Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Brain on Fire (Reprint) (Paperback) by Susannah Cahalan

Brain on Fire (Reprint) (Paperback) by Susannah Cahalan - image 1 of 1
Brain on Fire (Reprint) (Paperback) by Susannah Cahalan - image 1 of 1
$13.14 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how she'd gotten there. Days earlier, she had been on the threshold of a new, adult life: at the beginning of her first serious relationship and a promising career at a major New York newspaper. Now she was labeled violent, psychotic, a flight risk. What happened? In a swift and breathtaking narrative, [the author] tells the astonishing true story of her descent into madness, her family's inspiring faith in her, and the lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didnt happen"--Amazon.com.



Book Synopsis



An award-winning memoir and instant New York Times bestseller--and inspiration for the major motion picture starring Chloë Grace Moretz--that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman's struggle to recapture her identity.

When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how she'd gotten there. Days earlier, she had been on the threshold of a new, adult life: at the beginning of her first serious relationship and a promising career at a major New York newspaper. Now she was labeled violent, psychotic, a flight risk. What happened?

In a swift and breathtaking narrative, Susannah tells the astonishing true story of her descent into madness, her family's inspiring faith in her, and the lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didn't happen. "A fascinating look at the disease that...could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life" (People), Brain on Fire is an unforgettable exploration of memory and identity, faith and love, and a profoundly compelling tale of survival and perseverance that is destined to become a classic.



Review Quotes



"A fascinating look at the disease that - if not for a nick-of-time diagnosis - could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life."-- "People magazine"

"Captivating...Cahalan's prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin."-- "New York Times Book Review"

"Compelling...a New York Post reporter recounts her medical nightmare."-- "Mental Floss"

"Focusing her journalistic toolbox on her story, Cahalan untangles the medical mystery surrounding her condition...A fast-paced and well-researched trek through a medical mystery to a hard-won recovery."-- "Publishers Weekly"

"For the neurologist, I highly recommend this book on several grounds...First, it is a well-told story, worth reading for the suspense and the dramatic cadence of events...Second, it is a superb case study of a rare neurologic diagnosis; even experienced neurologists will find much to learn in it...Third, and most important, it gives the neurologist insight into how a patient and her family experienced a complex illness, including the terrifying symptoms, the difficult pace of medical diagnosis, and the slow recovery. This story clearly contains lessons for all of us."-- "Cognitive and Behavioral Neurology"

"Swift and haunting."-- "Scientific American"

"The bizarre and confounding illness that beset the 24-year-old New York Post reporter in early 2009 so ravaged her mentally and physically that she became unrecognizable to coworkers, family, friends, and--most devastatingly--herself... She dedicates this miracle of a book to 'those without a diagnosis'... [An] unforgettable memoir."-- "Elle"

"This fascinating memoir by a young New York Post reporter...describes how she crossed the line between sanity and insanity...Cahalan expertly weaves together her own story and relevant scientific information...compelling."-- "Booklist (starred review)"

"What is most impressive about "Brain on Fire" is that Cahalan has little recollection of her month of insanity.... Thanks partially to her talent as a journalist and to the fact that her parents kept journals, Cahalan was able to recapture her month, leaving no holes in the narrative."-- "The Daily Texan"

An intense, mesmerizing account of survival. . . Cahalan's deft descriptions of her spooky hallucinations could be right out of a Poe terror tale.-- "BookForum"

The best reporters never stop asking questions, and Cahalan is no exception...The result is a kind of anti-memoir, an out-of-body personal account of a young woman's fight to survive one of the cruelest diseases imaginable. And on every level, it's remarkable.....Cahalan is nothing if not tenacious, and she perfectly tempers her brutal honesty with compassion and something like vulnerability. It's indisputable that Cahalan is a gifted reporter, and Brain on Fire is a stunningly brave book. But even more than that, she's a naturally talented prose stylist -- whip-smart but always unpretentious -- and it's nearly impossible to stop reading her, even in the book's most painful passages....Brain on Fire comes from a place of intense pain and unthinkable isolation, but finds redemption in Cahalan's unflagging, defiant toughness. It's an unexpected gift of a book from one of America's most courageous young journalists.-- "NPR.org"
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.5 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .55 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 266
Genre: Medical, Biography + Autobiography
Sub-Genre: Personal Memoirs, Medical, Diseases
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Format: Paperback
Author: Susannah Cahalan
Language: English
Street Date: August 6, 2013
TCIN: 14634593
UPC: 9781451621389
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-4498
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 0.8 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
couldnt put this one down - 4 years ago
couldn’t seem to put this one down. such an interesting and inspiring story
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy