Loading, please wait...

My Fine Fellow - by Jennieke Cohen (Hardcover)

My Fine Fellow - by  Jennieke Cohen (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
My Fine Fellow - by  Jennieke Cohen (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
new at target

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 352

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Romance

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Harperteen

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Historical

Author: Jennieke Cohen

Language: English

Street Date: January 11, 2022
TCIN: 83982075
UPC: 9780063047532
Item Number (DPCI): 247-06-5721
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



Book Synopsis



Culinary delights abound, romance lingers in the air, and plans go terribly, wonderfully astray in this gender-bent take on My Fair Lady from Jennieke Cohen, author of Dangerous Alliance--perfect for fans of Bridgerton or A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.

It's 1830s England, and Culinarians--doyens who consult with society's elite to create gorgeous food and confections--are the crème de la crème of high society.

Helena Higgins, top of her class at the Royal Academy, has a sharp demeanor and an even sharper palate--and knows stardom awaits her if she can produce greatness in her final year.

Penelope Pickering is going to prove the value of non-European cuisine to all of England. Her contemporaries may scorn her Filipina heritage and her dishes, but with her flawless social graces and culinary talents, Penelope is set to prove them wrong.

Elijah Little has nothing to his name but a truly excellent instinct for flavors. London merchants won't allow a Jewish boy to own a shop, so he hawks his pasties for a shilling a piece to passersby--but he knows with training he can break into the highest echelon of society.

When Penelope and Helena meet Elijah, a golden opportunity arises: to pull off a project never seen before, and turn Elijah from a street vendor to a gentleman chef.

But Elijah's transformation will have a greater impact on this trio than they originally realize--and mayhem, unseemly faux pas, and a little romance will all be a part of the delicious recipe.



Review Quotes




"A sparkling retelling of My Fair Lady set in an alternate 1830s London... readers will connect to both Penelope's and Elijah's desires to remain true to themselves in a world that would prefer them to stay on the margins."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A charming historical romp and fitting tribute to My Fair Lady. With pitch-perfect prose and a sly, observant voice, Jennieke Cohen serves up a spectacularly unique rom-com confection. I absolutely loved it!" --Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

A delightful celebration of history, heritage, and haute cuisine that pays tribute to George Bernard Shaw's Pygmalion while telling an entirely original tale. I think it would leave Shaw smiling. And also very, very hungry. --Jacqueline Firkins, author of Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things and How Not to Fall in Love

Cohen has done it again! Fans of My Fair Lady will eat up this delicious peek into the London elite that could have been. Glittering ballrooms, complex friendships, extravagant kitchens, and budding romance make this historical rom-com an indulgence as nuanced as it is delectable. A true treat!----Tobie Easton, award-winning author of the Mer Chronicles series

Jennieke Cohen dishes up an irresistible YA historical romance with a Filipina-British heroine at its heart who breathes fresh life into this gender-flipped My Fair Lady reimagining.--Alexa Donne, author of The Ivies and The Stars We Steal

Jennieke Cohen serves up a fun dish of a novel with a healthy sprinkle of feminism. MY FINE FELLOW is fresh as the rain in Spain.--Stacey Lee, New York Times bestselling author

"Charming and fun. Replete with intrigue, grand parties, and romantic entanglements, fans of Jane Austen will positively devour this book."-- Jessica Cluess, author of A Shadow Bright and Burning

"Contemporary fans of the Austen novels and their screen adaptations will relish this rousing, late Georgian romance."--Booklist

"While Vicky takes center stage, interspersed perspectives from other characters, including those of Sherborne and his half-sister, deepen the story's themes... Frequent references to then-popular novels and a thoughtful historical note add additional context to this spirited romp."--Publishers Weekly

Praise for Dangerous Alliance:
"With a whimsical nod to Jane Austen and a charming pairing to root for, Dangerous Alliance brings the best of Regency romance to young adult. Perfect for fans wanting more after the credits roll on Netflix's Bridgerton. A delight!"--Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.425 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.