Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Not A Sound - By Heather Gudenkauf ( Paperback )

Not A Sound - By Heather Gudenkauf ( Paperback ) - image 1 of 1
Not A Sound - By Heather Gudenkauf ( Paperback ) - image 1 of 1
$11.66 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



When she discovers the body of a fellow nurse deep in the woods near her cabin, Amelia Winn, who lost her hearing in an accident two years earlier, is plunged into a mystery that could shatter her carefully reconstructed life.



Book Synopsis



"[Not a Sound] kept me reading till the birds started chirping. -The Washington Post

A shocking discovery and chilling secrets converge in this gripping novel from New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf

When a tragic accident leaves nurse Amelia Winn deaf, she ends up losing everything that matters--her job, her husband, David, and her stepdaughter, Nora. Now, two years later and with the help of her hearing dog, Stitch, she is finally getting back on her feet. But when she discovers the body of a fellow nurse in the dense bush near her cabin, she is plunged into a mystery that could shatter the carefully reconstructed pieces of her life all over again.

As clues begin to surface, Amelia finds herself swept into an investigation that hits all too close to home. But how much is she willing to risk in order to uncover the truth and bring a killer to justice? New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf has been described as masterful and intelligent and compared to Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult. In this taut and emotional thriller, she proves yet again that she's at the top of her class.

Looking for a thriller to keep you at the edge of your seat? Check out these other riveting suspense novels from Heather Gudenkauf:
The Weight of Silence
Missing Pieces
Before She Was Found
This Is How I Lied



Review Quotes



Heather Gudenkauf is one of my favorite new authors, and NOT A SOUND explains why. You won't be able to put down this breathless story of a young nurse, Amelia Winn, who has lost everything after a tragic accident - her nursing career, her husband, her stepdaughter, and even her hearing. You'll root for Amelia as she battles to reclaim her life and even fights to get justice for a friend of hers, a nurse who was brutally murdered. NOT A SOUND is not only a riveting thriller, but it's a moving portrait of a woman who is stronger than she ever believed possible, against all odds. -Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author

[A] moving thriller... Gudenkauf maximizes tension all the way through the literally cliff-hanging finale. -Publishers Weekly, starred review

Gudenkauf has created a memorable character in Amelia. Self-deprecating and sometimes angry, her candid voice is a breath of fresh air and an antidote to traditional thriller heroines. In addition, she is self-reliant and strong. The plot contains some clever twists, and the final showdown crackles with tension. It's hard not to root for Amelia and Stitch; flawed as they are, they're tough, engaging fighters. Come for the mystery; stay for the taut suspense, the unique heroine-and of course, the ugly, loyal dog. -Kirkus Reviews

Heather Gudenkauf has created a special thriller with a unique and brilliantly effective hook that I simply could not put down. Not a Sound gripped me and held me tight until the very last page-and I'm still shivering. -C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Vicious Circle

Twisting, atmospheric and dark, Heather Gudenkauf's NOT A SOUND will draw you right into the silent world of Amelia Winn and keep you riveted. This is a thrill ride to be sure, but it's also a gripping tale of tragedy and redemption. If you haven't read Heather Gudenkauf yet, now's the time. -Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of THE RED HUNTER

When was the last time you stayed up late because you just had to finish a thriller? [Not a Sound] kept me reading till the birds started chirping. -The Washington Post

Heather Gudenkauf has written a spell-binding thriller which reminds us just how strong the human spirit can be, and yet how fragile life is. -Suspense magazine

[Heather Gudenakuf is] rendering some of the most compelling and likable female characters in print today... Recommended for all fans of psychological suspense, particularly those who enjoy Jennifer McMahon and Jodi Picoult. -Booklist

A fast-paced... suspense novel that will appeal to fans of Joy Fielding and Jenny Milchman. -Library Journal

Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inch (W) x 1.1 Inch (D)
Weight: .65 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 345
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Language: English
Street Date: May 30, 2017
TCIN: 51994972
UPC: 9780778319955
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6383
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 6 inches length x 1 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Good thriller!

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ks924 - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
I thought this was a really good light thriller book! Definitely kept me on my toes! I love that the author is from lowa, & the book setting also takes place in lowa. The details in the very beginning of the book were almost a little too detailed-like I was getting too lost in the words, but then things seemed to straighten out a little better & it made me feel like I was actually walking beside Amelia as an unseen observer, the entire time. The author goes into great detail with making the reader get an insight to really feeling exactly what it's like facing some of the challenges of being deaf. Amelia is one tough & stubborn cookie! And her dog Stitch- goodest boy, just loved him! All in all, I'd recommend the book. And will also be reading more from this author, as l've seen great reviews on her newest book!
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy