Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Wedgie & Gizmo - by  Suzanne Selfors (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Wedgie & Gizmo - by  Suzanne Selfors (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$13.99 sale price when purchased online
$14.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Fans of Stick Dog and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish will love Suzanne Selfors's hilarious new illustrated series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets.
  • 8-12 Years
  • 8.3" x 5.7" Hardcover
  • 176 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Humorous Stories
  • Series Name: Wedgie & Gizmo

Description



About the Book



Bestselling author Selfors delivers the first book in a heartwarming and hilarious new series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets. Illustrations.



Book Synopsis



Fans of Stick Dog and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish will love Suzanne Selfors's hilarious new illustrated series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets.

"A delightfully fun read that will leave you in stitches!"--Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat

When a bouncy, barky dog and an evil genius guinea pig move into the same house, the laughs are nonstop! Wedgie is so excited, he can't stop barking. He LOVES having new siblings and friends to protect. He LOVES guinea pigs like Gizmo! He also LOVES treats!

But Gizmo does not want to share his loyal human servant with a rump-sniffing beast! He does not want to live in a pink Barbie Playhouse. Or to be kissed and hugged by the girl human. Gizmo is an evil genius. He wants to take over the world and make all humans feel his wrath. But first he must destroy his archenemy, Wedgie, once and for all!



Review Quotes




"A delightfully fun read that will keep you in stiches!" -- Dan Santat, Caldecott Medal Winner for THE ADVENTURES OF BEEKLE: THE UNIMAGINARY FRIEND

"Readers will love Wedgie and Gizmo's distinct and hilarious voices and Barbara Fisinger's adorable and eye-catching illustrations!" -- John Schumacher (aka Mr. Schu), Ambassador for School Libraries

"This first installment is great for one-on-one sharing or independent reading. A solid purchase for libraries looking for early chapter books." -- School Library Journal

"Amusing and imaginative." -- Kirkus Reviews

"A delightfully comedic look at the chaos that is family life... There's plenty of warmth and humor, with a bit of sardonic bite from Gizmo, and readers of Jamieson's The Great Pet Escape will find much to love here." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Comical illustrations and lighthearted text combine to captivate middle-grade readers as a guinea pig evil genius and a corgi canine superhero match wits and win reader's hearts." -- Mary Burkey, independent library consultant, Booklist Reader

"Selfors has written a hilarious tale of two families becoming one-from the point of view of the pets. This peek into the secret lives of pets will be irresistible to animal-loving early readers." -- Tegan Tigani, children's book buyer, Queen Anne Book Company, Seattle

"I truly adored this book! It's super and genius . . . and not a bit evil. The author is a hero! Who will win out in the rivalry between this cagey Cavy and capewearing Corgi? The readers!" -- Starr Latronica, Director, Brooks Memorial Library, Brattleboro, VT

Praise for the Imaginary Veterinary series: "The best books are those in which imaginary creatures leap off the page and into our world--just one of the reasons why this book is a ton of fun. I can't wait for more adventures." -- Wendy Mass, NYT bestselling author

"An entertaining story that will pique readers' interest from the first dragon sighting. Ben is a relatable main character, and daring, outspoken Pearl is the perfect partner in crime." -- Publishers Weekly

"Selfors kicks off her Imaginary Veterinary series with a solid, entertaining opener. Ben and Pearl are Everykids that readers will relate to, and the adults of Buttonville are often delightfully weird and clueless. More hijinks adventure than mystery, this is sure to win an audience." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for SMELLS LIKE DOG: * "Selfors offers up an adventure tale that features a humorous, high-stakes mystery and a lovable hero. ...Peppered with funny dialogue, this joyous romp is a page-turning adventure that will appeal to enthusiastic and reluctant readers alike." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Full of fantasy, fun and humorous dialogue, this will attract dog lovers, mystery enthusiasts, adventure addicts, and reluctant readers. A thoroughly enjoyable read." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"Fans who enjoy the editorializing and over-the-top humor in Wendelin Van Draanen's Gecko and Sticky series will take pleasure in this misfit duo's quirky adventures." -- Booklist

"A whimsical narration and sometimes comical dialogue add a light touch." -- School Library Journal

Praise for SMELLS LIKE TREASURE: * "A funny, suspenseful adventure that stretches the borders of readers' imaginations." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

"The suspense of the challenge will keep readers turning the pages. Fans will love Homer and Dog's return." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"It is the perfect balance of humor, peril, sadness, excitement and adventure." -- Time for Kids

"There is plenty of rip-roaring fun here; fans will applaud Homer and Dog's return." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Quirky characters and over-the-top humor" -- Booklist


Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inches (W) x .7 Inches (D)
Weight: .5 Pounds
Suggested Age: 8-12 Years
Number of Pages: 176
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Humorous Stories
Series Title: Wedgie & Gizmo
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Hardcover
Author: Suzanne Selfors
Language: English
Street Date: August 22, 2017
TCIN: 52025082
UPC: 9780062447630
Item Number (DPCI): 248-39-6298
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.7 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.5 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy