-07-8601
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.8 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.55 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy