Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls

The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls - image 1 of 1
The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls - image 1 of 1
$9.68 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.



Book Synopsis



Now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts.

MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST
The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, "nothing short of spectacular" (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world's most gifted storytellers.

The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette's brilliant and charismatic father captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn't want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.

The Glass Castle is truly astonishing--a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.



Review Quotes



"The Glass Castle is nothing short of spectacular."-- "Entertainment Weekly"

"The Glass Castle is the kind of story that keeps you awake long after the rest of the house has fallen asleep."-- "Vogue"

"Charles Dickens's scenes of poverty and hardship are no more audacious and no more provocative than those in the pages of this stunning memoir."-- "The Atlanta Journal-Constitution"

"Each memory is more incredible than the last... That Walls recounts them so well and in such detail is our good fortune."-- "The Plain Dealer"

"Extraordinary."-- "Time"

"On the eighth day, when God was handing out whining privileges, he came upon Jeannette Walls and said, 'For you, an unlimited lifetime supply.' Apparently, Walls declined His kind offer."-- "Chicago Tribune"

"Some people are born storytellers. Some lives are worth telling. The best memoirs happen when these two conditions converge. In The Glass Castle, they have."-- "New York Newsday"

"Walls has a God-given knack for spinning a yarn, and The Glass Castle is nothing short of spectacular."-- "Entertainment Weekly"

"Walls has joined the company of writers such as Mary Karr and Frank McCourt who have been able to transform their sad memories into fine art."-- "People"
Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.2 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .6 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: Biography + Autobiography
Sub-Genre: Personal Memoirs, Literary
Publisher: Scribner
Format: Paperback
Author: Jeannette Walls
Language: English
Street Date: January 9, 2006
TCIN: 11338144
UPC: 9780743247542
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-0320
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 7.75 inches length x 5.25 inches width x 0.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.55 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 12 reviews
100% would recommend
2 recommendations

Remarkable Memoir

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Shopper - 11 months ago
The remarkable memoir "The Glass Castle" by Jeannette Walls captivated my heart and mind from the very first page. With unvarnished, true, and deeply moving storytelling, the novel explores the complexities of familial connections, the strength of the human spirit, and the search for a better life. Walls' account of her unusual upbringing, which was filled with poverty and adversity, is both heartbreaking and motivational. I was captivated by her ability to discover beauty in the face of tragedy and her steadfast will to overcome adversity. I recommend this thought-provoking and emotionally intense book; it’s a moving story that will stick with readers long after it has been finished.
Did you find this review helpful?

this worked for my daughter's class project

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
soccer mom and beyond - 8 years ago
After looking everywhere I found the book that my daughter needed for school on targets website. It was easy and the price was great.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Awesome!!

5 out of 5 stars
Baltimore Betty - 13 years ago
I could not put this book down! I loved it so much I bought it for my sister as a birthday gift! Enjoy!!
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing Story

5 out of 5 stars
Happy Reader - 15 years ago
This is an amazing book. I still find it hard to believe that her story is true. What amazing children to survive their childhoods and grow up to be such determined, successful adults. Just a wonderful read that I found hard to put down. I hope she writes more books.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

A wonderful learning lesson

5 out of 5 stars
veeshe - 18 years ago
I could not put this book down.I think it is a must read for so many kids today that think they can not live and prosper without all the material trappings.Also it helped me see homeless people in a differnt light. The Walls are so inteligent and teach their kids so many life lessons.It seems the kids that had less went out to seek more on their own.I just can't stop thinking about the way Janette had to live and she became so sucessful.also she tried to understand where are parents were coming from. Should be required reading in schools.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads