Cole & Mason Mortar and Pestle Gray - image 1 of 4Cole & Mason Mortar and Pestle Gray - image 2 of 4Cole & Mason Mortar and Pestle Gray - image 3 of 4Cole & Mason Mortar and Pestle Gray - image 4 of 4
Cole & Mason Mortar and Pestle Gray - image 1 of 4
$24.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Before using, season the mortar with white rice, followed by garlic then cumin with salt and pepper
  • Unpolished mortar interior and pestle tip for effective grinding
  • Solid Granite mortar and pestle allows for quickly crushing spices, herbs and more
  • Rinse with warm water and air dry, do not use soap
  • Gray color coordinates with your kitchen decor

Specifications

Weight: 4.08 Pounds

Piece 1 Dimensions: 5.12 Inches (L) x 1 Inches (W)

Piece 2: 5.12 Inches (L) x 5.12 Inches (W) x 3.15 Inches (H) x 5.12 Inches (D)

Capacity (Volume): 8 Ounces

Material: Granite

Care & Cleaning: Spot or Wipe Clean

TCIN: 53440304
UPC: 054067111834
Item Number (DPCI): 070-05-4896
Origin: Imported

Description

Whether you’re honing your guacamole-making craft or simply love an authentic display for your savory appetizers, the Mortar and Pestle from Cole & Mason preps and serves your dips, dressings and sauces in classy, culinary style. A granite construction makes it easy for you to crush herbs and spices for flavorful pesto sauce or hummus, while the gray color seamlessly blends with the rest of your kitchen décor. Whether you treat it as a molcajete or use it to craft your own spice blends, this mortar and pestle set is a fine companion in your journey to culinary prowess.

Cole and Mason's Granite Mortar & Pestle is not only attractive but also hard wearing and will stand the test of time. Made completely of durable granite, this mortar and pestle is heavy, balanced and can withstand the pounding and grinding necessary to extract the most flavor out of herbs and spices. And since granite is non-porous, spices and oils will not be absorbed into the stone so they obtain their true flavor and strength. The choice of herbs and spices available today brings bold new flavors and colors into the kitchen. To help food lovers get the most from these ingredients, Cole and Mason offers a wide range of herb and spice items. Cole & Mason, part of the DKB Group, has been designing and developing kitchenware from its head office in England for almost a century. It has a well-established salt and pepper range, with a product for every job, from cooking to serving and eating, including manual and electronic mills, simple shakers and salt pigs (salt keepers), all manufactured with the highest quality materials and available in a wide choice of finishes.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 6.25 inches length x 6 inches width x 5.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 4.58 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: How long is the pestle?

submitted by NN - 1 year ago
  • A: The pestle is 5.1 inches

    submitted byDKB Household - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: What’s best way to season it?

submitted by DC - 1 year ago
  • A: When you first get your set, you might notice some loose grit particles. To prevent these from ending up in your food, you can place a small handful of white rice in the mortar, add a tablespoon of water, and grind the mixture into a paste. Work the rice paste around every inner surface of the mortar. Rinse and repeat a few times until there is no longer any loose debris.

    submitted byDKB Household - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is it Cooked white rice or dry rice?

submitted by Suzy - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi, you'll want to use dry rice. Thank you

    submitted byDKB Household - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does it need to be seasoned?

submitted by menumom - 2 years ago
  • A: It doesn't hurt to have the mortar and pestle seasoned brand new. Make sure you clean without soap and just wipe clean.

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: what are its dimensions

submitted by John - 2 years ago
  • A: Depth: 5.12 Height: 3.15 Width: 5.12

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does the mortar and pestle work on nuts?

submitted by Kitty - 2 years ago
  • A: If you put enough force, then yes!

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: I noticed someone said it should not be washed with soap, why?

submitted by TR74 - 2 years ago
  • A: Because Soap will leave a residue that will affect the next time you use it. Best to just use water and air dry.

