Capstar (Nitenpyram) for Dogs  - image 1 of 3Capstar (Nitenpyram) for Dogs  - image 2 of 3Capstar (Nitenpyram) for Dogs  - image 3 of 3
Capstar (Nitenpyram) for Dogs  - image 1 of 3
$38.49When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Flea treatment for dogs
  • Mess-free tablet make getting rid of fleas easy
  • Safe to use on puppies and kittens 8 weeks and older
  • Begins working in 30 min
  • Easy to give

Specifications

Weight: .08 Pounds
Application Type: Ingestible
Pet Caution Statement: Approved for Use on Puppies over 7 weeks old
Intended Pet Type: Dog
Used For: Pest Elimination
Treats and/or Prevents Against: Fleas
Duration: 1 Months
Product Form: Pill
Package Quantity: 6
Pet Lifestage: All Ages
TCIN: 51732345
UPC: 073091033370
Item Number (DPCI): 083-11-0958
Origin: Imported

Description

CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) is a fast-acting dog flea treatment tablet for use with dogs that starts killing fleas in only 30 minutes. A single dose of CAPSTAR Oral Flea Treatment kills 90% of adult fleas within 4 hours for dogs. Give this oral flea treatment and watch the dead fleas fall off your pet. CAPSTAR flea tablets are available for dogs and puppies 2-25 pounds, and 4 weeks of age or older.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 6.06 inches length x 4.92 inches width x 3.34 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.28 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: how long is capstar effective?

submitted by cas - 10 months ago
  • A: CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) starts killing fleas within 30 minutes. A single oral tablet kills over 90% of fleas within 4 hours. A single dose should kill the adult fleas on your pet. If your pet gets reinfested with fleas, you can safely give another dose as often as once a day. If you have any additional questions, please contact our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738.

    submitted byCapstar Team - 8 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: I this product safe for a 4 month Shitzu puppy?

submitted by Debbie - 10 months ago
  • A: You may administer CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) for Small Dogs or CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) for Cats to puppies 4 weeks of age or older and between 2 and 25 pounds.

    submitted byCapstar Team - 8 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: does capstar working on ear mites ?

submitted by julia - 1 year ago
  • A: No, it is only used to treat fleas.

    submitted byLaura - 1 year ago

Q: What weights does the 25+ cover? I have 4 dogs that are what I consider big. Over 80lbs and 1 small dog.

submitted by Carri4475 - 2 years ago
  • A: Weight range supports Dogs that are 25 lbs+ , the Capstar Small Dog is for dogs under 25 lbs, and then there is Capstar for Cats, which covers all weight ranges.

    submitted byNic - 2 years ago

Q: Do I need a prescription for Capstar?

submitted by Cinci - 3 years ago
  • A: No prescription needed, you can pick up in store or order online.

    submitted byLaura - 3 years ago

Q: How is this given? One every day?

submitted by Ireneg44 - 4 years ago
  • A: A single dose of Capstar Tablets should kill the adult fleas on your pet. If your pet gets re-infested with fleas, you can safely give another dose as often as once per day. Please refer to the package insert for complete information.

    submitted byLaura - 4 years ago
4.1 out of 5 stars with 110 reviews
80% would recommend
46 recommendations
effectiveness: 4.26 out of 5
value: 3.31 out of 5
quality: 4.18 out of 5

Consumer

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
NeeNeeItty - 2 days ago, Verified purchaser
Starts to work fast and well
Did you find this review helpful?

Capstar

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Chip - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Did not work at all and very expensive
1 reply from CAPSTAR Customer Care team - 3 months ago
Hi, our customer care team would be happy to investigate your CAPSTAR product concern and find a solution that works for you. Please call 1-800-781-4738 at your earliest convenience. Thank you.
effectiveness: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Doesn’t work

1 out of 5 stars
Nogo - 4 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
I gave both my dogs one didn’t kill the flea’s on either of them.I’m really upset ,I was hoping it worked.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 4 months ago
Hi, we would be happy to address any Capstar product related question you may have. Please contact our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738 at your earliest convenience. Thank you.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Works but not a fix.

1 out of 5 stars
Leslie - 4 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
I have to give my dog a pill every day. It may kill them then but it’s only a quick fix. Better of spending the money on an Rx.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 4 months ago
CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) is safe to give to your pet daily, as needed, to help treat and control an existing flea infestation. If you have any concerns, please call our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

No again

1 out of 5 stars
Nono - 5 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
Worked for about a week and the fleas returned even after second dose and treating my home
1 reply from Customer Service team - 5 months ago
CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) kills adult fleas before they can lay eggs. You may be experiencing a flea infestation in or around your home. Additional treatments of CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) may be required as existing flea larvae emerge into adult fleas, and you may need to treat your home with products to kill fleas. If you have any questions or additional concerns, please call our customer service team at 1-800-781-4738.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Does not work

1 out of 5 stars
Sassy - 5 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
Overwhelming dissatisfied with this product! After 3 weeks my little dog still has fleas and we followed directions to the letter.
1 reply from Customer Service team - 5 months ago
You may be experiencing a heavy flea population in or around your home. If your pet gets re-infested with fleas, you can safely give another dose to your pet as often as once a day. Please call our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738, so we can address your concerns.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Didn't work on my 11 lb puppy

1 out of 5 stars
Fleasnotgone - 6 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
I gave this pill to my puppy and it has been over a week or two and he still has fleas so to me this product does not work.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 6 months ago
CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) is a fast-acting oral flea treatment that kills adult fleas. Flea larvae may still be found on your pet, and additional treatments of CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) may be required as larvae become adults. If you have additional questions, please contact our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Did not work!!!

1 out of 5 stars
Dog Mom - 6 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
My small dog has taking 4 pills and they did not help him he still had the fleas, very expensive and didn’t work for my dog.
1 reply from Customer Service team - 6 months ago
CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) kills adult fleas before they can lay eggs. You may be experiencing the existing flea larvae emerging into adult fleas. Additional treatments of CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) may be required. Please contact our CAPSTAR (nitenpyram) product experts at 1-800-781-4738 so we can speak with you to find a solution that works for you and your pup.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Didn’t work

1 out of 5 stars
#fleasbegone - 6 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
Fleas sill bad, says I can give everyday so now down to one pill and fleas are not gone. Will not buy this again! Glad some people are having good results.
1 reply from Customer Service team - 6 months ago
Your pet may have stumbled across a flea infestation around your home. We ask that you please call our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738 so we can investigate your concerns.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

works

4 out of 5 stars
sam22 - 7 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This worked out great. I am not sure if it is the same brand I normally buy from the vet to kill fleas or not. Either way, it killed the fleas on my dog and works just as well as what the vet offers.
Did you find this review helpful?

Does not work

1 out of 5 stars
JennMcK86 - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
Tried this on 3 cats and 3 dogs and it did not work. They’re all still covered in fleas. So expensive and we are just defeated.
1 reply from Customer Service team - 8 months ago
Your experience is very important to us. Please contact our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738 so we may speak with you to address your concerns.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not sure

3 out of 5 stars
Momma bear - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I'm not so sure about this product. We did everything like it said on the box and even double checked directions online and our big girl is still suffering with fleas right now (i have even treated our yard with flea / insect treatment at the same time)
1 reply from Customer Service team - 8 months ago
Your experience is very important to us. We ask that you please contact our customer care team at 1-800-781-4738 so we may speak with you to address your concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?

Works fast. Safe. May need clean up after.

5 out of 5 stars
EDS47 - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
Monthly topical treatment hasn’t seemed to be working as well lately, so I gave Capstar to our 4 dogs, including a thick-haired 17-year-old. Within 30 minutes she jumped on the bed and began whining and chewing, which I expected. I did not expect the sheer number of dead fleas I saw on my bedspread an hour later. It was horrifying—a couple of hundred of those little blood suckers—but at least she had relief from the fleas. I went through the house, washing everything I could, and vacuumed every nook and cranny I could find. 5 days later, I did it all again—Capstar and cleaning. I am determined to break the flea cycle, and I thought monthly treatment was enough, but I was very wrong. Also, cream cheese works for administering pill to picky dogs who eat all the solid cheese from around the pill.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Works great!

5 out of 5 stars
Price1504 - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Capstar has been a life saver! We live in a rural area, surrounded by woods and wildlife so fleas can be terrible. I used Capstar to kill off the fleas to start the monthly flea treatment and it provided instant relief. Highly recommend this product if your dog is struggling with fleas.
Did you find this review helpful?

Worked

5 out of 5 stars
Mosquito101 - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My dogs ended up with fleas recently and I had this at the house in case. In one treatment I saw results starting. Two treatments and they weren’t scratching and itching anymore. Obviously I’ll continue with their monthly treatments but I’m the case that they get overwhelmed this is a good option.
Did you find this review helpful?

Starts killing fleas in just 30 minutes!

5 out of 5 stars
FleasSuck - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
We’ve only used CapStar tablets so far, but they begin killing the fleas in only 30 minutes! Our dogs don’t like to take pills so we bury them in cheddar cheese and they don’t even know they taking a pill. We’re going to try NexStar soon.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Effective!

5 out of 5 stars
FB11 - 8 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My dog has a flea allergy. I look for fleas on her multiple times a day but never find more than 1 or 2, if I find any at all. I know they're bugging her when she all of a sudden whips her head around and starts nibbling on her back or a leg. I give her one of these tablets and it really seems like it helps for the rest of the day, she pretty much stops all the nibbling. She won't eat the tablets on their own, so we have to put them inside a treat, but she's always been very picky so that's not surprising to us at all. This is not a monthly flea treatment - this is something that you would use when you think your dog will be or has been exposed to fleas, like when you are going to the dog park or anywhere other dogs or lots of fleas may be present. We like these, they have been very helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Always good to have on hand

5 out of 5 stars
DiMack r - 9 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Capstar fast acting oral flea treatment in a must to have on hand, especially if you are fostering a dog, we have used this product on some of our foster dogs that come to us with flea issues and it works.
Did you find this review helpful?

Fast working.

5 out of 5 stars
Catrat39 - 9 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this after taking my dog to the vet and finding out that it's what they use to get rid of fleas. I have two very large dogs and they are on a monthly chewable but since it's getting warmer the fleas are getting bad so I have used it on my dogs. It really does start working in 30 minutes and they were flea free by the next day. Fantastic product but I had to hide it in food so my dogs would take it.
Did you find this review helpful?

Still the best !

5 out of 5 stars
Suzanadanna - 9 months ago
originally posted on capstarpet.com
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I've used Capstar for more years than I care to remember! I've worked with rescue and quite often we get dogs in with fleas. Capstar has NEVER let us down.. it's safe and effective. It is an awesome product -- one that quickly kills the fleas and brings relief to the dog. Thank you!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads