Loading, please wait...

In a Book Club Far Away - by Tif Marcelo (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 9 Inches (H) x 1 Inches (W) x 6 Inches (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Friendship

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Gallery Books

Author: Tif Marcelo

Language: English

Street Date: April 6, 2021
TCIN: 81636824
UPC: 9781982148096
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-3032
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"From the author of Once Upon a Sunset andThe Key to Happily Ever After comes a heartwarming women's fiction about three Army wives--and estranged friends--who must set aside their differences when one of them sends out a cry for help"--



Book Synopsis



From the author of Once Upon a Sunset and The Key to Happily Ever After comes a heartwarming and moving novel following three Army wives--estranged friends--who must overcome their differences when one of them is desperate for help.

Regina Castro, Adelaide Wilson-Chang, and Sophie Walden used to be best friends. As Army wives at Fort East, they bonded during their book club and soon became inseparable. But when an unimaginable betrayal happened amongst the group, the friendship abruptly ended, and they haven't spoken since.

That's why, eight years later, Regina and Sophie are shocked when they get a call for help from Adelaide. Adelaide's husband is stationed abroad, and without any friends or family near her new home of Alexandria, Virginia, she has no one to help take care of her young daughter when she has to undergo emergency surgery. For the sake of an innocent child, Regina and Sophie reluctantly put their differences aside to help an old friend.

As the three women reunite, they must overcome past hurts and see if there's any future for their friendship. Featuring Tif Marcelo's signature "enchanting prose" (Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake) and the books that brought them together in the first place, In a Book Club Far Away honors the immense power of female friendship and how love can defy time, distance, and all old wounds.



Review Quotes



"Marcelo relates, with compassion and realism, each character's present struggles: Adelaide's emergency surgery, Sophie's twin teenage girls and Regina's tentative new romance all stand alongside professional challenges for each woman... Marcelo's warmhearted, juicy novel is a compelling portrayal of the fierce bond among military spouses and a sensitive exploration of friends trying their best to right old wrongs."-- "Shelf Awareness"

"Touching... The military community setting adds a much-appreciated layer that explores the sacrifices military service requires...and gives a peek at what life in that tight-knit group is like...With fully-developed characters, In a Book Club Far Away is a celebration and testament to the power of female friendship.... After reading this beautiful novel you'll want to be in a book club right alongside Adelaide, Regina, and Sophie."-- "BookTrib"

"With a wonderfully diverse cast, tantalizing descriptions of Filipino food, a realistic portrayal of the challenges of being a military spouse, and a hint of romance, Marcelo's latest will charm readers and could lead to a fruitful book discussion."-- "Booklist"

"Fans of book clubs will enjoy the discussions of the popular reading that Adelaide's book club favors...Told in a straightforward style, this story of women's friendship and commitment to the army lifestyle will appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah, Debbie Macomber, or Sarah Pekkanen."-- "Library Journal"

Praise for In a Book Club Far Away

"Marcelo captivates in this endearing story about the bonds of friendship... Making good use of Army life as the backdrop, Marcelo skillfully layers the narrative with the three women's points of view, capturing both their singular and collective worlds. Themes of friendship, forgiveness, and women's independence make this propulsive, feel-good story a gem."-- "Publishers Weekly"

"We might not be able to choose our family, but we can choose our friends--and the books we read. In a Book Club Far Away celebrates both these blessings through a trio of army wives who, across the span of eleven years, learn hard lessons about true friendship and forgiveness. Adelaide, Sophie, and Regina are unequivocally real, full of foibles, compassion, moxie, and humor; I wanted to shake them, then invite them over for drinks. If you're like me, you'll turn the last page then rush to call your friends, and maybe start your own book club. Make this open-hearted charmer your first selection; your friends will thank you."--Sonja Yoerg, Washington Post bestselling author of True Places

"No one writes heartwarming tales of love, family, and friendship quite like Tif Marcelo, and her latest is a standout. The story of three semi-estranged friends who reunite in a time of crisis, In a Book Club Far Away is a wonderful reminder that some bonds--and yes, book clubs--can't be broken. I loved it."--Camille Pagán, bestselling author of This Won't End Well

Praise for Once Upon a Sunset

"Once Upon a Sunset will sweep readers up in a heartfelt story of long-lost family secrets and bright new beginnings that spans from World War II to today. I always look forward to a new book from Tif Marcelo!"--Julia Kelly, bestselling author of The Light Over London

Praise for The Key to Happily Ever After

"A charming, fun read. I love these sisters! Clear your calendar--once you start, you won't be able to put down this wonderful story."--Susan Mallery, # 1 New York Times bestselling author of California Girls

"The Key to Happily Ever After gave me so many emotions: I loved and cheered for all three sisters, and wanted to shake each of them in turn; I swooned for all of the romance; and I got choked up about their struggles and their victories. But mostly, I loved the de la Rosa sisters so much, and I can't wait for the whole world to love them." --Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of The Proposal

"A beautiful story about the bonds of family and the challenges of love -I was cheering for all the de la Rosa sisters!" --Jennifer Probst, New York Times bestselling author of All or Nothing at All

"A richly drawn and poignant tale of finding yourself in unexpected places and connecting with the unlikeliest of allies."--Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of Secrets of Worry Dolls

"Devoted sisters, swoony new loves, and wedding drama--what more could you ask for in a perfect summer read? The Key to Happily Ever After delivers it all with Tif Marcelo's enchanting prose. By the end, you'll want to be a de la Rosa sister, too!"--Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

"Marcelo charms in this feel-good story... The layered plot, which includes a dark period in Mari's past that places roadblock to finding love in the present, and the cast of colorful supporting characters, particularly sassy shop seamstress Amelia, are a treat. Fans of Jill Shalvis and Jane Green will particularly enjoy this."-- "Publishers Weekly"

"Marcelo movingly portrays sisters who love each other to death but also drive each other crazy. Give this to readers who like Susan Mallery's portrayal of complicated sisters, or Jasmine Guillory's sweet, food-focused city settings."-- "Booklist"

"The de la Rosa sisters are much like the flower in their name: delicate and poised but also fiercely strong. As the trio takes over the family wedding planning business, they will need all those traits and more to transform their careers for a new generation. As they forge their paths both together and separately, these three sisters discover that love--like a wedding--is all about timing. Full of wisdom, wit and, of course, wedding gowns, Tif Marcelo's latest charmer proves that, sometimes, The Key to Happily Ever After, comes along when you least expect it. This endearing, deeply poignant trip down the aisle(s) is full of romance, unexpected twists and the perfect helping of family drama."--Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of The Southern Side of Paradise

"The lush backdrop of the Philippines brings new chances at love for both Diana and Margo as the old love letters connect them to a new family."-- "Booklist"

"This is the most aptly titled romance. A true gem filled with heart, laughs and a cast of delightful characters. I read (and adored) The Key to Happily Ever After in one sitting!" --Nina Bocci, USA Today bestselling author of On the Corner of Love and Hate

"This sweet family story/romance will appeal to fans of Susan Mallery and RaeAnne Thayne. Especially suitable for public libraries looking for more #ownvoices authors."-- "Library Journal"

"Tif Marcelo does it again. Once Upon a Sunset balances a tragic family secret with a hopeful future, wrapped in an authentic mother-daughter relationship. Grab some sunscreen, dip your toes in the sand, and dive into this sublime beach read." --Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

"Tif Marcelo has a way of writing characters that invite you into their lives from the first page. In a Book Club Far Away finds us traveling through a tumultuous decade with 3 Army wives navigating love and loss and grief and hope and life, against the backdrop of books from various genres and authors. Marcelo takes a deep dive into the crux of female friendship and the result is a story that is equal parts surprising, raw, funny, and delicious. A perfect next choice for your own book club whether it's comprised of 20 members or one."--Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of I Know How This Ends



About The Author



Tif Marcelo is a veteran army nurse and holds a BS in ursing and a Master's in public administration. She believes and writes about the strength of families, the endurance of friendship, heartfelt romances, and is inspired daily by her own military hero husband and four children. She is also the author of Once Upon a Sunset, The Key to Happily Ever After, and the Journey to the Heart series.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.31 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.