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How much does it weigh?

submitted by Mom - 2 years ago
  • A: 4.08 Pounds

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the size of the grinding area in cups?

submitted by A - 2 years ago
  • A: A little over 2 cups.

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is the inner part abrasive and rough?

submitted by Omiii - 2 years ago
  • A: The inner part of the bowl is not smooth.

    submitted byCole & Mason - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
4.7 out of 5 stars with 192 reviews
96% would recommend
62 recommendations
easy to clean: 4.77 out of 5
ease of use: 4.87 out of 5
value: 4.81 out of 5
quality: 4.87 out of 5

Every home needs one

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
AllweknowisTarget - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is just what I was looking for! Worked amazing to make a Garlic paste for a recipe I was making. Doing the garlic this way added so much flavor to the dish! Highly recommend
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great quality but a bit small

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Adam S - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
I have purchased this for myself and as gifts for others. It is nice and solid while being fairly easy to store. The only downside is it is a bit small and can't make large quantities of things like pesto or chile pastes
Did you find this review helpful?

Handy Tool

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Galina - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
A handy tool in the kitchen to grind small amounts of spices when a blender is not the best option. I love it. It is heavy enough to grind and at the same time light enough to kerp it in the kitchen counter.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
LL - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
This item is amazing no dislikes
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Heavy duty, solid, great quality

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Happy customer - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is a nice heavy solid set. If you weren’t sure take this as your sign to buy it! Also it’s a lot cheaper than most places I’ve seen it currently.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Bought to mash up food for my 9 month old

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Mlynn - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
Its perfect! Its great quality, heavy, durable. Mashed up everything with ease.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great Quality

5 out of 5 stars
Emily - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
I love the weight, look and feel of my new molcajete. It does require conditioning as do all new mortar and pestles and I couldn’t be happier with it.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Very nice product, make your cooking life simple

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Donna - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
I like the style, it’s not too heavy, it works wonder, I like it since making garlic spread so easy , save so much time . First use, you need to clean it good
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Perfect for spices but small

5 out of 5 stars
Alew - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Perfect for spices but way smaller than some of the other pictures would have you believe
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
12 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disapointed

2 out of 5 stars
Shelbi - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This set is so nice but I was really disappointed that the pieces were 2 different colors. Makes me worried the next set I get will also be inconsistent.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love it!

5 out of 5 stars
Mandy - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
I used this at home to grind some steel cut oats to make a face mask. It worked wonderfully and cleaned beautifully without leaving any residual waste behind. It also looks beautiful, and you can't beat this price.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

great quality

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Mercy77 - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
perfect heaviness, price, quality. it's a bit small but perfect for a small family.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fiance likes it!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Ellie - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this for my fiancé a couple months ago and he really likes it. It’s sturdy, easy to clean, and works well. Not too bad for the price!
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Nice quality

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
- 1 year ago
Great stone and finish. Good weight to both pieces and I will be able to use it for grinding herbs, as well as making guacamole, and other mixes.
value: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Good quality

4 out of 5 stars
Pj - 1 year ago
I bought this to crush my pets medicine. The inside is rough and causes the crushed pills to stick only reason a did not give it 5 stars
ease of use: 3 out of 5
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not bad

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
shopaholic - 1 year ago
It works well but be sure to wash it a few times before use!!
easy to clean: 3 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
ease of use: 4 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing quality

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
katefost - 1 year ago
Seriously!? I added this on my order on a whim to get to the $35 minimum to ship another item. This was beyond what I was expecting for the price point! Incredible quality.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Excellent Product

5 out of 5 stars
TC - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Able to easily grind my Flax Seeds to an edible powder. Easy to clean
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great buy if you're looking for a pestle and mortar.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
GoodVibesBibes - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This pestle and mortar is extremely heavy duty and made to last for many years to come. It's very heavy and looks fantastic.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great product!

5 out of 5 stars
DR - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Muddler is awesome for mint leaves, spices, is an asset to cooking and making drinks! So glad Target carries such a great product!
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads