Loading, please wait...

We Hunt the Flame - (Sands of Arawiya) by Hafsah Faizal

We Hunt the Flame - (Sands of Arawiya) by Hafsah Faizal - image 1 of 1
We Hunt the Flame - (Sands of Arawiya) by Hafsah Faizal - image 1 of 1
Format Paperback

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 14-18 Years

Number of Pages: 480

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Series Title: Sands of Arawiya

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Square Fish

Book theme: Epic

Author: Hafsah Faizal

Language: English

Street Date: December 1, 2020
TCIN: 77328814
UPC: 9781250250797
Item Number (DPCI): 247-56-9889
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"People lived because she killed. People died because he lived. Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man when she braves the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the sultan. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, all of her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed his compassion, his father would punish him in the most brutal of ways. Both Zafira and Nasir are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya--but neither wants to be. War is brewing, and the Arz sweeps closer with each passing day, engulfing the land in shadow. When Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover a lost artifact that can restore magic to her suffering world and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the sultan on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds--and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine."--Provided by publisher.



Book Synopsis



An Ignyte Award Winner 2020
A TIME Magazine Top 100 Fantasy Book of All Time
A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2019
A PopSugar Best YA Book of 2019

A TeenVogue Book Club Pick for 2019
A Barnes & Noble Teen Book Club Pick for 2019

Lyrical and spellbinding --Marieke Njikamp, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal's We Hunt the Flame--first in the Sands of Arawiya duology--is a gripping debut of discovery, conquering fear, and taking identity into your own hands.

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived.

Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man when she braves the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the sultan. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, all of her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed his compassion, his father would punish him in the most brutal of ways. Both Zafira and Nasir are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya--but neither wants to be.

War is brewing, and the Arz sweeps closer with each passing day, engulfing the land in shadow. When Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover a lost artifact that can restore magic to her suffering world and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the sultan on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds--and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine.



Review Quotes




"Drawing inspiration from ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame gives exquisitely detailed insight into a cultural experience; this debut, about identity and unlikely allies, features subtly nuanced and deeply reflective characters. Layering high-stakes action with moods ranging from casual humor to raw anguish, Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more." --Booklist, starred review

"Faizal matches a sweeping, ancient Arabian setting of shifting sand dunes, crumbling ruins, and fickle magic with an engrossing tale of political intrigue and human and divine warring powers. That sense of epicness, however, is carefully grounded by her deeply flawed, morally conflicted, and endlessly fascinating characters; as individuals, they are each interesting, but it's the developing dynamic among the group that is truly compelling. . .Fans of Bardugo's Six of Crows or Chokshi's The Star-Touched Queen will be thrilled with the book's impressive world building, stellar cast, and intricate story." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed. . .Fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes and Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone should get excited for their next obsession." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Faizal builds a world of immense detail and complexity. Readers smell the different foods in the marketplace and begin to understand the many layers of each culture in Arawiya. . .Faizal explores the strength of an independent female character in a world that silences women. As a result, Zafira's courage will teach readers the power of the human spirit." --VOYA, starred review

"Debut author Faizal paints a vivid world, inspired by ancient Arabia and its mythology, that will appeal to fantasy and romance readers as well as fans of the Assassin's Creed video games. . .An appealing spin on traditional fantasy elements." --Kirkus Reviews

"Hafsah Faizal creates a dazzling and beautiful world that will make you not want to put this book down." --Seventeen Magazine

"Faizal's strong debut develops its engaging premise with evocative worldbuilding and memorable characters. . .Lush descriptions of setting and food offer a vivid atmosphere, and the slow-brewing romance is an engaging contrast to the harrowing emotional and physical journey at the heart of the story." --Publishers Weekly

"Hafsah Faizal's writing is so lush and evocative that We Hunt the Flame is gripping right from the first page." --PopSugar




About the Author



Hafsah Faizal is an American Muslim and brand designer. She's the founder of IceyDesigns, where she creates websites for authors and beauteous goodies for everyone else. When she's not writing, she can be found dreaming up her next design, deciding between Assassin's Creed and Skyrim, or traversing the world. Born in Florida and raised in California, she now resides in Texas with her family and a library of books waiting to be devoured. We Hunt the Flame is her first novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.4 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars with 8 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.