Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Earth Balance Original Natural Buttery Spread - 15oz

Earth Balance Original Natural Buttery Spread - 15oz - image 1 of 4
Earth Balance Original Natural Buttery Spread - 15oz - image 2 of 4
Earth Balance Original Natural Buttery Spread - 15oz - image 3 of 4
Earth Balance Original Natural Buttery Spread - 15oz - image 4 of 4
Earth Balance Original Natural Buttery Spread - 15oz - image 1 of 4
$5.29 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • One 15 oz tub of Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread
  • Vegan butter alternative with delicious buttery flavor that is suitable for plant-based diets
  • Use as a butter substitute in your cooking and baking supplies for all your kitchen needs
  • Earth Balance soy free vegetable oil spread is delicious on toast, bread rolls, vegetables and more
  • This margarine spread substitute can be used in place of spreadable butter for any occasion

Description

Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread is a butter alternative that offers all the deliciousness of butter without the dairy. This margarine spread substitute supports healthy cholesterol levels* when used as part of a healthy diet that is low in saturated fat and that includes exercise and other physical activity. It's a non dairy butter substitute that is gluten free and made with no hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated oils, and it contains 60% less saturated fat than butter per serving. This spreadable butter alternative is easy to use on all of your favorite foods. Use this butter spread substitute in anything you cook or bake. It's delicious on toast, hot muffins, vegetables and more. This buttery spread comes in a 15 ounce vegan butter tub.
*See nutrition information for fat and saturated fat.

Serving Size: 1 Tbsp

Serving Per Container: about 30

Amount Amount/serving:

Calories: 100
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 11g14%
Saturated Fat 3g15%
Trans Fat 0g
Polyunsaturated Fat 2g
Monounsaturated Fat 5g
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 105mg5%
Total Carbohydrate 0g0%
Dietary Fiber 0g0%
Sugars 0g
Added Sugars 0g0%
Protein 0g
Vitamin D 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 0%
Potassium 0%
* Percentage of Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Ingredients:

vegetable oil blend (palm oil, canola oil, soybean oil, flaxseed oil), water, less than 2% of: salt, natural flavor, pea protein isolate, sunflower lecithin, olive oil, lactic acid, annatto extract (color).
Contains: Soy
May Contain: Tree Nuts, Fish, Peanuts
State of Readiness: Ready to Eat
Form: Spread
Dietary Needs: Organic Certified
Package Quantity: 1
Milk source: Plant Oil
Net weight: 15 Ounces
TCIN: 13473877
UPC: 033776011703
Item Number (DPCI): 284-13-0030
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
Grocery Disclaimer:
Content on this site is for reference purposes only. Target does not represent or warrant that the nutrition, ingredient, allergen and other product information on our Web or Mobile sites are accurate or complete, since this information comes from the product manufacturers. On occasion, manufacturers may improve or change their product formulas and update their labels. We recommend that you do not rely solely on the information presented on our Web or Mobile sites and that you review the product's label or contact the manufacturer directly if you have specific product concerns or questions. If you have specific healthcare concerns or questions about the products displayed, please contact your licensed healthcare professional for advice or answers. Any additional pictures are suggested servings only.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 3.95 inches length x 3.95 inches width x 3.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.017 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Is this Dairy/Milk free?

submitted by Cheers221 - 1 month ago
  • A: Hi there. Thanks for your interest in our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. This product does not contain dairy/milk. Since dairy/milk is one of the top allergens we list on our product, it would be listed in the ingredients and in a contain/may contain statement if in the product. Here are the ingredients for this product (UPC 3377601170): Ingredients: VEGETABLE OIL BLEND (PALM OIL, CANOLA OIL, SOYBEAN OIL, FLAXSEED OIL), WATER, LESS THAN 2% OF: SALT, NATURAL FLAVOR, PEA PROTEIN ISOLATE, SUNFLOWER LECITHIN, OLIVE OIL, LACTIC ACID, ANNATTO EXTRACT (COLOR). We hope this is helpful. Have a great day!

    submitted byEarth Balance Consumer Care - 26 days ago
    Brand expert
3.3 out of 5 stars with 325 reviews
81% would recommend
16 recommendations
value: 4.55 out of 5
taste: 4.33 out of 5
quality: 4.64 out of 5

The worst

1 out of 5 stars
Joma - 27 days ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
There is nothing that could be done to ever get me to try or buy this awful tasting product again! Buttery flavor not even a hint in that direction! Many better products out there and healthier as well.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 26 days ago
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We're sorry you were disappointed with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. We'll be sure to share your experience with our team. We sincerely hope you will give us another try and share your thoughts on our other offerings. Have a wonderful day.
Did you find this review helpful?

Sometimes great, sometimes disgusting. Why?

1 out of 5 stars
CVeg - 27 days ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
This product is hit or miss. Sometimes it tastes great and sometimes it tastes terrible like it's rancid. Our batch now is the rancid tasting one. Very disheartening. I need to look for another brand.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 25 days ago
Hi there - We're very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent purchase of our Original Buttery Spread! We take the quality of our products very seriously and would like to gather some additional information from you. Please give us a call at 800-242-6200 with reference #06740393 so we can assist you.
Did you find this review helpful?

Will Stop Buying This Product

1 out of 5 stars
JKT22042 - 28 days ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
For the last five months, we have noticed a taste profile that is between fishy & rancid. We suspect the formulation has been changed from the original. It should no longer be labeled original.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 26 days ago
Hi there - We're sorry that you were disappointed with your recent purchase of our Original Earth Balance and will be sure to pass your comments along to our team. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Did you find this review helpful?

Dislike new flavor

1 out of 5 stars
Hilary c - 29 days ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
Whatever they have done to change the flavor is terrible. It smells and tastes bad, and ruins macaroni and cheese for my kids even with just a tablespoon mixed in. Time to find another spread.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 26 days ago
Hi Hilary. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We're sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We'll take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve our products. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to regain your trust in the future. Have a nice day.
Did you find this review helpful?

Tastes bad & we’re sad.

1 out of 5 stars
KPenguin - 1 month ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
Please, please, please bring back the old recipe for the Earth Balance Spread! I bought several tubs with different lot numbers b/c of thought I got a bad batch. All of them tasted bad. We’ve been eating it for over a decade b/c my daughter is allergic to dairy. She misses it. Fix this because many devoted customers have left the brand.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 27 days ago
Hi. Thanks so much for your review. It's really helpful to us. We understand how disappointing it can be when a favorite product is no longer the same. We'll have this feedback shared with our team. We understand the importance of your concern and assure you that we’ll explore the best possible solutions to address this matter. Thanks again for reaching out to us.
Did you find this review helpful?

Hideous, rancid-tasting new formula!

1 out of 5 stars
San Jose ex-customer - 1 month ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
The new formula is HIDEOUS. I've been using Earth Brand for at least a decade, and always used to love it and slather it on everything -- but today I threw out the 4th tub in a month, as each one tasted rancid and chemical-y and nothing like the original recipe. (NOTE: I purchased from three different grocery stores -- Whole Foods, Safeway, and a local independent -- just to see if the changed taste was somehow due to the way it was stored, but it was the same result each time so I realized it has to be a new formula.) Earth Balance used to be the best butter substitute on the market but now it has such a weird taste that I will never waste another penny on it -- and I'm searching for a new product. I hope you fire whatever wizard decided to tinker with the formula to save ConAgra some $.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 1 month ago
We appreciate your loyalty and are sorry that you had this experience with our Buttery Spread. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?

Earth Balance butter tastes awful!!

1 out of 5 stars
Jas1975 - 1 month ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
What is going on?? The butter is tasting terrible lately! I thought it had gone bad It tastes and smells sour and awful Please please review your recipe as something has gone wrong!
1 reply from Customer Care team - 1 month ago
Hi there - We're sorry that you were disappointed with your recent purchases of our Original Buttery Spread and will pass your comments along to our team. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Did you find this review helpful?

My butter

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Jalee - 1 month ago
Today is my first time using the product because I have been using to much butter. I find it very delicious. I will definitely buy it again
quality: 5 out of 5
taste: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Amazing butter substitute with NO coconut!

5 out of 5 stars
Saeph - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
This is the LAST vegan butter product on the market that doesn’t have coconut in it. And it tastes great. Sorry to the celiacs and environmentalist palm oil activists, but this spread tastes great, behaves like butter in baking and thank goodness, has NO coconut! Only vegan butter a kid allergic to both dairy and coconut can eat.
Did you find this review helpful?

Tastes Rancid!

1 out of 5 stars
SueK - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
Thought it was just a bad batch and kept giving it another chance over the last few months. No more. This new flavor change is rancid. I plan to tell my local small grocery about the change so they don't think that there are less vegans shopping there based on the Earth Balance spread piling up on the shelf. This stuff should be pulled. It is disgusting. We've been using for over a decade, but my trust of the brand has now plummeted.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We're sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we'll definitely look into improving the recipe. We appreciate your honesty and hope to win back your trust with future visits. We'll make sure this is shared with the appropriate team. Thanks again for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?

Bad changes!

1 out of 5 stars
Josie - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
I've used Earth Balance happily for almost 20 years. Like many other reviewers here, I noticed a change a couple of months ago. The flavor is gone and the product is watery. As someone else said, it is ruining meals! Please hear your customers and reinstate the recipe that had been in use.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
We appreciate your loyalty and are so sorry that you were disappointed with our original butter spread. We take the quality of our ingredients & your comments very seriously. Thank you for leaving your review and we hope that you’ll give us another try.
Did you find this review helpful?

Longtime User NO MORE, so sad

1 out of 5 stars
Mimimama - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
I came to this webpage hoping to see some comments about the return of the original recipe since we have not purchased this product for months now. Our family has been using this since my now 23 year old daughter was little due to a dairy allergy. HOWEVER, it now tastes sour and is off putting. Really truly inedible. We have switched to an entirely different brand and although we do not like it, it does not leave a disgusting aftertaste, have a rancid smell and ruin meals. I hope that the CORRECT receipt will be restored and HIGHLY recommend the company openly promote the return of the original recipe so the many thousands who have left this brand will know. I think I can speak for most customers and say increase the price if you must but fix it, this is inedible.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
Hi there. Thanks for being a loyal fan all these years and for reaching out to us with your feedback. We're sorry you are disappointed with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. We'll be sure to share your experience with our team. We sincerely hope you will give us another try and share your thoughts on our other offerings. Have a wonderful day.
Did you find this review helpful?

Recipe changed for the worst. How is this good?

1 out of 5 stars
scritch - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
I thought it was me, but others agree. Within the last few months Earth Balance tastes different in a bad way. Leaves an unpleasant aftertaste whereas previously it was wonderful. I'm not going to buy any more.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
Hi there. Thank you for your review. We regret that this time our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread, fell short for you. We'll make sure this is shared with our team. We hope you'll give us another chance and try some of our other products. Have a great day.
Did you find this review helpful?

Best to Worst in 1 Recipe Change

1 out of 5 stars
pdx_df - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
I've been a fan of EB for 15+ years and have recommended it to everyone looking for a butter alternative. As a person with a dairy allergy, it has been a staple in my fridge. About a month ago, the product began tasting and smelling sour/off. We thought refrigeration had failed somewhere in the distribution chain and it went bad. Multiple tubs from different stores have now all tasted the same. Coming online and finding out this was a recipe change is devastating. I truly hope the company changes back because the sour notes it hits are off-putting and I'm sourcing something else moving forward.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We're sorry you haven't been happy with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread lately, and we'll make sure your voice is heard! We know it can be frustrating to not get what you were expecting, and we take comments like this seriously. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us. Have a great day!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Can I say it “sucks?!”

1 out of 5 stars
Better Taste - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
Read the reviews before you buy! Conagra is as arrogant as it gets. What low regard they must have for their consumers to not only surreptitiously change their recipe — but make it so bad awful that people compare Earth Balance to rancid fish! In my case I actually thought I was poisoned! I cannot believe that a muti-billion dollar company like this one did any focus study groups. What were they thinking?!! Hey Conagra - you didn’t just kill the taste, you killed your brand!!!
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
We’re so sorry that you had this experience with our buttery spread. We take the quality of our ingredients & your comments very seriously. Thank you for leaving your review and we hope that you’ll give us another try.
Did you find this review helpful?

Was the best, now is the worst

1 out of 5 stars
Bob28 - 2 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
My family and I have used this product for over 20 years. It was my fave, but something changed recently. Not sure exactly when we noticed but there must have been a recipe change. There is even a reddit thread confirming we are not alone in finding the change quite gross and disappointing. Will the company consider returning the product to its former delicious glory?
1 reply from Customer Care team - 1 month ago
Hi there. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that you're disappointed with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. We're always looking for ways to improve, so we'll definitely take your comments into consideration for future adjustments. We appreciate your support and hope you continue to enjoy our products. We hope you have a great day.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

New formula? Tastes like mayo thats gone bad

1 out of 5 stars
- 3 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
I've used earth balance in the past and it tasted very much like butter. Well, I was making sandwiches for my family and I made myself toast and topped it with earth balance. First bite, I spit it out because I thought I'd mindlessly put mayo my toast instead of earth balance when I was making my kids sandwiches! To top it off I thought my mayo had gone bad. But nope, it was the earth balance that tastes like mayo that's gone bad. I checked to see if I purchased an expired tub but that wasn't the issue. I guess the formula has been changed. What a waste of money!
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
Hi there - We appreciate your loyalty and are sorry you had this experience with our buttery spread, but we hope that you'll give some of our other items a try -- we're confident that you'll find a favorite! Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

New formula, tastes gross!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Eve - 3 months ago
I've purchased this before and it tasted very much like butter. Well, I was making sandwiches for my family and I made myself toast and topped it with earth balance. First bite,I spit it out because I thought I'd mindlessly put mayo on my toast instead of earth balance. To top it off I thought my mayo had gone bad. But nope, it was the earth balance that tastes like mayo that's gone bad!
1 reply from Earth Balance Consumer Care team - 3 months ago
Hi. Thanks for reaching out to us. We're sorry you had an experience like that with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. We'll make sure to inform our team about your feedback. Thanks again for your review.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Changed recipe is disgusting

1 out of 5 stars
Becca - 3 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
Eww, this used to be our go to and only spread we bought, will not continue to purchase it is so gross now! Please change it back and make it clear you did so we’ll want to rebuy!
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
Hi. Thanks for reaching out to us. We're sorry you had an experience like that with our Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread. We'll make sure to inform our team about your feedback. Thanks again for your review.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Staple

5 out of 5 stars
bunnyg - 3 months ago
originally posted on earthbalancenatural.com
Best vegan spread on the market. I go through two tubs a month.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads