11" 8 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 311" 8 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 2 of 311" 8 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 3 of 3
11" 8 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 3
$45When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Compatible with 11" storage bins.
  • Weight capacity is 15lb s per cube shelf.
  • When used vertically, top shelf weight capacity is 40lbs
  • When used horizontally, top shelf weight capacity is 50lbs
  • Required tools- Screwdriver, hammer

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 24.12 Inches (H) x 47.62 Inches (W) x 11.69 Inches (D)

Weight: 41 Pounds

Material: Particle Board (Frame)

Surface Material: Paper Laminate

Features: Fixed Shelves

Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided

Number of Shelves: 4

Maximum Shelf Weight Capacity: 15 Pounds

Compatible With: 11 Inch Cube Storage System

Number of compartments: 8

TCIN: 15116840
UPC: 840307040879
Item Number (DPCI): 002-11-0616
Origin: Imported
WARNING: This product can expose you to formaldehyde, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov. www.p65warnings.ca.gov

Description

The Room Essentials™ 8-Cube Organizer leads one of today's hottest decorating and organizing trends. The traditional bookshelf gets an update with cubes big enough to hold fabric storage bins. The storage shelves have enclosed cubbies and open cubbies that you can fill in a variety of ways. Add colorful fabric boxes for a unique-and practical-decorative touch. Fabric cubes sold separately.

Weight capacity is 15lbs per cube shelf.
When used vertically, top shelf weight capacity is 40lbs
When used horizontally, top shelf weight capacity is 50lbs

Required tools- Screwdriver, hammer

Overall Width: 47.56 inches
Overall Height:24.17 inches
Overall Depth: 11.73 inches
Cube Compartment Width: 11.30 inches
Cube Compartment Height: 11.30 inches
Cube Compartment Depth: 11.65 inches

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 50.3 inches length x 12 inches width x 3.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 38 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 365 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Can I stack this on top of another cube organizer?

submitted by TaraAnn - 5 years ago
  • A: Yes (horizontally) and no (vertically) In the instruction book it gives instructions on how to stack them horizontally (Step 9) but it also states more than once that they should not be stacked vertically due to being a tip over hazard

    submitted byAj3 - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. You can stack up to 2 8 cube organizers. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: NO, the ones I have do not stack anymore. I bought them to stack, now I have to stand them up.

    submitted byRox33anne - 9 months ago
  • A: Hello TaraAnn - I'm glad you asked! The 8-Cube Organizer will help organize your living space. The cube organizer is not stackable, but you can enjoy it vertically or horizontally. Happy shopping! - Yamell

    submitted byYamell - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: Would this be good to organize vinyl? I would put my turntable and speakers on top as well. Would it support everything?

submitted by zat - 4 years ago
  • A: Based on personal experience, regular-sized records will not fit. However if you have various smaller 45s, this would more than likely work.

    submitted byJames - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello Zat – Each cube shelf has a weight limit of 15 lbs. When used vertically, the top shelf's weight capacity is 40 lbs. When used horizontally, the top shelf's weight capacity is 50 lbs. I hope this helps! – Aaron

    submitted byAaron - 4 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Hello. The cubbie holes are compatible with 11" storage bins, so your records should fit. Also, the weight capacity for the top shelf is 40 pounds evenly distributed. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How long does this take to assemble?

submitted by Cgw1125 - 5 years ago
  • A: It took me under half an hour to assemble, and that was with "help" from our son.

    submitted bymom of 2 boys - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Cgw1125 - Thanks for stopping by! While the amount of time it takes to assemble can vary, it comes with the hardware and instructions necessary to get the job done. You can find additional assembly insight in the guest reviews section as well. I hope this helps! -Michelle

    submitted byMichelle - 5 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Hello. The (Overall) dimensions for the organizer are: 35.9 inches (H) x 12.24 inches (W) x 11.69 inches (D). So, the carton will be slightly larger that 36" high, 12.5" wide. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this come with a wall mounting?

submitted by Angela - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. This is not a wall mount system. It is a floor mount system, but comes with an L-bracket to secure it from the floor to the wall. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Angela - This is a great unit that will offer many uses. It does come with hardware to you can anchor it to the wall. Thanks! - Shelly

    submitted byShelly - 5 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: They can't be mounted on the wall. Per the instructions it states that they were not designed with the support necessary to be hung on walls.

    submitted byAj3 - 5 years ago

Q: How many bins dose this storage unit come with Thanks Janice

submitted by Janice - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. The bins are not included. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: The unit does not come with bins. You have to buy them separately.

    submitted byLisaD - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello Janice - Thanks for checking. This handy cube organizer is designed to accommodate 11" storage bins, however the bins are not included. The four open cubbies are there for storage, while the four closed cubbies are intended for your display needs. Hope that helps. - Andrew

    submitted byAndrew - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: Is the back-side of this finished? In other words, if it was being used as a room divider, would all sides look finished?

submitted by KT - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. No, the back side is unfinished. We also do not recommend not securing the unit to the wall. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: No, it's not finished on the back, especially the backing for the enclosed cubes.

    submitted byNana - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi KT- Great question. The cube organizer would have four of the cubes that would be enclosed and the other four cubes wouldn't be enclosed. The backing that attaches to the cube is provided in the box. Hope that helps. -Michelle

    submitted byMichelle - 6 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: If you lay it on its side can u still fit the 11" inserts in the cubby?

submitted by Allievay - 6 years ago
  • A: Yes. This is how I am using it.

    submitted byLisaD - 6 years ago
  • A: Yes, looks great placed horizontally as well. Cubes are 11 x 11 and do not change dimensions simply because you put the unit vertically or horizontally. Cubes. They're cubes.

    submitted byBecca - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. Yes, the cubbies are still able to fit the 11" bins regardless of how the organizer is laying. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can you stack multiple shelving units on top of each other?

submitted by Erika - 6 years ago
  • A: I wouldn't unless you can somehow secure them together. Even then, I'd attach them to the wall so they wouldn't tip.

    submitted byNana - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. Yes, you can stack up to two units, with the included wooden dowels, as long as they are secured to the wall with the L-brackets. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: You may stack the cells on top of one another but they are not originally made to do so. I have mine stacked but there is no not to secure it.

    submitted byJHerrod - 6 years ago

Q: Can this shelf be Layed in the floor instead of stood up ?

submitted by Karen - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi Karen- Great question! This cube organizer can be used horizontal or vertical. I hope this helps. Have a great day. -Kayla

    submitted byKayla - 6 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Yes - that is how we have it in our Son's room!

    submitted byAndrea - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. Yes, this unit is designed to lay vertically, or horizontally. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the length of this bookshelf?

submitted by Kolby - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. The dimensions (Overall) are: 47.56 inches (H) x 24.12 inches (W) x 11.69 inches (D). Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Kolby – Organize your favorite items with the Room Essentials 8-Cube Organizer. The overall dimensions for this shelf are: 47.62” (H) x 24.12” (W) x 11.69” (D). I hope this works for you! - Phonsavanh

    submitted byPhonsavanh - 4 years ago
3.9 out of 5 stars with 2104 reviews
77% would recommend
1276 recommendations
value: 4.05 out of 5
quality: 3.62 out of 5

Cheap

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Happy Dog Mom - 2 days ago
The construction of this is easy. The materials are very cheaply made. Annoyed the backing doesn't cover the entire back, poor design. It will do for my needs since it will be shoved at the bottom of a closet and you won't be able to see the sides or top. If you are looking for something quality, this isn't it.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Holes aren't drilled deep enough for middle shelf dowels!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Cathy - 7 days ago, Verified purchaser
Part of holes for long dowels aren't deep enough. The left two worked fine but the next four aren't. I broke two of them (hammering gently) trying to get them in and they're still too high. I've assembled this type before and haven't run into this. I'll have to get L brackets too fasten them and will probably have to try to break them flush, since they aren't going in the hole! Frustrating! Stick with IKEA or Mainstays.
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Absolute garbage

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Justjess1172 - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
These are terrible. I’ve bought many of these over the e years from different brands and these are the worst. They are not stable, they are flimsy and rock back and forth. One of the shelves busted when we didn’t have that much on it. They are so bad and now we’re stuck with three we put together. Returning the rest. Do not buy theses.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Such an inconvenience

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
CDEAN44 - 12 days ago
The holes are not deep enough, you would have to use a drill or something and I’m not going to do that. I checked all pieces and measurements must be wrong because none of the holes measure right. I’m returning this item tomorrow such an inconvenience
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy Peasy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
QueenT - 15 days ago
Quick solution for a dresser/bookshelf while I figure out how I want my room to look. Easy to put together. I did it by myself with no issues.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Cube

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Cube organizer - 16 days ago, Verified purchaser
Easy asambly , good quality
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

This is fantastic for the Price

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Taylor - 23 days ago, Verified purchaser
this is a great low cost shelf if your looking for extra storage or trying to dress up the room, no complaints the set up was fairly easy
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Cube Organizer Shelf

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Fruit Basket - 23 days ago, Verified purchaser
I ordered this item to help reorganize a closet. It was easy to assemble and an excellent choice.👍
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Really don't waste your time

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Christine - 24 days ago, Verified purchaser
Terrible quality and impossible to put together. Trying to get the little wooden pegs to line up and force them into their holes was impossible and the boards just started to break during the process.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Price went up by almost $15 and the quality got worse???

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Glo - 24 days ago
I have bought so many of these over the years and unfortunately the quality has really gone down. Cheap flimsy back panels, broken dowels, wobbly and slanted end product on the new ones, whereas the ones I have from 2+ years ago are still going strong. Really disappointed.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Storage

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Bwt - 25 days ago, Verified purchaser
Easy to assemble fits perfect for the spot I needed it for
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Poor Quality

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
DesmaraisL - 27 days ago, Verified purchaser
Poor quality, couldn’t assemble without it feeling like it was going to break. Trust me, spend the extra money and go with a better one.
value: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Bob the builder

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Nis Musso - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Took forever to put together! But at the end made a cute cabinet for the kids room!
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Cube organizer

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Luna - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Very sturdy and priced well
Did you find this review helpful?

I love it

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Ashe92 - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
I absolutely love this shelf. I put all my sons funko pops on it. It fits them perfect and I love the design and how easy it was to put together.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Super Cute~ 💖

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
UnahVerse - 2 months ago
I'm aware a lot of people had problems with the wooden dowels breaking on them, however, I was extremely careful when assembling and found no problems! For the value, it's not bad at all! It's not the sturdiest thing in the world (meaning don't sit on it) but I use it to hold my big TV and other misc items and decor in my house. The white backing for the sleeves are made of white cardboard, but I think that's one of my favorite features as I feel I can customize it with stickers, doodles, or even make my own colored backings by myself! The customization options seem endless and I love it! To hide the back of the wall, I try and put picture frames, figures, etc to draw more attention to those. I'm going to put adhesive puck lights to jazz it up a bit but it looks so nice and chic! For the price you can't beat it. I'm going to buy another one for my roommate soon in a different color, but I'm in love. Here's some pictures of how I jazzed my shelving unit up!
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fits anywhere

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Love it - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Easy to build and sturdy on hardwood floor
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Don't buy this.

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Mrsemilyn - 2 months ago
The dowel rods all snapped in half. This is poorly made. I'm returning it to the store. We didn't even get it fully assembled.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not worth it

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
audra - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Awful quality. Can’t hold anything and breaks in 2 seconds.
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Easy homes!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Cubes - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I love that it was easy to assemble and the cubes are perfect to set-up and organize my daughter things.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads