Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room for 18 in Dolls

Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room for 18 in Dolls - image 1 of 4
Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room for 18 in Dolls - image 2 of 4
Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room for 18 in Dolls - image 3 of 4
Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room for 18 in Dolls - image 4 of 4
Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room for 18 in Dolls - image 1 of 4
$149.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • School Room Accessory Set for 18-inch dolls
  • Working lights, clock, fire alarm, and school bell
  • Real chalkboard and chalk, and glow-in-the-dark whiteboard!
  • Includes a variety of realistic classroom accessories
  • Suggested for Age 3+ (small parts). 4 x AAA batteries included
  • Compatible with most 18-inch dolls including American Girl

Description

Get ready for A+ fun with Our Generation's Awesome Academy, the school room playset for 18-inch dolls! Full of cool features like a working fire alarm, classroom lights, and recess bell, this playset really makes the grade. Write on the chalkboard with real chalk, and turn the lights on above the glow-in-the-dark whiteboard. Lifelike accessories from miniature markers and notebooks to potted plants and tape dispensers will provide hours of detailed fun. When the school day is done, store your supplies in the hallway lockers. Includes teacher's desk, 2 student desks, and a full assortment of school supplies. The dolls in the pictures are April, Lorelei, Sia, and Reese. (Dolls and outfits sold separately, available at Target. Compatible with American Girl dolls.)
Number of Pieces: 68
Dimensions (Overall): 21.25 Inches (H) x 28.25 Inches (W) x 20 Inches (D)
Weight: 26.47 Pounds
Suggested Age: 3 Years and Up
Features: Sound Effects, Lights Up
Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided
Doll Theme: School
CPSC Choking Hazard Warnings: Choking_hazard_small_parts
Material: Metal, Plastic
Battery: 4 AAA Alkaline, Required, Included
TCIN: 50716156
UPC: 062243305496
Item Number (DPCI): 086-09-0494
Origin: Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 29.83 inches length x 7.25 inches width x 21.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 25.6 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Anyone else had problems getting the lights to work over the chalkboard? I've made sure everything is snapped together, and everything else works except that. Can't exchange cause it's never in stock.

submitted by Ershay - 7 years ago
  • A: Ours is having a similar issue. Except, it’s only one of the lights above the the chalkboard that won’t work. We followed directions and triple checked everything. Very disappointed.

    submitted byBeth - 7 years ago
  • A: Hi Leslie K. Wondering if you solved your issue. We have exactly the same issue. But we noticed the blackboard side does not seem to have completely clicked into place and we don't want to force it for fear of breaking it. Would love to know if you solved your issue somehow?

    submitted bybfolps - 7 years ago
  • A: Same problem here. Knew that it might be an issue based on what has been written by others. Followed instructions as written--chalkboard light, bell and fire alarm features do not work but whiteboard light does. Daugher is very disappointed. HELP! How are we supposed to get a working unit if they are in such short supply? Awesome toy but this is so frustrating!

    submitted byLeslie K - 7 years ago
  • A: It’s the circuit board. I had to unscrew the one under the chalkboard (big thank you to the person that mentioned it). Then I snapped the chalkboard back in place & then pushed the circuit in. Then I screwed everything back on. Works fine now. Thanks again

    submitted byMiaLove - 7 years ago
  • A: I'm having the same issue. Were you able to fix it?

    submitted bySarahrcc - 7 years ago
  • A: Having the same issue. Chalkboard side will not click in all the way. It looks like the plastic where it the floor and the wall are supposed to click into is too thick to allow the wall to fit correctly. White board is the only working part. The accessories are wonderful and my daughter was so excited to receive this gift from Santa, but is disappointed now that it is not working the way it should. I would return it to Target if I could get another one, but they are no where to be found, and there is no way I could get any of it back into the packaging. Tried contacting the company directly but they direct you to email them. Very frustrating!

    submitted byLauren A - 7 years ago
  • A: We just had this problem and followed the directions from another poster above to unscrew the circuit, pry out and push back in and now the chalkboard lights work! Thank you!

    submitted byEJ - 5 years ago
  • A: Had the same problem because the circuit did not align correctly on the blackboard side. Unscrewed the circuit and realigned it which fixed the problem.

    submitted byBantocks - 7 years ago
  • A: We are having the same problem. The back wall is very difficult to get in because the circuit connectors are at too much of an angle to pop the wall in correctly. After much work, we think we have it in correctly and we then added the side walls. The whiteboard light works, but the chalkboard light, bell, and fire alarm do not work. So disappointing!!!

    submitted byDana - 7 years ago
  • A: I set this up according to the order in the instructions and the blackboard light and alarm do not work. My girls were crushed on Christmas that their toy didn't work.

    submitted byCurious - 7 years ago
  • A: Flip whole unit upside down and now press on all walls all the way around and you will hear them all click in place once you do that everything will work.

    submitted byTarget shopper - 5 years ago
  • A: We got it to work!! We unscrewed the white trim on chalkboard side and the electrical panel as this reviewer instructed. We had to push the panel up into the connection and screwed it back in and it worked! My daughter was SO disappointed Christmas morning when it didn’t make sounds, but thanks to this reviewer (THANK YOU, THANK YOU!) Christmas was saved!!

    submitted bytldionis - 6 years ago
  • A: Same thing here! We reset all of the contact points by unscrewing them. Then it worked! We were so relieved! Good luck!

    submitted byGucci8088 - 7 years ago
  • A: Do exactly as the others have mentioned and you will make your daughter very happy! Easy fix.

    submitted byRadheidi - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. Please ensure that you place the pieces together in the order on the instruction sheet. If you have not set the toy up in the proper order, some of the electronics may not work.

    submitted byBattat Team - 7 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Turn the unit onto its back wall so you can see the white trim pieces on the bottom which contain the circuits and wires. On the chalkboard side unscrew the trim. Then unscrew the circuit and gently pry out. Then push it back in and check to see if lights work, if so reattach all. If not firmly push in circuit board or slightly turn it until lights go on, then reattach all. After I did this, my fire alarm was not working so I had to do the same on that side. Not a difficult fix and seems to work to fix the issue. I did initially assemble my unit in the correct order as specified on the direction sheet. In order to make sure everything snapped together, I had to turn the unit over so the bottom was on top and gently apply pressure to the bottom of the walls in order for them to completely snap into the slots.

    submitted bySpeechteacher - 6 years ago
  • A: Thanks to Speechteacher who posted. This saved a trip back to Target with packaging that was destroyed by the kids - getting this back in order for a return was impossible. The Circuits were not connecting properly when the pieces were snapped in place. I'd just add to make sure the brown tabs snap fully into place on all the walls - they should protrude a bit from the floor piece when fully locked. From there if the accessory electronic features aren't working, take off the white plastic channels, then unscrew the connections at the walls and firmly press into place... check the accessories which should now be working, then re-screw everything back in place. Thanks again, Speechteacher!

    submitted byace1ace - 6 years ago
  • A: I emailed the company and they responded (4 days later) with a copy of the instructions and recommended I put it together correctly! How frustrating! We followed the instructions exactly as written. The thing doesn't work. Turned it over and looked at the circuit as others have suggested. The chip is detached from the wires and would need to be soldered. Their next suggestion if I can't get it to work was to go to Target and get a refund. This is the one toy that my daughter asked Santa for and to have it not work and to not be able to exchange it is beyond frustrating for us. So very disappointed in this company right now. I emailed them back and asked if they would send out the wiring/circuits so that we could make the repair ourselves. I will let you know what I hear back.

    submitted byLeslie K - 6 years ago
  • A: I also had the same issue where the chalkboard lights and fire alarm were not working. Followed instructions to reset the circuits (huge thank you to the person who posted them), and sure enough - one circuit was not snapped into place. After snapping it in, which took some effort, everything works!

    submitted byanyutav - 6 years ago
  • A: In order to get the chalkboard to align properly you have to unscrew the cover over the circuit board that attaches to the chalkboard. After that it should be 2 screws holding the circuit in place. Unscrew those screws as well & take the circuit out of the hole.. Slide the chalkboard in its slot and then push the circuit back in the hole and into the chalkboard. Screw the 2 small screws back on and cover the circuit. It should work fine.

    submitted byMiaLove - 7 years ago

Q: Will this become available before X-mass and can you be put on a waiting list

submitted by josie - 7 years ago
  • A: I called target and that's what they told me.

    submitted byRosiec85 - 7 years ago
  • A: Item is discontinued

    submitted byRosiec85 - 7 years ago
  • A: I don’t agree that this item is discontinued. I couldn’t get it at first either so I contacted Battat ( the company that makes these) directly and was advised that this was a new item and I asked the same question if it would be available before Christmas. They told me that it would be and about a week and a half later I was able to purchase off Target.com. I don’t think it’s the fact that it’s discontinued I think it’s more that there’s people out there like me that really wanted it so they keep there eye out on it and it sells out as soon as it’s available. The day I purchased mine online it sold out within minutes of me placing my order. I’ve seen it in stock once again since I’ve purchased mine but again sold out quickly.

    submitted byAngie1984 - 7 years ago
  • A: Hello Josie. Please contact Target Customer Service directly with inventory questions.

    submitted byBattat Team - 7 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: I've been checking several times a day and just got one in stock. I see they have one left in stock so order quickly!!! Or keep checking

    submitted bychescitygirl - 7 years ago
  • A: The classroom is NOT discontinued. It is literally so new that it's just trickling into stores and appearing sporadically for shipping. This happens with all large new OG sets.

    submitted byKimornikki - 7 years ago
  • A: I was told by target it was discontinued.

    submitted byRosiec85 - 7 years ago
  • A: I just got one today, it wasn't in stock anywhere near where I live, but today limited quantities popped up today in surrounding towns. So I think they are starting to hit the stores for the holidays. No worries about discontinued, just a new item. Best of luck.

    submitted byJenny - 7 years ago
  • A: This is in stock right now as of 12/14/2017!! There are 9 left!!

    submitted byKathryn - 7 years ago

Q: Same difficulties as mentioned above, chalkboard light, bell, and alarm don't work. Tried to take out and reinsert the circuit as mentioned and still doesn't work. Any one else have this trouble too

submitted by Wishitworked - 6 years ago
  • A: We tried to contact manufacturers we got the run around. Take it back. And get your money.

    submitted byPoohhrt112 - 6 years ago
  • A: I emailed with Our Generation, and they suggested to fix the circuit because that’s what they’ve heard other people do(yes that is what they suggested). Your best bet is to return it and be done or accept it without the working sounds.

    submitted byMamaWolf - 6 years ago
  • A: Be sure the walls and floors are snapped into place tightly. I had this problem also and this was the solution.

    submitted byAnangelforus - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi there! We’re sorry to hear that! Although it may seem like the School Room is defective, in most cases, the electronics are not working because the walls have not been installed properly. If you go to the Our Generation website, you will find an instructional video, showing step by step assembly. If that doesn't resolve your problem, please complete our customer service form on the Our Generation website, so that we can follow up and make sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: I'm having the same issue. Box was completely destroyed when taking the toy out. No returning for me. What a disappointment. So pricey and doesn't work. Very upset daughter.

    submitted bySheri - 6 years ago

Q: I assembled it correctly- all the pieces snapped in. The blackboard light works, but the bell and other side’s sound don’t work. Never in to exchange it. How can I fix the 2 sound effects?

submitted by JillG - 7 years ago
  • A: I was disappointed upfront as well because nothing worked but the light over the white board. I was sure everything was aligned properly and snapped in good....so I thought. I stood up and pushed my hands down really hard pushing on the side with the chalkboard and clock and I heard a click noise and then everything started to work. Push REALLY hard even when you think you did already. I also made sure I installed each wall in the order of the instruction sheet. We haven’t had any problems with it since. I really hope this helps someone because at first I was disappointed and so were my girls.

    submitted byAngie1984 - 6 years ago
  • A: See my product review titled "Electronics Issues - Solved" for lots of helpful information on this issue. You might have had a electrical connector break like many others when you pushed the walls into place. It always seems to be the walls with the bell, fire alarm, and light switch that are problematic.

    submitted byMGF - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi there! We’re sorry to hear that! Although it may seem like the School Room is defective, in most cases, the electronics are not working because the walls have not been installed properly. If you go to the Our Generation website, you will find an instructional video, showing step by step assembly. If that doesn't resolve your problem, please complete our customer service form on the Our Generation website, so that we can follow up and make sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Try opening up the circuit under the blackboard. Unscrew the cover on the chalkboard side. Then unscrew the circuit. Slide the chalkboard into its slots and then push the circuit through the hole and into the chalkboard. Screw everything back in. It should work. If it still doesn’t work, check all the circuits to make sure none are snapped or broken. If it’s not broken, then you’re not sliding the boards all the way down into the circuit. It worked for me.

    submitted byMiaLove - 7 years ago
  • A: Do you mean the chalk board or white board? Our lights for the white board work, but the fire alarm and class bell don’t work?

    submitted byKielbov - 6 years ago

Q: Hello, we are having the same problems with the blackboard and alarm not working. Where did you unscrew under the blackboard? I do not see any screws.. Thank you!

submitted by gina - 7 years ago
  • A: See my review "Electronics Issues - Solved" for lots of helpful information on this issue. I hope it helps you out.

    submitted byMGF - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi there! We’re sorry to hear that! If you go to the Our Generation website, you will find an instructional video, showing step by step assembly. If that doesn't resolve your problem, please complete our customer service form on the Our Generation website, so that we can follow up and make sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Look underneath the classroom floor.

    submitted byMiaLove - 6 years ago

Q: How much does this weigh?

submitted by Rlg - 7 years ago
  • A: Hi there - It weighs approximately 25 pounds fully assembled. Sincerely, Our Generation Team

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: HEAVY! Heavier than it looks like it would be.

    submitted bySpeechteacher - 6 years ago
  • A: It weighs 27 pounds.

    submitted byCalimom - 7 years ago

Q: Does this set come with a lunch box?

submitted by Kt - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi kt. The Awesome Academy doe not include a lunch box. The Battat Team

    submitted byBattat Team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: I bought this item 5 years ago when it first came out. It did used to come with a metal lunchbox that had food inside. Old stock photos will show this but it's no longer included. We still have it.

    submitted byAngie1984 - 1 year ago

Q: IS there a certain way to get the school apart? My kids put a piece in before it was suppose to go and we need to take it apart.

submitted by Deanna - 5 years ago
  • A: Hi Deanna - These things do happen! The school room can be disassembled, but you will need to be very gentle. Simply pop the wall back out very, very carefully the same way it went in, and put it back into the right place. Do not force it too much to avoid having the pieces break. This is something best achieved by an adult.

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Deanna! The Awesome Academy School Room does come apart, but it requires care in certain situations. Please fill out our customer care form and one of our agents will assist you in the process. Hope this helps!

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: I see that reviews from 11 months ago indicate you had a lot of problems with the electronic components not working. Why did the company not try to fix these problems?

submitted by Kmomof3 - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi there! We are aware of the issues with the first version of the Awesome Academy and have resolved the problems in the current manufacturing run. At this time we do not anticipate any further issues, however stock of the original version may still be sold by our retail partners. In the event of any issues with your Awesome Academy, you can simply contact our Customer Help at the Battat website and our customer service team will make sure that you can get your Awesome Academy up and running!

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Kmomof3 - The issue people were having was with the assembly of this item, not the manufacturing of the parts. Because of all the neat features, assembly is complicated with the Awesome Academy and many of our customers struggled to get everything in place, much to our regret. If you read through the reviews and questions though, you will see that most customers have been successful and are enjoying the school.

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago

Q: I have read above that many have experienced problems with the lights and sounds working correctly... has this problem recently been resolved by the manufacturer (most of the reviews were from 10-12 months ago)?

submitted by lzs - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi lzs - The issue people were having was with the assembly of the school. Because of all the features, it takes time, patience and quite a lot of muscle to get all the pieces in place so the circuits are activated. It seems though, with helping each other via this website and others, that most of the issues have been resolved. There are many kiddos having hours of fun with their Awesome Academy!

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi there! We are aware of the issues with the first version of the Awesome Academy and have resolved the problems in the current manufacturing run. At this time we do not anticipate any further issues, however stock of the original version may still be sold by our retail partners. In the event of any issues with your Awesome Academy, you can simply contact our Customer Help at the Battat website and our customer service team will make sure that you can get your Awesome Academy up and running!

    submitted byBattat Team - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

School Days Collection

About the collection
Get your 18-inch dolls ready for another season at Awesome Academy with colorful school accessories and fun playsets from the Our Generation School Days Collection! Pick out stylish outfits to wear on your doll's first day of class and decorate your desk or locker with realistic supplies as you learn the most interesting subjects in the Awesome Academy Schoolroom. It features a working bell, clock, chalkboard, and opening desks to enjoy a semester full of endless fun!
View School Days Collection collection
3.9 out of 5 stars with 994 reviews
62% would recommend
455 recommendations
value: 3.07 out of 5
quality: 3.36 out of 5
broad age appeal: 4.42 out of 5

Hidden Issues! DO NOT BUY!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
showcorvettelove - 15 days ago, Verified purchaser
BUYER BEWARE. I should have really combed through the reviews before purchase. SHORT STORY: Wall with alarm doesn’t work, and I can’t get it apart because the floors warped. Multiple accessories in the box were also broken/dented. Had zero way of knowing it didn’t work… until it was put together due to the construction of the electronics. Target has refused my refund, even knowing I can’t disassemble it. Now I’m even more furious seeing my problem is NOT uncommon. MORE DETAILS: When all the questions are about the lights and alarm not working… that’s a manufacturer problem. Why is Target still selling these at $160+ after tax? We, the consumer, are unknowingly buying a circuit board DIY project. I must have hit the real jackpot because mine won’t even dissemble because the bottom floor is warped. I’ve documented this with photos and video. Target refuses to issue a refund unless I take it back to the store. It’s assembled and won’t come part to fit back in my car. This was for my daughter’s 10th birthday. She’s crushed, much like the other kids mentioned in these reviews. I feel bad for the kids that got it broken at Christmas. At least that didn’t happen to me.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 14 days ago
Hi showcorvettelove - We’re sorry to hear that! Although it may seem like the School Room is defective, in most cases, the electronics are not working because the walls have not been installed properly. If you go to the Our Generation website, you will find an instructional video, showing step by step assembly. Please make sure that you have set it up on a flat surface (not carpet or tiles) and that the black circuit pieces on the base of the side pieces are lined up with the circuit pieces on the base unit (run fingers over top of unit to verify). If that doesn't resolve your problem, please go to the Our Generation website, click on "Contact Us", then "Customer Care" and complete the online form. We want to be able to follow up with you directly so we can be sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.
broad age appeal: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Disappointed precise

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Mom425 - 24 days ago, Verified purchaser
School bell and fire alarm did not work. Very disappointing considering the cost of the item.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 19 days ago
Hi Mom 425 - We are sorry to hear that you are having some trouble getting all of the features working on the Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room. As you may have seen from other reviews, it's important for all of the walls to be secured firmly into the floor base. There are some hints from other customers in the reviews, and an instructional video on the Our Generation website that we help you get the bell and alarm working. Sincerely, Team Battat
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

A great experience!

5 out of 5 stars
- 27 days ago
originally posted on Maison Battat
I have had this for a year now and it has been an adventure every day with this playset! It makes school more fun for everyone! I definitely recommend this!
Did you find this review helpful?

School Acadamey

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
school acadamey - 28 days ago, Verified purchaser
It is a great toy my daughter loves it she has been non-stop playing with it ever since she got it. It has the perfect amount of space and is super cute.
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Girlmom - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
So disappointed. After getting it all set up the only part that works is the light on the whiteboard. Our daughter was too excited to play with it to disassemble and return. Not worth the money we spent on it.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 2 months ago
Hi Girlmom - We are sorry to hear that you were unable to get all of the features working on the Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room. It is most likely an assembly issue, rather than a defective unit. We encourage you to go to the Our Generation website and watch the installation video we have made available. You might also find some helpful hints from other customers that have shared their experience on target.com. Many have resolved their issue by applying a little more pressure! Sincerely, Team Battat
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

It was so fun to play with and me and me and my sister loved it

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
It was so fun five stars - 2 months ago
It was so fun to play with and me and my sister loved it. We had the lunch and all the lunchboxes and all of our dolls fit perfectly into the background five out of five for me
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Makes my daughter really happy

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Britt - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Very cute school house! It has a working fire alarm and school bell. The supplies are very cool! It came with real tape, but it didn’t work, as well as pretend pencils, markers, stapler, ruler, paper, charts, folders, etc. I would recommend this toy. My daughter loves it. She plays with it a lot. When you put chairs in the school house, they move all around though. Overall, great purchase!
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

So happy

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Katiemomof3 - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
My daughter is so happy with this school. My husband was able to snap the pieces into bottom circuit board and all electronics are working fine. Couldn't be more happy with the purchase.
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Very cool but broken and Target won't help

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Alyssa - 4 months ago
This classroom is so cool and has so many aweseome details. My 7 year old absolutely loves it for her American Girl Dolls. However, on her birthday, when she received it for a gift and we assembled it, only the power on the back wall would work. The sounds and lights on the other walls won't work (as seen in other comments). We have changed batteries and reassembled it several times, it will not work. I live chatted with someone at Target who told me my only option is to bring it to a store. This thing is way too massive to bring to a store by myself and if I unassemble it, I would have to break the brackets on the walls to do so. This is super disappointing as it is a brand new, very pricey, birthday gift and Target told me there is nothing they can do.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 4 months ago
Hi Alyssa! We’re sorry to hear that! We really want your daughter to enjoy playing with all of the features of the Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room. Please go to the Our Generation website and click on "Contact Us" then "Customer Care" and fill out our customer service form so that we can follow up with you directly. Sincerely, Team Battat.
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Awesome!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
MiRel - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
5 year olds Christmas gift, she just opened today. WOW. Love everything about it! So much detail, so many pieces! I am not sure how it will work with 18 inch dolls, for now just teacher was 18 inch, students were Barbie sized. Might get a little tight with large dolls. Also, the door bell doesnt work (but the other side, the fire alarm, works). Highly recommend. What would I have given to have something like this 40 year ago😍
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Upset

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Monique - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is Beautiful. I bought this for my daughter as a Christmas gift. Unfortunately like a lot of the other reviews the only things that work is the light above the dry erase board. This is upsetting nothing else works!!!!!!
1 reply from Battat Team team - 5 months ago
Hi Monique - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can understand that you and your daughter would be disappointed. Have you gone onto the Our Generation website and searched for the OG Awesome Academy School Room? There is an instructional video that shows clearly how to assemble this playset so that all of the electronics work. We hope you find it helpful. Sincerely, Team Battat
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Dont wast your money

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Pylestone - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Personally would not buy again due to quality and practicality. You would be better off buying the desks and things separate and making a little chalkboard that can be moved and held so they have space to play with it. I only gave this a 2 star because it’s cute. As for quantity, meaning working, I would have to agree with everyone else! I thought by now they would have gotten the flaws worked out and some of it may have been user error, wrong. When putting this together, I followed the advice on the reviews make sure to put pressure down when putting it together so everything got clicked in. Now testing time, praying that everything works, I get to the bell the last thing, it failed! We (husband) tried pushing harder, wiggling it, nothing. So I look for a customer service number on the instructions, not one there, I do find one on the box. I call it, 1-866-665-5524, only to have a recording answer me in French. I could understand enough to know I had the right number, after the French was over, English came on to tell you to press 0, only to put to voicemail! Such great customer service. Calling Target CS is a bigger joke! First they want you to take this big thing back to the store (thing I was trying to avoid by call CS) with our breaking it, not happening in my small car and then.. they want me to find all 68 little items it comes with too!! They have got to be kidding! Maybe if I took it from our granddaughter on Christmas morning and never let her touch a gift she wanted I might be able to do that! Personally I think it’s time Target starts taking responsibility for selling a product they have know issues with. It’s neglectful on their end for not pulling the item and making them fix the issue this product has had for a long time, but instead that pass it off to the consumer to deal with and the kids that get let down.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 5 months ago
Hi Pylestone - We are sorry to hear that the bell didn't work on your Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room! We really want your granddaughter to enjoy playing with all of the cool components. Please go to the Our Generation website and click on "Contact Us" then "Customer Care" and fill out our customer service form so that we can follow up with you directly. Sincerely, Team Battat.
quality: 1 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Tara - 6 months ago
Love it so Worth the price!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

School Room

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
DC - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
The lights for the chalkboard, the school bell, and the fire alarm don’t work. We purchased two of them and neither one works.
1 reply from Battat Team team - 5 months ago
Hi DC - Thank you for sharing our experience. We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with the electronic features of the Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room. There is a step-by-step assembly video on the Our Generation website that you might find useful. Often, the issue can be solved simply by applying more pressure to ensure all the pieces are secure. Sincerely, Team Battat
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Poor connections.

2 out of 5 stars
Santa - 6 months ago
originally posted on Maison Battat
Daughter loves it but despite it being completely clipped down the school bell and fire alarm does not work. Tried to undo it but once its clipped they will break depsite using tools to get it undone again.
1 reply from Team Battat team - 6 months ago
Hi Santa! We are sorry to hear that the fire alarm and school bell don't work. Usually when that happens, it is because the walls aren't completely connected. If you go to the Our Generation website, you will find a video showing how to assemble the Our Generation Awesome Academy. If the video doesn't help, and you'd like us to follow up with you directly, please go to the Our Generation website and click on "Contact Us", then "Customer Care" and fill out the online form. We want all of our customers to be completely satisfied! Sincerely,
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Cuter than expected!

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Jazmine - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Very cute toy! It was bigger than I expected which was not entirely a bad thing. Both of my girls (9 and 1) love this toy.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Highly recommend

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
TaydaBP - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
I love how easy it is to put together & take a part. Not too many tiny pieces either. Also, it doesn’t take up much space in my daughter’s room. She loves it!
value: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great Set, Hours of Play!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
NJMamaOf3 - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
My 7 year old daughter and 3 year old son play with this for hours on end. It's great for imaginative play. There's a YouTube video on how to put it together, it's a little over 1 minute long. Watched that and everything works fine.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 4 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Targetbuyer - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Half of it didn’t work and the clock screws wouldn’t come out to install the battery
1 reply from Battat Team team - 5 months ago
Hi Targetbuyer! We’re sorry to hear that! We really want your little one to enjoy playing with the Our Generation Awesome Academy School Room. Please go to the Our Generation website and click on "Contact Us" then "Customer Care" and fill out our customer service form. We want to make sure that you are completely satisfied! Sincerely, Team Battat.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Doors don't open.

3 out of 5 stars
SWright22 - 6 months ago
Cute and fun, but the doors don't open.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy