Loading, please wait...

Not a Sound - by Heather Gudenkauf (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inch (W) x 1.1 Inch (D)

Weight: .65 Pounds

Number of Pages: 345

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Thrillers

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Harlequin Books

Author: Heather Gudenkauf

Age Range: Adult

Language: English

Street Date: May 30, 2017
TCIN: 51994972
UPC: 9780778319955
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6383
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



When she discovers the body of a fellow nurse deep in the woods near her cabin, Amelia Winn, who lost her hearing in an accident two years earlier, is plunged into a mystery that could shatter her carefully reconstructed life.



Book Synopsis



"[Not a Sound] kept me reading till the birds started chirping. -The Washington Post

A shocking discovery and chilling secrets converge in this gripping novel from New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf

When a tragic accident leaves nurse Amelia Winn deaf, she ends up losing everything that matters--her job, her husband, David, and her stepdaughter, Nora. Now, two years later and with the help of her hearing dog, Stitch, she is finally getting back on her feet. But when she discovers the body of a fellow nurse in the dense bush near her cabin, she is plunged into a mystery that could shatter the carefully reconstructed pieces of her life all over again.

As clues begin to surface, Amelia finds herself swept into an investigation that hits all too close to home. But how much is she willing to risk in order to uncover the truth and bring a killer to justice? New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf has been described as masterful and intelligent and compared to Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult. In this taut and emotional thriller, she proves yet again that she's at the top of her class.

Looking for a thriller to keep you at the edge of your seat? Check out these other riveting suspense novels from Heather Gudenkauf:
The Weight of Silence
Missing Pieces
Before She Was Found
This Is How I Lied



Review Quotes



Heather Gudenkauf is one of my favorite new authors, and NOT A SOUND explains why. You won't be able to put down this breathless story of a young nurse, Amelia Winn, who has lost everything after a tragic accident - her nursing career, her husband, her stepdaughter, and even her hearing. You'll root for Amelia as she battles to reclaim her life and even fights to get justice for a friend of hers, a nurse who was brutally murdered. NOT A SOUND is not only a riveting thriller, but it's a moving portrait of a woman who is stronger than she ever believed possible, against all odds. -Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author

[A] moving thriller... Gudenkauf maximizes tension all the way through the literally cliff-hanging finale. -Publishers Weekly, starred review

Gudenkauf has created a memorable character in Amelia. Self-deprecating and sometimes angry, her candid voice is a breath of fresh air and an antidote to traditional thriller heroines. In addition, she is self-reliant and strong. The plot contains some clever twists, and the final showdown crackles with tension. It's hard not to root for Amelia and Stitch; flawed as they are, they're tough, engaging fighters. Come for the mystery; stay for the taut suspense, the unique heroine-and of course, the ugly, loyal dog. -Kirkus Reviews

Heather Gudenkauf has created a special thriller with a unique and brilliantly effective hook that I simply could not put down. Not a Sound gripped me and held me tight until the very last page-and I'm still shivering. -C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Vicious Circle

Twisting, atmospheric and dark, Heather Gudenkauf's NOT A SOUND will draw you right into the silent world of Amelia Winn and keep you riveted. This is a thrill ride to be sure, but it's also a gripping tale of tragedy and redemption. If you haven't read Heather Gudenkauf yet, now's the time. -Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of THE RED HUNTER

When was the last time you stayed up late because you just had to finish a thriller? [Not a Sound] kept me reading till the birds started chirping. -The Washington Post

Heather Gudenkauf has written a spell-binding thriller which reminds us just how strong the human spirit can be, and yet how fragile life is. -Suspense magazine

[Heather Gudenakuf is] rendering some of the most compelling and likable female characters in print today... Recommended for all fans of psychological suspense, particularly those who enjoy Jennifer McMahon and Jodi Picoult. -Booklist

A fast-paced... suspense novel that will appeal to fans of Joy Fielding and Jenny Milchman. -Library Journal

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 6 inches length x 1 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.