EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

House of Marionne - by  J Elle (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
House of Marionne - by  J Elle (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$11.37 when purchased online

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



"Full of magic and intrigue, House of Marionne is the perfect escape for fans of fantasies that straddle the edge of our world and transport readers to dazzling, deceptive, and unexpected places." - Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Ballad of Never After

From New York Times bestselling author J. Elle comes a modern-day YA romantic fantasy series opener about a glamorous magical world of social elites, forbidden love, and a dark magic that could destroy it all.

A must-read for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and Bridgerton.

BURY YOUR SECRET OR DIE FOR IT.

17 year-old Quell has lived her entire life on the run. She and her mother have fled from city to city, in order to hide the deadly magic that flows through Quell's veins.

Until someone discovers her dark secret.

To hide from the assassin hunting her, and keep her mother out of harm's way, Quell reluctantly inducts into a debutante society of magical social elites called the Order that she never knew existed. If she can pass their three rites of membership, mastering their proper form of magic, she'll be able to secretly bury her forbidden magic forever.

If caught, she will be killed.

But becoming the perfect debutante is a lot harder than Quell imagined, especially when there's more than tutoring happening with Jordan, her brooding mentor and-- assassin in training.

When Quell uncovers the deadly lengths the Order will go to defend its wealth and power, she's forced to choose: embrace the dark magic she's been running from her entire life or risk losing everything, and everyone, she's grown to love.

Still, she fears the most formidable monster she'll have to face is the one inside.

Brimming with ballgowns and betrayal, magic and mystery, decadence and darkness, House of Marionne is perfect for readers who crave morally gray characters, irresistible romance, dark academia, and a deeply intoxicating and original world.



Review Quotes




"Full of magic and intrigue, House of Marionne is perfect escape for fans of fantasies that straddle the edge of our world and transport readers to dazzling, deceptive, and unexpected places." --Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Ballad of Never After

"A sweeping fantasy brimming with magic, secrets, and romance. House of Marionne gripped me from the first page, and never let go. An enchanting, mesmerizing gem of a book you don't want to miss." --Alex Aster, #1 New York Times Best Selling author of Lightlark

"With House of Marionne, J.Elle lures you through a portal and into an elaborate, enthralling world of magic and monsters and mayhem, where the twists and turns take you--and her characters--places you never expected to go." --Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the An Ember in the Ashes series

"House of Marionne is a captivating contemporary fantasy that's sure to enchant readers from the start. Perfect for fans of magical boarding schools, dark secrets, and books with glittering atmosphere." --Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"House of Marionne is both a page-turner and a story that takes its time to build a rich, magical world and sympathetic characters. I held my breath from page one. J. Elle has outdone herself." --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series

"House of Marionne is bloodthirsty, magical, and an absolute blast. Once you're inside its glittering world of dangerous deals and wonderfully tactile magic, you won't want to leave." --Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of the Hazel Wood series

"Inventive, evocative, and epic. House of Marionne is a dazzling magical thrill ride." --Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"House of Marionne is one of the most original fantasies I've ever read. J. Elle has created a lush and beautifully romantic world that is as magical as it is dangerous." --Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sun is Also a Star

"From the first page, House of Marionne feels like stepping into an intoxicating dream of magic, beauty, and shadowy secrets, one that's as dazzling as it is imaginative. With a must-read blend of romance, loveable characters, and suspense, this story is a glittering triumph." --Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Lore

"An absolute delight. House of Marionne is the book I always looked for and never found as a young Black girl. Elle crafts a series opener that interweaves sparkling romance, dynamic characters, and a bracing plot to tell a story that is both vivid and heartfelt." --Ayana Gray, New York Times-bestselling author of the Beasts of Prey trilogy

"House of Marionne glitters with magic, deception, and betrayal. Readers will be swept away by Elle's glamorous world in this enchanting series opener." --Rachel Griffin, New York Times bestselling author of The Nature of Witches



About the Author



J. Elle is the New York Times bestselling author of young adult and middle-grade fantasy fiction and a 2022 NAACP Image Award Nominee for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth and Teens. The former educator credits her nomadic lifestyle and humble inner-city beginnings as inspiration for her novels. When she's not writing, Elle can be found on the hunt for desserts without chocolate, looking for any excuse to get dressed up, and road-tripping her way across the country with her two dogs in tow.
Dimensions (Overall): 9.0 (H) x 6.0 (W) x 1.0 (D)
Weight: 1.39
Suggested Age: 14 Years
Number of Pages: 432
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Razorbill
Format: Hardcover
Author: J Elle
Theme: Contemporary
Language: English
Street Date: August 29, 2023
TCIN: 88165712
UPC: 9780593527702
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-9630
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.39 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
3.3 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews
33% would recommend
3 recommendations

magical YA fantasy

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
bostieslovebooks - 4 months ago
Spending her life on the run to hide her dark magic, Quell joins a debutant society to avoid an assassin that’s after her. If she can pass their membership rites, she can hide her secret forever. If not, she will die. HOUSE OF MARIONNE was filled with magic, dark academia, and action, making for an interesting YA fantasy read. While I enjoyed the world building, I wished there had been more character development. The pacing was a bit uneven at times, though I didn’t have trouble keeping interest overall once I got over the initial hump at the beginning of figuring out what was going on. Quell’s plight had me turning pages to see how she would fare. HOUSE OF MARIONNE is the first book of J. Elle’s House of Marionne series. I’d continue reading addition books in the series as they are released. I’d recommend this to fans of YA fantasy/romance.
Did you find this review helpful?

Fell short for me

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
lurkykitty - 4 months ago
I really liked J. Elle's Wings of Ebony duology so was eagerly anticipating House of Marionne. Unfortunately, this book fell short for me. The story follows Quell who has lived her whole life on the run with her mom, trying to hide the dangerous, forbidden magic she possesses. The beginning started strong with Quell on the run from mysterious enemies. She seeks shelter in the magic school run by her grandmother, at which point, the pacing slows right down. There seems to be a plethora of tropes accompanied by a paucity of world building. I spent much of the time hoping the magic system would be explained rather than there being such a focus on the romance. The pace and suspense picked up in the last quarter of the book, but the reader was left with many questions. House of Marionne had great potential and a lot of creative ideas, but I am not motivated to pick up the sequel.
Did you find this review helpful?

MEH. Not great, not the worst.

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
krissiiib - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
This book kept my attention long enough to finish it, but was I enraptured? No. I had no problem walking away from this book, and that’s not a good sign as someone with ADHD who typically hyper focuses if the book is good. Felt very young, the idea has been done before. I’d pass on this.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads