Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The World of Ice & Fire ( A Song of Ice and Fire) (Hardcover) by George R. R. Martin

The World of Ice & Fire ( A Song of Ice and Fire) (Hardcover) by George R. R. Martin - image 1 of 1
The World of Ice & Fire ( A Song of Ice and Fire) (Hardcover) by George R. R. Martin - image 1 of 1
$32.40 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



THE NEVER-BEFORE-SEEN HISTORY OF WESTEROS AND THE LANDS BEYOND o WITH HUNDREDS OF PAGES OF ALL-NEW MATERIAL FROM GEORGE R. R. MARTIN
If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork-the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time-warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.
This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that's been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and LindaAntonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org-perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.
Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including
o full-color artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
o full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
o in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
o 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book
The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin's dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.



Book Synopsis



NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones--an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!

If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork--the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time--warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.

This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that's been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org--perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.

Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including

- full-color artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
- full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
- in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
- 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book

The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin's dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.



About The Author



George R. R. Martin is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of many novels, including the acclaimed series A Song of Ice and Fire--A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons--as well as Tuf Voyaging, Fevre Dream, The Armageddon Rag, Dying of the Light, Windhaven (with Lisa Tuttle), and Dreamsongs Volumes I and II. He is also the creator of The Lands of Ice and Fire, a collection of maps from A Song of Ice and Fire featuring original artwork from illustrator and cartographer Jonathan Roberts. As a writer-producer, Martin has worked on The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and various feature films and pilots that were never made. He lives with the lovely Parris in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson founded and run the popular site Westeros.org, which is the definitive source for all things George R. R. Martin.

Dimensions (Overall): 12.37 Inches (H) x 8.89 Inches (W) x 1.52 Inches (D)
Weight: 3.96 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 326
Genre: Fiction + Literature Themes
Sub-Genre: Literary Genres + Types of Novels, Action + Thrillers, Science Fiction + Fantasy
Series Title: A Song of Fire and Ice
Publisher: Bantam Dell Pub Group
Format: Hardcover
Author: George R. R. Martin
Language: English
Street Date: October 28, 2014
TCIN: 15883856
UPC: 9780553805444
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-1640
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8 inches length x 1 inches width x 10 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: What are the dimensions of the hardback copy?

submitted by Daniel - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi, Daniel! Regarding your question about the The World of Ice & Fire ( A Song of Ice and Fire) (Hardcover) by George R. R. Martin: According to this listings description the dimensions are 12.37 x 8.89 x 1.52 inches. If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact MyTGTtech at 877-698-4883 every day, between 7am-11pm CST.

    submitted byRobert - 3 years ago
    Target expert support
4.9 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

(no review title)

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
anonymous - 4 years ago
Lovely pictures and it provides so much lore and knowledge to the reader.
Did you find this review helpful?

Great read while we wait for more GOT books

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Gaby - 6 years ago, Verified purchaser
It arrived in excellent condition. The pictures are amazing. If you love GOT and can't get enough, this books is for you. It contains the history of all the main families in the GOT world.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

My husband's review:

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Kendall - 9 years ago
I haven't been reading it; I've never been able to get into the books or show, but my husband can't put the book down. He loves it. I originally got it for him to read on the plane for our upcoming trip, but our trip is next week and he's already mostly done with it! (We purchased it about a week ago) Not saying it's a short read by any means, just that it's a obvious attention grabber even to someone who doesn't read the books. It's a bit more than I care to pay for a book, but it seems to be worth it
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy