Loading, please wait...

Never Coming Back - by Alison McGhee (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 272

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Literary

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Mariner Books

Age Range: Adult

Author: Alison McGhee

Language: English

TCIN: 53850948
UPC: 9781328502025
Item Number (DPCI): 248-07-4305

Description

A Midwest Indie Bestseller

"This sensitive novel...offers readers an intimate and painfully aware portrait of the debilitating effects of Alzheimer's on its victims as well as the people who must watch their tormented loved ones tumble into the disease's terrible abyss...Never Coming Back, [is] a novel about profound sadness, insurmountable loss, and the possibility of allowing new people into your life."--Star Tribune

"[A] quietly powerful novel....Fans of Sara Baume, Holly Chamberlin, and Francesca Segal will appreciate McGhee's magnetic prose and her ability to pack a richly detailed story into a slim novel. Atmospheric and introspective, Never ComingBack will resonate with those who have lost a parent to illness or estrangement but still have questions they'd like to be answered."--Booklist

"A luminous novel....the author's gift for subtly poetic language and her believable dialogue make Clara's journey worth following. McGhee has an almost musical ability to repeat the themes of her novel with enough variation to keep them fresh. Fierce, complicated characters appear to grow out of the severe Adirondack landscape, and McGhee swerves away from sentimentality in addressing the relentlessly changing relationship at the novel's core." --Kirkus Reviews

"[A] poignant meditation on the relationship between a mother and daughter....Though this well-written story will appeal to a broad range of readers for its rich characterization, mothers and daughters will especially find Clara's and Tamar's story moving and memorable."--Publishers Weekly

"McGhee's own gift for words takes you to the very heart of this tense yet tender relationship. Through vivid and meandering dips into memory, McGhee draws us into Clara's rapidly shifting thoughts as she tries to piece together previous assumptions with new discoveries."--BookPage

"McGhee's latest novel...not only tackles the complexities of a mother-daughter relationship and the unresolved conflicts that can have lasting effects on both women, it also informs readers about how Alzheimer's can quickly and cruelly ravage a person."--Library Journal

"Never Coming Back is a deeply moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children - and the mysteries that sometimes keep us apart."--Chris Bohjalian, best-selling author of The Sleepwalker, Midwives, and The Sandcastle Girls

"When a parent is involved, the journey of a caregiver can take the mind back through all the bumps and beauties of a complicated relationship and the heart and soul into new and challenging territory. Alison McGhee captures this--all the nuances and conflicts--in her beautifully written novel. Much to praise here but it is the remarkable characterization of the mother, the indomitable Tamar, who McGhee paints with such feeling, that lingers for me. A wise, humane book and a very special novelist."--George Hodgman, New York Times best-selling author of Bettyville

"Alison McGhee returns to the landscape of the Adirondacks in this beautifully devastating novel about the things that remain unspoken between parent and child. Clara Winter's need to know what lies on the other side of her mother's Alzheimer's-induced silence drives this book toward its ferocious conclusion. Never Coming Back is an exquisite book, brimful with nostalgia, love, regret, humor, yearning--and unforgettable prose."--Julie Schumacher, author of Dear Committee Members

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.