EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Roller Girl ( Roller Girl) (Paperback) by Victoria Jamieson

Roller Girl ( Roller Girl) (Paperback) by Victoria Jamieson - image 1 of 1
Roller Girl ( Roller Girl) (Paperback) by Victoria Jamieson - image 1 of 1
$9.64 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"A graphic novel adventure about a girl who discovers roller derby right as she and her best friend are growing apart"--



Book Synopsis



The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school... in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power!



Review Quotes



A Newbery Honor book
2016-2017 Texas Bluebonnet Award winner
A New York Times Bestseller
A Spring 2015 Indie Next Pick
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015
A New York Public Library Best Book for Reading and Sharing of 2015
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2015
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2015
A Top 10 Latin@ Book of 2015
A Parents Magazine Best Children's Book of 2015
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2015
A Texas Bluebonnet Award 2016-2017 nominee
A 2016 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers selection
A 2016 YALSA Popular Paperback selection
An ALA Notable Children's Book of 2016
A 2015 Nerdy Book Club Award Winner for Best Graphic Novel


"Roller Girl's message of self-discovery, friendship, and perseverance will roll its way right into your heart." --Raina Telgemeier, New York Times bestselling author of Sisters

"This spiky, winning graphic novel captures the bittersweetness of finding a new passion and saying goodbye to your former, more uncertain self." --New York Times Book Review

* Jamieson captures this snapshot of preteen angst with a keenly decisive eye, brilliantly juxtaposing the nuances of roller derby with the twists and turns of adolescent girls' friendships...Full of charm and moxie--don't let this one roll past. --Kiruks, starred review

* "The story will engage readers... Offer this comic to fans of Telgemeier's Smile and Laura Lee Gulledge's Page by Paige."--School Library Journal, starred review

* Readers will stand up and cheer.--Publishers Weekly, starred review

* Jamieson's dialogue captures coming-of-age...so authentically--Horn Book, starred review

* [A] sharp and engaging graphic novel"--BCCB, starred review

Visually, Roller Girl is very appealing -- think Lynn Johnston with a modern edge -- but it's the storytelling that really sets this graphic novel apart...A great choice for tween girls, whether they're remaking themselves, renegotiating friendships or just weathering the stormy seas of early adolescence. --Chicago Tribune



About The Author



Victoria Jamieson received her BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design. She worked as a children's book designer before moving to Portland and becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.5 Inches (W) x .9 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.1 Pounds
Suggested Age: 9-12 Years
Number of Pages: 239
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Comics + Graphic Novels / General, Sports + Recreation / General
Series Title: Roller Girl
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Format: Paperback
Author: Victoria Jamieson
Language: English
Street Date: March 10, 2015
TCIN: 16950610
UPC: 9780803740167
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-1078
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.6 inches length x 0.9 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
5.0 out of 5 stars with 5 reviews
100% would recommend
2 recommendations

Cute

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Nic82 - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Cute book my daughter is 10 years old and really liked it!
Did you find this review helpful?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Kenna - 3 years ago
This book was an amazing book for my ten year old. She loves and could hardly put it down
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads