Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Austenland (Reprint) (Paperback) by Shannon Hale

Austenland (Reprint) (Paperback) by Shannon Hale - image 1 of 1
Austenland (Reprint) (Paperback) by Shannon Hale - image 1 of 1
$13.45 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



For every woman who has read "Pride and Prejudice" and sighed for Mr. Darcy comes a confection of a book from "New York Times"-bestselling author Hale.



Book Synopsis



For readers of Waiting for Tom Hanks and Well Met, a "gloriously satisfying" (Glamour) romantic comedy set at a Jane Austen fantasy resort from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Hale. Now a major motion picture starring Keri Russell and produced by Stephenie Meyer.

Jane Hayes is a young New Yorker with a real romantic problem: no man she meets can compare to her one true love--Mr. Darcy from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. But when a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort for Austen fanatics, Jane's fantasies of meeting the perfect Regency-era gentleman suddenly become realer than she ever could have imagined.

Dressed in empire waist gowns and torn between a sexy gardener and an actor playing the brooding Darcy role, Jane finds herself mastering the rules of etiquette and of the resort's flirtatious games. But when it's time to bid Austenland goodbye, can Jane really leave her fantasies--and the two men who've played into them--behind?

In this addictive, charming, and entirely delightful story, Shannon Hale brings out the Jane Austen obsessive in all of us.



Review Quotes



Funny, moving, and a real surprise. - USA Today

Gloriously satisfying. - Glamour

Adorable! This is the best tribute to obsessed Austen freaks (like me) that I've ever read. - Stephenie Meyer, New York Times bestselling author of the TWILIGHT series

An utterly enjoyable tribute. - Miami Herald

An homage to Austen... Austenland offers hope that after years of fruitless searching for a companion, just when you're ready to give up on love, it will find you on its own. - Houston Chronicle

Allow me to direct you to the best Austen tribute since Karen Joy Fowler's The Jane Austen Book Club: Shannon Hale's clever and imaginative Austenland... Hale's charming first book for adults is chick lit with soul. Though there's a laugh on nearly every page--Hale, like Austen, is adept at subtly skewering the ridiculous--there's also the more serious story of a woman learning the difference between fantasy and reality, and discovering that real life can be better than your dreams. Is there a better message for a summer read? - Bookpage



About The Author



Shannon Hale is the New York Times bestselling author of 30+ books for young readers including Newbery Honor winner Princess Academy, The Goose Girl, Book of a Thousand Days, Kind of a Big Deal, and graphic novel memoirs Real Friends and Best Friends. Her novels for the adult crowd include Austenland (now a major motion picture starring Keri Russell), Midnight in Austenland, and The Actor and the Housewife. With her husband Dean, she penned the bestselling series The Princess in Black and two novels about Marvel's unbeatable Squirrel Girl. They live in Utah with their four remarkable children and two ridiculous cats.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.58 Inches (W) x .55 Inches (D)
Weight: .43 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 196
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury Pub Plc USA
Format: Paperback
Author: Shannon Hale
Language: English
Street Date: May 27, 2008
TCIN: 11336141
UPC: 9781596912861
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-1858
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8.25 inches length x 5.25 inches width x 0.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.44 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews

Saw the movie...had to get the book!

5 out of 5 stars
SaraBella - 11 years ago
Absolutely charming and for this price it's hard to pass up!
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy