All Summer Long - by Hope Larson (Paperback)

All Summer Long -  by Hope Larson (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
All Summer Long -  by Hope Larson (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$9.05When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.6 Inch (W) x .8 Inch (D)

Weight: .7 Pounds

Suggested Age: 9-12 Years

Number of Pages: 170

Format: Paperback

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Publisher: Farrar Straus & Giroux

Author: Hope Larson

Book theme: General, Friendship

Language: English

Street Date: May 1, 2018
TCIN: 53436618
UPC: 9780374310714
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-0102
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Eisner AwardDwinning and "New York Times"Dbestselling Larson delivers coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about best friends--a boy and a girl--who rise above their growing pains and reestablish their friendship and respect for their differences.ferences.



Book Synopsis



*A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2018!*

All Summer Long
, a coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written and illustrated by the Eisner Award-winning and New York Times-bestselling Hope Larson.

Thirteen-year-old Bina has a long summer ahead of her. She and her best friend, Austin, usually do everything together, but he's off to soccer camp for a month, and he's been acting kind of weird lately anyway. So it's up to Bina to see how much fun she can have on her own. At first it's a lot of guitar playing, boredom, and bad TV, but things look up when she finds an unlikely companion in Austin's older sister, who enjoys music just as much as Bina. But then Austin comes home from camp, and he's acting even weirder than when he left. How Bina and Austin rise above their growing pains and reestablish their friendship and respect for their differences makes for a touching and funny coming-of-age story.



Review Quotes



*A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2018!*
*A 2019 YALSA Great Graphic Novel Reading List Selection*
*A 2019 Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Selection*
*An Eisner Award Nominee!*

Whereas in early childhood friendships take shape by reason of proximity, later they alter as interests diverge and new bonds form, and Larson's story tracks this painful, exhilarating process. --The New York Times Book Review

Larson's panels are superb at revealing emotional conflict, subtext, and humor within the deceptively simple third-person limited plot, allowing characters to grow and develop emotionally over only a few spreads. A coming-of-age story as tender and sweet as a summer evening breeze. --Kirkus starred review

Most crucial is the portrait that Larson (Mercury) draws of Bina as a guitarist and songwriter, a musician whose deepest fulfillment comes from within herself. Larson's graphic novel zeroes in on conversational encounters, with dialogue that's fresh and funny ("You're a stone-cold psycho and I kinda admire that," Charlie tells Bina when they begin to hang out), and her close-up drawings of expressive faces add intimacy to the interchanges she captures. --Publishers Weekly

With much of this tight-knit family's backstory delivered visually or through brief exchanges of dialogue, characters' diversity of race, lifestyle, and sexual orientation emerge organically through the tidily framed black, white, and gold artwork. Use this with Brosgol's Be Prepared (BCCB 4/18) and Jamieson's Roller Girl (BCCB 4/15) and All's Faire in Middle School (BCCB 10/17) for an easygoing graphic novel take on how to spend summer vacation. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

This sensitive, relatable graphic novel explores many familiar touchstones of adolescence as Bina seeks her place in the world... A limited palette keeps the focus on the story and character development, and Larson's expressive drawings add to the emotional resonance of the teen's journey to self-discovery...Fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile and Shannon Hale's Real Friends will eagerly embrace this work. A charming addition to any graphic novel collection.--School Library Journal



About The Author



Hope Larson adapted and illustrated A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel, which spent forty-four weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and for which she won an Eisner Award. She is also the author and illustrator of Salamander Dream, Gray Horses, Chiggers, and Mercury, and the author of Compass South and Knife's Edge, both illustrated by Rebecca Mock. She lives in Los Angeles.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 1 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads