EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleLunar New YearCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Longbourn (Vintage) (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jo Baker

Longbourn (Vintage) (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jo Baker - image 1 of 1
Longbourn (Vintage) (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jo Baker - image 1 of 1
$14.5 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



A novel whose principal characters are the servants in Jane Austen's Pride and prejudice.



Book Synopsis



A New York Times Book Review Notable Book, a Seattle Times Best Title, a Christian Science Monitor Best Fiction Book, a Miami Herald Favorite Book, and a Kirkus Best Book of the Year

The servants take center stage in this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice. While Elizabeth Bennet and her sisters fuss over balls and husbands, Sarah, their orphaned housemaid, is beginning to chafe against the boundaries of her class. When a new footman arrives at Longbourn under mysterious circumstances, the carefully choreographed world she has known all her life threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended. Mentioned only fleetingly in Jane Austen's classic, here Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Regency England and, in doing so, uncovers the real world of the novel that has captivated readers' hearts around the world for generations.



Review Quotes



A Best Book of the Year Selection: New York Times 100 Notable, Seattle Times, The Guardian, The Daily Mail, Kirkus Reviews

"Rich, engrossing, and filled with fascinating observations. . . . If you are a Jane Austen fan . . . you will devour Jo Baker's ingenious Longbourn."
--O, The Oprah Magazine

"Original and charming, even gripping, in its own right."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Masterful."
--The Miami Herald

"A witty, richly detailed re-imagining. . . . Fans of Austen and Downton Abbey will take particular pleasure in Longbourn, but any reader with a taste for well-researched historical fiction will delight in Baker's involving, informative tale."
--People

"A bold novel, subversive in ways that prove surprising, and brilliant on every level."
--USA Today

"Delightful."
--The New Yorker

"A triumph: a splendid tribute to Austen's original but, more importantly, a joy in its own right, a novel that contrives both to provoke the intellect and, ultimately, to stop the heart."
--The Guardian (London)

"[A] fitting tribute, inventing a touching love story of its own."
--The Wall Street Journal

"A freshly egalitarian reimagining."
--Vogue

"[Baker's] writing style draws admirably from Austen's."
--Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Engaging and rewarding."
--The Washington Times

"Longbourn is told with glee and great wit."
--The Daily Beast

"The Bennet family's servants imagined by Baker have richly complicated lives and loyalties. . . . Baker deserves a bouquet. . . . Refreshing."
--The Seattle Times

"There's a finale so back-of-the-hand-to-the-forehead romantic, someone should render it in needlepoint."
--Entertainment Weekly

"Excellent. . . . In Sarah the housemaid, Baker has created a heroine, living in the same house as Elizabeth Bennet, who manages to shine despite Elizabeth's long literary shadow."
--Christian Science Monitor

"Lively. . . . Baker's vivid passages about the natural world, working conditions and even of sorrow are . . . well detailed and articulated."
--The Plain Dealer

"Longbourn is a really special book, and not only because its author writes like an angel. . . . There are some wildly sad and romantic moments; I was sobbing by the end. . . . Beautiful." --Wendy Holden, Daily Mail (London)

"Inspired. . . . This is a genuinely fresh perspective on the tale of the Bennet household. . . . A lot of fun."
--Sunday Times (London)

"This clever glimpse of Austen's universe through a window clouded by washday steam is so compelling it leaves you wanting to read the next chapter in the lives below stairs rather than peer at the reflections of any grand party in the mirrors of Netherfield."
--Daily Express (London)

"Impressive. . . . An engrossing tale we neither know nor expect."
--Daily Telegraph (London)



About The Author



Jo Baker was born in Lancashire, England, and educated at Oxford University and Queen's University Belfast. She is the author of the novels The Under­tow, Offcomer, The Mermaid's Child, and The Telling. She lives in Lancaster.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.01 Inches (H) x 5.37 Inches (W) x .81 Inches (D)
Weight: .6 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 331
Genre: Fiction + Literature Themes
Sub-Genre: Literary
Series Title: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Jo Baker
Language: English
Street Date: June 17, 2014
TCIN: 15886383
UPC: 9780345806970
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-5154
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8.5 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.6 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads