EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleLunar New YearCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

3M Extremely Strong Mounting Tape 1"x60" - image 1 of 4
3M Extremely Strong Mounting Tape 1"x60" - image 2 of 4
3M Extremely Strong Mounting Tape 1"x60" - image 3 of 4
3M Extremely Strong Mounting Tape 1"x60" - image 4 of 4
3M Extremely Strong Mounting Tape 1"x60" - image 1 of 4
$7.79 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • MAXIMUM STRENGTH: Our strongest tape for our toughtest jobs
  • SUPERIOR BOND: Delivers a superior, conformable bond on contact
  • HOLDS UP TO 30 LB: Features 3M industrial strength adhesive. To hold 1 lb use 2 inches, To hold 30 lb use 60 inches
  • SURFACES: Designed for Painted Drywall, Painted/Finished Wood, Metal, Acrylic, Smooth Stone, and Painted Concrete
  • INDOOR OR OUTDOOR USE: Application temperature 50°F to 100°F
  • EASY TO APPLY DESIGN: Great for do-it-yourself projects
  • NO MESS OR TOOLS: Use instead of nails and screws
  • APPLICATION TIPS: Ensure your surface is smooth, clean and dry for the best bond
  • SIZE: 1 in x 60 in roll
  • COLOR: Black

Description

For your toughest jobs, go for our strongest hold–Scotch-Mount™ Extreme Double-Sided Mounting Tape with its 3M™ industrial strength adhesive. Equipped with our powerful permanent adhesive, this double-sided tape defies gravity, holding an item up to 30 pounds. It's weather resistant for a long lasting bond, indoors and outdoors. So whether you’re mounting artwork in your new apartment, or adding wall organization to the garage, Scotch-Mount™ Extreme Double-Sided Mounting Tape does the job quickly, easily and without the hassle of tools.
Tape Dimensions: 1 Inches (W) x 60 Inches (L)
Package Quantity: 1
Material: Plastic
TCIN: 14413487
UPC: 051141910840
Item Number (DPCI): 085-04-0084
Origin: Assem In USA w/ foreign parts
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.86 inches length x 3.93 inches width x 1.33 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.09 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Will this product work on cinder blocks in a garage? Wanting to put up door guards so the car door wont hit the wall.

submitted by KJ - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. Extreme Mounting Tape is ideal for use on finished/painted surfaces, metal, tile, laminate, and plastic and other smooth surfaces.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hello. Extreme Mounting Tape is ideal for use on finished/painted surfaces, metal, tile, laminate, and plastic and other smooth surfaces.

    submitted by3M Company - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can the tape be removed easily without leaving marks?

submitted by Darla - 2 years ago
  • A: Thank you for asking! It cannot be removed, our Scotch Mounting Tapes are all permanent and not intended to be removed. If you have any other questions or wish to discuss further, please feel free connect with our team at 800-494-3552 M-F 8:00am-4:30pm CT referencing this #30520151.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Will it work on a 3' by 2' corkboard?

submitted by tdkay - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello - Thank you for asking. This would depend on the weight of the board. The 3M Extremely Strong Mounting Tape, holds up to 30 lb. To hold 1 lb use 2". To hold 30 lb use 60"

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Will this work on vinyl window frames?

submitted by PHE - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello - Thank you for asking. We would like to gather some additional details about your application in order to recommend the best adhesive for your needs. Please connect with us directly at 1-800-494-3552 M-F 8am-5pm CT.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Could this be used to mount a towel bar on tile in the far end of a shower. Water really doesn't hit there but cant guarantee it won't be exposed to dampness. Thanks

submitted by ShelbySue - 3 years ago
  • A: Please contact our product support team at 1-800-494-3552 Mon-Fri 8am-5pm CT so we can gather further details about your application and better assist you with your question.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this tape permanent?

submitted by Maddie - 3 years ago
  • A: Yes, this mounting tape is permanent. Thanks for asking!

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Will 3M Extreme Mounting tape hole a 10 lb mirror to the wall and not harm the wall.

submitted by j Staggs - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. Due to the technical nature of your question, please contact our team directly at 1-800-494-3552 M-F 8am-5pm CT so we can gather more information to better assist you. Thank you.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Would it damage the paint on my car if I used this? Recently installed an aftermarket Antenna that had weak adhesive so I used strips of this on the antenna itself and onto the paint of my car.

submitted by Car paint - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. Due to the technical nature of your question, please contact our team directly at 1-800-494-3552 M-F 8am-5pm CT so we can gather more information to better assist you. Thank you.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: I want to use to hang a curtain rod (so I don't have to drill into the wall) is this a good option?

submitted by Mark - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. Due to the technical nature of your question, please contact our team directly at 1-800-494-3552 M-F 8am-5pm CT so we can better assist you. Thank you.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this tape good for Ring Doorbell 2 on a wooden painted door facing the sun? How can I remove it without damaging the paint on the door? The product description doesn't say whether it is permanent or removable.

submitted by CASunshine - 4 years ago
  • A: Scotch Extreme Mounting Tape: works on many finished surfaces such as finished and painted wood, metal, laminate and tile. None of the mounting tapes are recommended for use on wallpaper or delicate surfaces. Mounting Tape is meant to be permanent, and removal may damage surfaces.

    submitted by3M Social Engagement - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
3.7 out of 5 stars with 163 reviews
62% would recommend
27 recommendations
quality: 3.32 out of 5
value: 3.35 out of 5

Worked great!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
laura yost - 3 months ago
All these people who can’t get the red backing off - seriously? It is not that difficult. Be a little creative - just a little patience and a tweezers worked great if my nails couldn’t get it started. It’s holding all my fav books up on a display wall. Way better than the Velcro strips I’ve used for photo frames in the past. It’s crazy sticky. Super happy with it.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Doesn't work

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Aliyapa - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
Doesn’t work kept falling off
1 reply from 3M Social Engagement team - 4 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not stick like it suppose to waste of money

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
TeeTee - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
Do not work door screen kept falling
1 reply from 3M Social Engagement team - 5 months ago
Thank you for leaving your review. We are sorry to hear this and would not have expected the product to be as described. If you need any further assistance, please connect with us directly at 1-800-328-6276 Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:30pm CT.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Useless if the red strip won't some off!!

1 out of 5 stars
Frustrated47 - 5 months ago
originally posted on 3m.com
I would love to know if this mounting tape works, but I can't for the life of me get the red strip off of the double side to see if it sticks!! The red strip it so stuck to the tape, I can't get it off making it useless!!!
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 5 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-494-3552 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Crap scotch fox extreme

1 out of 5 stars
Mick - 6 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
Crap. Used to mount a camera mount to a helmet. Say 12kg. Be surprised if it’s holding at 1kg. Absolutely useless.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 6 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

No longer a reliable product.

1 out of 5 stars
All Ways Signs - 6 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
This is not the first time, not the second time, but now the third time that this product has failed me. I own a sign & graphics shop and I rely heavily on a product that can keep signs up on a wall regardless of what the finish is on the wall. Clearly weight is not the issue as this is a so called heavy duty tape. I hung door number signs up at a hotel that are barely a couple ounces in weight and the next day the hotel told me that most of them were on the ground. I cleaned the surface with alcohol and let that dry and applied 2 rows of tape across the back, push the signs up and down to wiggle them on the surface so the tape would really grip the wall, and pulled on them to check and they were solid. Nope, hotel management called me to tell me most where on the ground the following day. As a business owner, this makes me look terrible and I cannot rely on a product that continuously makes me look bad. Something changed in the product. Do not waste your money.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 6 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
10 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not use on painted Cinderblock

1 out of 5 stars
lwoerner97 - 7 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
Well, I tried it in my classroom on painted cinderblock. It did not work. Said it would, but did not. So far, it is holding up posters on a painted surface. I am sure it is a quality product, just not for painted cinder.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 7 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
Did you find this review helpful?

Difficult

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Deborah - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
Could not get backing off the tape. Too difficult to use.
1 reply from 3M Social Engagement team - 8 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't buy this crap

1 out of 5 stars
JMesa - 8 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
I tried to remove the red film with nails, knife and single side razor blade. was never able to remove it. How are we going to use it?
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 8 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible product

1 out of 5 stars
db1248 - 9 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
complete waste of money. I could not even remove the red backing. It is far from double sided tape. This product is an absolute scam.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 9 months ago
Thank you for leaving your review. We are sorry to hear this and would not have expected the product to be as described. If you need any further assistance, please connect with us directly at 1-800-328-6276 Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:30pm CT.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

don't waste your money.

