Loading, please wait...

Best Friends - by Shannon Hale (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inch (W) x .6 Inch (D)

Weight: .97 Pounds

Number of Pages: 224

Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Sub-Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels, Social Topics

Format: Paperback

Publisher: First Second

Author: Shannon Hale

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Book theme: Friendship, Social Topics

Language: English

Street Date: August 27, 2019
TCIN: 76474270
UPC: 9781250317469
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-0854
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Bestselling creators of Real Friends Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with a true story about popularity, first crushes, and finding your own path.



Book Synopsis



A National and New York Times Bestseller!

The creators of Real Friends Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with a true story about popularity, first crushes, and finding your own path in the graphic novel, Best Friends.

Follow your heart. Find your people.

Sixth grade is supposed to be perfect. Shannon's got a sure spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader, Jen, the most popular girl in school.

But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, what songs to listen to, and who she's allowed to talk to. Who makes these rules, anyway? And does Shannon have to follow them?

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2019
A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of 2019
A National Public Radio (NPR) Best Book of 2019
One of NBC Today's 26 Best Kids' Books of 2019
2020 Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Books of the Year List



Review Quotes



"Somehow, Hale and Pham have made the "normal girl" into the ultimate cool girl." --The New York Times Book Review

"This uncommonly honest portrayal of the lures and pitfalls of popularity will likely ring true to many elementary and middle-school readers." --Booklist, starred review

"A terrific look at middle school culture . . . This authentic, important book will mean a great deal to many kids." --School Library Journal, starred review

"A must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier or Victoria Jamieson . . . This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A natural suggestion for fans of Cece Bell and Raina Telgemeier, this book offers an honest, empathetic, and encouraging narrative for young readers braving the ups and downs of the tween years." --Horn Book

Praise for Real Friends:

"Fresh and funny." --New York Times Book Review

"The book's truth is as vibrant as its art." --Washington Post

I have two boys, they love these books. They love to talk about the friendships, I love that I am discussing all of these issues through the lives of these girls. There is something about it that's so wonderful. --NPR

"Wistful, affecting, and utterly charming." --Booklist, starred review

"A heart-stabbing tale of the everyday social agonies of girlhood." --Wall Street Journal

"Shows us the incredible kindness and solidarity that girls can and do display." --The Mary Sue

"Bound to resonate with most readers, especially fans of Raina Telgemeier." --School Library Journal, starred review

"A wonderfully observed portrait of finding one's place in your world." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Nails what it's like to navigate elementary-school friendships." --Parents Magazine

"Sure to be loved by anyone who has ever felt like an outsider." --Victoria Jamieson, New York Times-bestselling and Newbery Honor author of Roller Girl

"Fresh, fun, and achingly real. Bravo!" --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times-bestselling and Newbery Honor author and co-creator of Sunny Side Up and the Babymouse series

"This book is SO GOOD. SO MANY FEELS." --Gene Luen Yang, American Born Chinese



About The Author



Shannon Hale is the bestselling author of many books, including Real Friends, the Ever After High series, and Princess Academy. With her husband Dean Hale she co-wrote Rapunzel's Revenge, Calamity Jack, the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl series, and The Princess in Black series. They live with their four children near Salt Lake City, Utah.

LeUyen Pham is the bestselling illustrator of Real Friends and The Princess in Black series. She wrote and illustrated Big Sister, Little Sister and The Bear Who Wasn't There. She has illustrated many other picture books, including The Boy Who Loved Math. She lives and works in Los Angeles with her husband and her two adorable sons.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Wed, Aug 4 with free 2-day shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 0.21 inches width x 1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars with 5 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.