Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair (Paperback) by Joel Dicker

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair (Paperback) by Joel Dicker - image 1 of 1
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair (Paperback) by Joel Dicker - image 1 of 1
$15.29 when purchased online

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



Instant New York Times Bestseller

"Unimpeachably terrific." --The New York Times Book Review

A twisty, fast-paced, cinematic literary thriller, and an ingenious book within a book, for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari Lapena, and Donna Tartt

Marcus Goldman is riding high. The twenty-eight-year-old writer is the new darling of American letters, whose debut novel has sold two million copies. But when it comes time to produce a new book, he is sidelined by a crippling case of writer's block. He travels to Somerset, New Hamprshire, to see his mentor, Harry Quebert, one of the country's most respected writers, hoping to jar his creative juices as his publisher's deadline looms. But Marcus's plans are upended when Harry is sensationally implicated in a cold-case murder: Fifteen-year-old Nola Kellergan went missing in 1975, and Harry admits to having had an affair with her. Following a trail of clues through the backwoods and isolated beaches of New Hampshire, Marcus must answer two questions, which are mysteriously connected: Who killed Nola Kellergan? And how do you write a book to save someone's life?

Named a Best Book of the Summer by CBS This Morning, Us Weekly, The Hollywood Reporter, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Parade, Houston Chronicle, New York Post, Tampa Bay Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and The Daily Beast

Now a 10-part TV series on EPIX, starring Patrick Dempsey, Ben Schnetzer, Damon Wayans Jr., and Virginia Madsen



Review Quotes



"A playful, page-turning whodunit . . . If Norman Mailer had been accused of murder and Truman Capote had collaborated with Dominick Dunne on a tell-all about it, the result might have turned out something like this. Though I suspect this version may be funnier. . . . It's [Dicker's] light touch and engaging voice that make the writing so infectious." --Chelsea Cain, The New York Times Book Review

"The great American crime novel . . . A breakneck thriller." --Details

"A terrific read . . . Entertaining . . . Cleverly constructed . . . It's compelling, challenging, sometimes even funny. The characters are finely drawn. . . . It keeps you, as they say of movies, 'on the edge of your seat.' " --The Huffington Post

"A wonderful, fun, and boisterous read, a book with an uncanny ability to both fascinate and amuse you. Twists and turns and oddball characters make this a rollicking bullet-train of a novel." --Amazon.com, Best Book of the Month

"I haven't had a suspense novel surprise me like this one in a long time. Joël Dicker is a bright new star of suspense, and he proves his serious chops with this utterly thrilling, delightfully twisted, continually shocking novel. I can't wait to read what he writes next!" --Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fear Nothing

"A dazzling thriller--stunningly original and brilliantly plotted, down to the very last twists. It's a murder mystery, a literary puzzle, and a love story, all ingeniously woven into a masterly novel of suspense. Joël Dicker is an enormous talent, and this book is extraordinary." --Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Death Angel

"Talk about a web of treason and danger: This one unfolds with a relentless sense of urgency and pulse-pounding escapades, entertaining at every turn. Absolutely rousing." --Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The King's Deception

"Planes, trains and automobiles: You'll see people reading this book everywhere. An amazing debut and wonderful summer read." --Michael Harvey, bestselling author of The Chicago Way

"Entertainingly pulled off . . . Enjoyable . . . It churns along at such a good clip and is rendered with such high emotion and apparent deep conviction that it's easy to see why it was a bestseller in Europe." --The Washington Post

"A highly entertaining mash-up of melodrama, metafiction and mystery [with] a slick page-turning plot." --Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Charmingly off-kilter . . . Sure-footed." --The Daily Beast

"[A] funny, plot-twisting mystery." --Women's Day, "New Favorites from the Women's Day Staff"

"Stunning . . . Fast-paced, tightly plotted . . . From page one, you'll be hooked on this fascinating mystery of love and deception." --National Examiner

"Smart and fun." --Houston Chronicle

"A clever, tightly plotted thriller with a comic edge." --Tampa Bay Times

"An ambitious, multilayered novel of suspense . . . This tale of fame, friendship, loyalty, and fiction versus reality moves at warp speed." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"This sprawling, likable whodunit [is] obvious ballast for the summer's beach totes. . . . Dicker keeps the prose simple and the pace snappy in a plot that winds up with more twists than a Twizzler. . . . [An] entertaining debut thriller." --Kirkus Reviews

"Tantalizing . . . Compelling . . . There is a Twin Peaks-like fascination to the story of Nola Kellergan. . . . Readers are certain to be caught up in the ongoing drama of who killed Nola among the plethora of suspects." --Booklist



About The Author



Joel Dicker was born in 1985 in Geneva, Switzerland, where he later studied law. He spent childhood summers in New England, particularly in Stonington and Bar Harbor, Maine. The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair won three French literary prizes, including the Grand Prix du Roman from the Académie Française, and was a finalist for the Prix Goncourt. It has sold more than two million copies across Europe. Dicker lives in Geneva.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.42 Inches (H) x 5.61 Inches (W) x 1.44 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.31 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13-19 Years
Number of Pages: 643
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Mystery + Crime
Publisher: Penguin Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Joel Dicker
Language: English
Street Date: July 27, 2016
TCIN: 15286770
UPC: 9780143126683
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-3181
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 9 inches length x 6 inches width x 1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Ksyu - 4 years ago
Thank you thank you Target for having this amazing book !
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy