Loading, please wait...

The Book Charmer - by Karen Hawkins (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.3 Inch (W) x 1 Inch (D)

Weight: .65 Pounds

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Women

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Gallery Books

Author: Karen Hawkins

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: General

Language: English

Street Date: July 30, 2019
TCIN: 76436993
UPC: 9781982105549
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-9182
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"A charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever"--



Book Synopsis



New York Times bestselling author Karen Hawkins crafts an unforgettable story about a sleepy Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a truly magical friendship.

Sarah Dove is no ordinary bookworm. To her, books have always been more than just objects: they live, they breathe, and sometimes they even speak. When Sarah grows up to become the librarian in her quaint Southern town of Dove Pond, her gift helps place every book in the hands of the perfect reader. Recently, however, the books have been whispering about something out of the ordinary: the arrival of a displaced city girl named Grace Wheeler.

If the books are right, Grace could be the savior that Dove Pond desperately needs. The problem is, Grace wants little to do with the town or its quirky residents--Sarah chief among them. It takes a bit of urging, and the help of an especially wise book, but Grace ultimately embraces the challenge to rescue her charmed new community. In her quest, she discovers the tantalizing promise of new love, the deep strength that comes from having a true friend, and the power of finding just the right book.

"A mesmerizing fusion of the mystical and the everyday" (Susan Andersen, New York Times bestselling author), The Book Charmer is a heartwarming story about the magic of books that feels more than a little magical itself. Prepare to fall under its spell.



Review Quotes



"The Book Charmer is a story about a quirky Southern borough filled with eccentric characters and bizarre happenstance which the locals label magic."-- "All About Romance"

"For readers who enjoyed The Library of Lost and Found andThe Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, ."-- "Library Journal"

"Hawkins has created a delightfully quirky town... Reminiscent of Sarah Addison Allen, Abbi Waxman, and Fannie Flagg, this is a great summer read for those who love small southern towns filled with magic."-- "Booklist"

"Set in a small Southern town filled with both extraordinary and ordinary magic, this novel sparkles with quirky, endearing characters, dialogue and setting. Fans of women's fiction will love this sometimes whimsical, often insightful, always absorbing story."-- "Shelf Awareness"

"Take a sleepy Southern town known for its barbecue, two fiercely independent women, and a truly magical friendship, and you have the elements of Karen Hawkins' latest novel... "The Book Charmer" is the first in a magical realism series that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen."-- "Augusta Chronicle"

"This heartwarming story by Hawkins ("MacLean Curse" and "Hurst Amulet" series) will delight fans of cozy romantic fiction with its quirky characters and charming small town."-- "Library Journal"
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, May 20 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.31 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.