1 out of 5 stars
yaya - 9 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
pure junk. unfortunately I cannot get my money back for this since I had to use it to find out it was pure junk. I applied it pulled the backing tape off and all it was was foamy hardly any sticky to it at all. Shame on you Scotch.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 9 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Didn't work

1 out of 5 stars
Jersey gal - 10 months ago
originally posted on Scotch
I used this product to hold the front of a bathroom cabinet drawer on. It weighs about four pounds and I used the whole roll. After about six months the drawer front fell off. Does anybody know how to get the tape that is still stuck on the drawer off?
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 9 months ago
Thank you for leaving your review. We are sorry to hear this and would not have expected the product to be as described. If you need any further assistance, please connect with us directly at 1-800-328-6276 Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:30pm CT.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Worst ever

1 out of 5 stars
hoopledinger429 - 11 months ago
originally posted on 3m.com
This product is the worst!! Getting the backing off is like quantum physics ... by the time you get a corner to start peeling you have stretched and mangled half the piece of tape in the process. The only way the term "industrial" applies to this tape is the way it sticks to my fingernails while trying to fight with the backing. Otherwise it doesn't stick to anything. I wouldn't trust it to hold 30 oz let alone 30 lbs. Thankfully I discovered its poor reliability before I mounted anything of value that was destroyed falling in the floor.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 11 months ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-494-3552 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Wont hold up a sheet of paper.

1 out of 5 stars
Tanyarhody - 1 year ago
originally posted on Scotch
Complete trash. This doesn't hold anything up that weighs more than a graham cracker. I cant believe I paid for it.
1 reply from 3M Care Team team - 1 year ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-328-6276 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Does not hold as advertised.

3 out of 5 stars
Owen - 1 year ago
originally posted on Scotch
Tried to hang a plastic mirror that weighs 8lbs on tile with this tape to avoid drilling. I used a whole roll of tape, and though it held for about 3 weeks, it eventually started to sag, stretch and finally detached from both the tile and the back of the mirror. I tried another brand that said it would hold 50lbs and it didn't hold at all. So basically even though it didn't last, it was better still than the competition.
1 reply from Pace Social Care team - 1 year ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear of the trouble. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 1-800-494-3552 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT referencing this case #37568103. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
Did you find this review helpful?

Egregious

1 out of 5 stars
blatantly flagrant - 1 year ago
originally posted on Scotch
ZERO is more accurate..."extreme"?..."industrial strength"?..."holds 30 pounds!" Hey that"s twice the load of several other brands that are 2 inches long. And for this to hold 30 pounds you only have to use... uh...ALL OF IT. To call this a rip-off is an insult to rip-offs. Extreme, industrial strength rip-off. Congratulations to your packaging team. Keep that "30 lb." front and center
1 reply from Pace Social Care team - 1 year ago
Hello, thank you for your feedback! We have forwarded to our Marketing Team. Thank you again for your review.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Lousy!

1 out of 5 stars
Thomas2 - 2 years ago
originally posted on Scotch
Terrible. Seems to stick amazingly to the scissors making it very difficult to work with, hard to peel the back side off, and then for the punch line to the joke..... it barely sticks to any application. Worthless. I ended up using the double-sided stickers you would use for hangars. Great product if you want to stick your scissors together in the closed position after use!
1 reply from Pace Social Team team - 2 years ago
We are sorry to hear of the trouble you are experiencing. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 800-494-3552 and reference this #34104242. Thank you for your review and we look forward to connecting with you!
Did you find this review helpful?

Terrible

1 out of 5 stars
AD Mamamelo - 2 years ago
originally posted on Scotch
Trash . Doesn’t work . Maybe for a few days. Especially if u have HVAC . Hyped up trash. Tried it numerous times thinking I measured wrong versus weight but it’s just a trash product with good marketing
1 reply from Pace Social Team team - 2 years ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your experience is not what we would expect and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you and gather further details. Please connect with our team at 800-494-3552 M-F 8:00am-4:30pm CT referencing this # 33489033. Thanks again, and we look forward to your call.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Briar - 2 years ago
originally posted on Scotch
I bought this to hang a decorative shelf. I used all the roll on the back of the shelf except for about 3 inches. Shelf is maybe 10lbs tops. The shelf fell off in the middle of the night leaving peices that look like they melted. (I keep my house at 72° and 70° at night) I can't get it off my wall and it ruined my shelf. I followed all the instructions, it held for about a week and a half and now is just ruined.
1 reply from PACE Social Team team - 2 years ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will be sure to forward your comments. If you have any additional feedback or questions, please feel free to reach out to our team at 1-800-494-3552 Mo-Fri 8am-4:30pm CT and reference your case number 33284513.
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Garbage

1 out of 5 stars
Bob24 - 2 years ago
originally posted on Scotch
Don’t waste your time and money on this crap . It doesn’t stick and the backing is almost impossible to get off
1 reply from Pace Social Team team - 2 years ago
Thank you for leaving your review. We apologize for the troubles you experienced and would not expect the product to behave as described when the product is applied to a flat smooth solid item and then the liner removed. If you have any other questions or concerns, feel free to connect with our team at 800-494-3552 M-F 8:00am-4:30pm and reference this number 33182603.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads