Loading, please wait...

While I Was Away - by Waka T Brown (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Sub-Genre: Family

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Multigenerational

Author: Waka T Brown

Language: English

Street Date: January 26, 2021
TCIN: 80151907
UPC: 9780063017115
Item Number (DPCI): 247-46-5267
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"When twelve-year-old Waka's parents suspect she can't understand basic Japanese, they make the drastic decision to send her to Tokyo to live for several months with her strict grandmother. Forced to say goodbye to her friends and what would have been her summer vacation, Waka is plucked from her straight-A student life in rural Kansas and flown across the globe, where she faces the culture shock of a lifetime."--Provided by publisher.



Book Synopsis



The Farewell meets Erin Entrada Kelly's Blackbird Fly in this empowering middle grade memoir from debut author Waka T. Brown, who takes readers on a journey to 1980s Japan, where she was sent as a child to reconnect to her family's roots.

When twelve-year-old Waka's parents suspect she can't understand the basic Japanese they speak to her, they make a drastic decision to send her to Tokyo to live for several months with her strict grandmother. Forced to say goodbye to her friends and what would have been her summer vacation, Waka is plucked from her straight-A-student life in rural Kansas and flown across the globe, where she faces the culture shock of a lifetime.

In Japan, Waka struggles with reading and writing in kanji, doesn't quite mesh with her complicated and distant Obaasama, and gets made fun of by the students in her Japanese public-school classes. Even though this is the country her parents came from, Waka has never felt more like an outsider.

If she's always been the "smart Japanese girl" in America but is now the "dumb foreigner" in Japan, where is home...and who will Waka be when she finds it?



Review Quotes




Brown's story is very compelling, reads like a novel, and is extremely well written. Don't miss this wonderful book.--Portland Book Review

Poignant and realistic. Today's tweens will see many similarities between [Waka's] experiences and their own. Immigrants from any culture will identify with the difficulties of negotiating a new country and school. --Booklist (starred review)

Fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Jasmine Warga will enjoy Brown's honest exploration of differences between American and Japanese culture and her sometimes bumpy journey to fit in. This memoir artfully depicts Brown's experience as a child who feels pulled between two cultures. A welcome addition to any middle grade collection.--School Library Journal

Brown's debut explores having one foot in two cultures in an age-appropriate memoir. This personal story offers readers a glimpse at Japanese and American cultural differences while stressing that what makes things different is also what makes them unique.--Publishers Weekly

[An] engaging memoir.--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Conversational and accessible. An emotional, contemplative tale of risking and growing.--Kirkus Reviews
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, Aug 5 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.85 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.