Loading, please wait...

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy : A Modern Retelling of Little Women - by Rey Terciero (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.8 Inch (W) x .8 Inch (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Suggested Age: 9-12 Years

Number of Pages: 256

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Family, Comics & Graphic Novels

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Little Brown & Co

Author: Rey Terciero

Book theme: Historical, Siblings, Classic Adaptation

Language: English

Street Date: February 5, 2019
TCIN: 53680201
UPC: 9780316522885
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-1452
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy are having a really tough year: Not only is their father overseas with the military and their mother working overtime to make ends meet, but each girl is struggling with her own unique problems. Whether it's school woes, health issues, boy troubles or simply feeling lost, the March sisters all need the same thing: support from each other. By coming together -- and sharing lots of laughs and tears -- these four young women find the courage to discover who they truly are as individuals... and as a family." -- Book jacket.



Book Synopsis



Little Women with a twist: four sisters from a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC in this beautiful full-color graphic novel perfect for fans of Roller Girl and Smile.

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy are having a really tough year: with their father serving in the military overseas, they must work overtime to make ends meet...and each girl is struggling in her own way. Whether it's school woes, health issues, boy troubles, or simply feeling lost, the March sisters all need the same thing: support from each other. Only by coming together--and sharing lots of laughs and tears--will these four young women find the courage to discover who they truly are as individuals...and as a family.
Meg is the eldest March, and she has a taste for the finer things in life. She dreams of marrying rich, enjoying fabulous clothes and parties, and leaving her five-floor walk-up apartment behind.
Jo pushes her siblings to be true to themselves, yet feels like no one will accept her for who she truly is. Her passion for writing gives her an outlet to feel worthy in the eyes of her friends and family.
Beth is the shy sister with a voice begging to be heard. But with a guitar in hand, she finds a courage that inspires her siblings to seize the day and not take life for granted.
Amy may be the baby of the family, but she has the biggest personality. Though she loves to fight with her sisters, her tough exterior protects a vulnerable heart that worries about her family's future.



Review Quotes



[...] this tale offers a contemporary vision of sisterhood that will appeal to a diverse audience.--Kirkus

Smart and thoughtfully rendered, this modern retelling will resonate with today's readers.--Publishers Weekly



About The Author



Rey Terciero, also known as Rex Ogle, has written and edited hundreds of books and comics for children and young adults. He is a queer writer who has always been drawn to strong female protagonists, including Elizabeth Bennet, Princess Leia, Jean Grey, and Hermione Granger. Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy is his debut graphic novel.

Bre Indigo is a lover of astronomy, salmon sashimi, and open minds. She tells stories of gentle boys, tough girls, and those in between with a focus on tolerance and the many faces of love. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy is Bre's debut graphic novel.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.8 inches length x 1 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars with 14 reviews
55% would recommend
9 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.