Loading, please wait...

Various Artists - Summer Of Soul (...Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (CD)

About this item


  • SUMMER OF SOUL (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) Original Motion Picture Soundtrack accompanies Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson’s directorial debut documentary SUMMER OF SOUL, which won the Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival.
  • Like the documentary, most of the audio recordings that were recorded during the 1969 Harlem Cultural Festival have not been heard for over 50 years, keeping this incredible event in America’s history lost – until now.
  • The SUMMER OF SOUL (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is a joyous musical celebration and the rediscovery of a nearly erased historical event that celebrated Black culture, pride and unity.
  • For the album, Questlove carefully selected 16 live renditions of jazz, blues, R&B, Latin, and soul classics performed over the course of The Harlem Cultural Festival in 1969 as chronicled by the film.
  • Performers include The 5th Dimension, B.B. King, Nina Simone, and Sly & The Family Stone!


Record label: Legacy

Genre: Soundtrack

Musical Artist: Various Artists

Software Format: CD

Street Date: January 28, 2022
TCIN: 85415840
UPC: 194399568729
Item Number (DPCI): 012-13-2500
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported


CD Track-listing:
1. Uptown – The Chambers Brothers
2. Why I Sing The Blues – B.B. King
3. Don’t Cha Hear Me Callin’ To Ya – The 5th Dimension
4. Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In (The Flesh Failures) – The 5th Dimension
5. My Girl – David Ruffin
6. Oh Happy Day – The Edwin Hawkins Singers
7. It’s Been A Change – The Staple Singers
8. Precious Lord, Take My Hand – The Operation Breadbasket Orchestra & Choir featuring Mahalia Jackson and Mavis Staples
9. I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Gladys Knight & The Pips
10. Watermelon Man – Mongo Santamaria
11. Together – Ray Barretto
12. Hold On, I’m Comin’ – Herbie Mann featuring Sonny Sharrock
13. Sing A Simple Song – Sly & The Family Stone
14. Everyday People – Sly & The Family Stone
15. Backlash Blues – Nina Simone
16. Are You Ready – Nina Simone
** All tracks recorded Live at the Harlem Cultural Festival June, July and August, 1969 at Mount Morris Park, Harlem, New York City “Soulsville U.S.A.”
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.4 inches length x 5.6 inches width x 4.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.22 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.