Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials™

Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 4
Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials™ - image 2 of 4
Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials™ - image 3 of 4
Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials™ - image 4 of 4
Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 4
$12.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Easy-to-install shower curtain rod is a must-have addition to your bath space
  • Crafted from sturdy metal for durable, long-term use
  • Can be adjusted from 44in to 72in in length
  • Neutral color pairs easily with a range of decor schemes

Description

Add this Shower Tension Rod from Room Essentials™ to your bathroom to complete your decor with functional style. Made from sturdy steel with rust-resistant properties for long-term durability, this shower curtain rod features a neutral color scheme that easily pairs with the curtain of your choice for an eye-catching addition. The tension design makes it easy to install over your tub or across your shower, and the rod can be adjusted from 44 inches to 72 inches for convenient, customizable use.
Unextended Length: 44 Inches
Maximum Rod Diameter: 1 Inches
Extended Length: 72 Inches
TCIN: 54155865
Item Number (DPCI): 064-08-0760
Origin: Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 40.5 inches length x 1.3 inches width x 1.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.99 pounds
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 365 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: How do you shorten the rod once it has been extended? Mine will not go back in?

submitted by Mandy - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello Mandy, this rod may be in lock position, we recommend holding the smaller pole and rotate counter clockwise (turning towards you) to unlock the rod, from there you will be able to extend or shorten the rod. Thank you..

    submitted byMaytex - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Mandy - Great question, we suggest checking out the great video included within the item's photo reel, which demonstrates how to adjust the rod as needed. We hope this helps, thanks for stopping by! - MJ

    submitted byMJ - 3 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: how to work rod will not open?

submitted by cindy - 10 months ago
  • A: Hello! In order to unlock this Shower Tension Rod @ Target. Cindy! Please place hands on Both Poles and turn counter clockwise, this should enable the Rod to open. Kindly reach out to our Customer Service Department at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:30am to 5:00pm Est., for help.

    submitted byMaytex - 10 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the diameter of the end caps on the rod, not the rod itself?

submitted by jenrob - 2 years ago
  • A: Hello - Thank you for contacting us about the Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials. Please see the below specifications that can be found on Target.com. Let us know if you have any additional questions. Specifications: - Unextended Length: 43 Inches - Maximum Rod Diameter: 1 Inches - Extended Length: 72 Inches

    submitted byDenyce - 2 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: what can you do when the pole won't swist open? how do you find the video

submitted by Nana - 2 years ago
  • A: You can see the video tutorial by following this link, https://www.target.com/p/-/-/A-76779447. Make sure to twist rod towards yourself first. Thank you for your question!

    submitted byMaytex - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Could this rod be used for curtains on a sliding glass door, as long as the length fits? Or is there some reason it would ONLY be for showers?

submitted by m19 - 3 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your question! The Shower Tension Rods can fit an opening up to 60" and 72". It should be able to fit if the opening of the sliding door falls within the size of rod. The sides of the wall should also have enough space to hold the finials. I hope this helps!

    submitted byMaytex - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Hi. Does this rod have to be installed with screws or does it just stick to the walls? Thanks

submitted by Ruby - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello Ruby, This Room Essentials Shower Rod does not uses screws its a Tension Mount Rod..

    submitted byMaytex - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Hello is this shower rod adjustable

submitted by Nikki G - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello NIkki G, this rod can adjustable from 44 inches to 72 inches wide. Thank you..

    submitted byMaytex - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: how much weight can it hold?

submitted by isabel - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello isabel, our 72" Shower Tension Rod can hold up to 20lbs. Thank you.

    submitted byMaytex - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: My shower opening is exactly 72 in.Will I need a wider one? Or is 72 fine? Thanks

submitted by Laura - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello Laura, no, you will not need a wider rod this rod extends up to 72" which is within the size of your opening.

    submitted byMaytex - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is the smallest reduced size at least 48"?

submitted by CarolO - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello CarolO, Thank you for asking. This rod extends from 44" to 72"

    submitted byMaytex - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Shower Collection - Room Essentials™

Shower Collection - Room Essentials™

Back to College Bath Collection - Room Essentials™

Back to College Bath Collection - Room Essentials™

4.0 out of 5 stars with 1069 reviews
43% would recommend
200 recommendations
value: 2.86 out of 5
quality: 2.63 out of 5

Do not buy

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
A - 17 days ago, Verified purchaser
The worst tension rod ever. Does not stay at all.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Tension rods

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Abcdefgh - 24 days ago, Verified purchaser
They keep falling even tho I tension them pretty tight.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Pass on this

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Liz - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Won’t stay up. My old rod stayed up for years and this one barely stays up a few hours
1 reply from Maytex team - 1 month ago
Hi Liz! We are sorry to hear that your Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials @ Target is not staying on the Wall. Liz! We are here to help! Kindly reach out the Manufacturer's Customer Service Department at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:30am to 5:00pm Est for help in getting your Rod installed. Thank you.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Awful

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
msoda - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I have an old one of these that works perfectly. This one falls down on a daily basis if not just immediately after install. Horrible defective product
1 reply from Maytex team - 2 months ago
Hi Msoda, thank you for sharing your comments online. We are sorry you had such a time with the installation of your new Shower Rod. Should your Rod give any more trouble staying up, there may be a defect with the cam nut mechanism that locks your rod into place. Also, be sure to extend your rod by 2" more than your measured opening to ensure a tensioned fit. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing you again in the future. Our Customer Service Department is also available for any and all assistance at 1-800-892-3986. Thanks again!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Defective

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
jc - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Couldn’t even use it because it was defective. The piece on the end completely came off when I took it out of the plastic packaging. Booooo!!! 👎🏼
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Danger Will Robinson!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Shamwhizzle - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Terrible product. Never could get it to fit properly. It fell pretty often even though it was only holding a liner. Said enough when it bonked me in the noggin pretty hard one morning- especially since I’m recovering from TBI. Got a basic spring rod and feel much safer!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Poor quality

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
CT - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
Broken right out of the box and unable to return.
1 reply from Maytex team - 4 months ago
Hi CT, we’re so sorry you're not satisfied with your purchase. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope you give us the chance to make it right! This product is a twist tight tension rod which has a cam nut mechanism inside for installation. There may be a defect with your mechanism; however, your product can be replaced if it's within its warranty period, the manufacturer’s Customer Service Care Experts will be happy to send you replacement. Please give them a call at 1-800-892-3986 for assistance. We strive to make the very best products at the very best prices! We are sure they would love the opportunity to help remedy your experience and look forward to hearing from you.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great price

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
twin mom +1 - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
My pre-teen was being extra and wanted to put curtains in one part of her room that shouldn’t have a curtain rod (insert shrug). So, this was a good temporary solution to her idea without damaging walls with curtain hardware. Only draw back is that the tension rod seems to be a little weak compared to other brands I have used in the past. I’ve had to put up the tension rod a few times in the past month because it has fallen down.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

this is not a tension rod

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Molly - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is NOT a standard tension rod. There is no spring/give in it at all. You just crank it until it "fits" which means there is very little holding it in place. It's not secure at all.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Good

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Mn - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
It was good and easy to use.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not worth the extra $ saved

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Moya - 4 months ago
I’ve purchased this on two separate occasions and both times it fell within 48 hours. It doesn’t hold the tension and falls out of nowhere, even if it’s just been sitting without being used. Once it’s fallen, it’s pretty much done. The sticky ends either rub off or gets stuck on your wall. You’re better off spending more to get a better one.
1 reply from Maytex team - 4 months ago
Hello Moya! We are so disappointed to hear that your Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials @ Target does not hold the tension and keeps falling off the Wall. Moya! We are here to help! We can send you a video or we can walk you step by step through the installation, which ever method you prefer. Please contact the manufacturer's customer service department at tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8;30am to 5:00pm Est for help. Representatives are standing by to help.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Would recommend

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
SaraQJ - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
Quality curtain rod, great price
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Forget It

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
nancy - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
Broke when putting it up!!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

It loves to fall down!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
ARiddle22 - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
Absolutely awful. It doesn’t hold the tension. This stupid thing has fallen down during showers multiple times. It’s so difficult to put up. I wish I spent the extra money for a nicer tension rod initially.
1 reply from Maytex team - 5 months ago
Hello! We are very disappointed to hear of your Shower Tension Rod @ Target keeps falling off the wall. ARiddle2! We can send you a link to a video or we can walk you step by step through the installation. whichever mode preferred. Please reach out to the manufacturer's Customer Service department at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:30am to 5:00pm Est for help in getting your Rod installed. Thank you.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Avoid

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Ray - 6 months ago
I am an engineer and use curtain rods at several rental properties. This one simply does not work.
1 reply from Maytex team - 6 months ago
Hi! We are disappointed to hear that your Shower Tension Rod @ Target does not work. Ray! We can send you a link to a video or we can walk you step by step through the installation, which ever method you prefer. Please reach out to the manufacturer's Customer Service department at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:30am to 5:00pm Est. Representatives are standing by to help. Thank you.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible shower curtain rod

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Unhappy - 6 months ago
Almost busted my head open when this shower curtain came crashing down on my head. Had one of these before and made the mistake of buying one again. Simply doesn't work.
1 reply from Maytex team - 6 months ago
Hello! We are sorry to hear of the issue you have had with your Shower Tension Rod @ Target falling. We would like to hear back from you to discuss this issue further. Kindly reach out to the Customer Service department at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:30am to 5:00pm Est. Thank you.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Dont buy

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Ddslabey - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
It’s crap doesn’t work
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Poor Quality

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Mitchell - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Besides not locking, the ends have bad rubber feet, so you might end up damaging your wall. What's more, the rods are really light-weight so even if you do get one that works, one little tug and it will bend.
1 reply from Maytex team - 6 months ago
Hello! We are sorry to hear that you are having issue with the installation of your Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials @ Target. Mitchell! We can send you a link to a video or we can walk you through the installation. Please reach out to the manufacturer's Customer Service department for help at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:.30am to 5:00pm Est. Representatives are standing by to help. Thank you.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great find

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Sweet n Sassy - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
These things are hard to find since Bed Bath & Beyond is online only
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Safety Concern and useless

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Dale - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Would even consider to be a dangerous product. Terrible design. A fraction of a turn and the entire tension is undone. It require a counter turn of less than an ⅛ inch to unlock. Bump it by accident done. Also has weak tension capability. You have to unscrew the caps for the actual fine tension. However it is not good. Perhaps it works okay on full expansion but not on an incremental distance. The finish looks like quality. Don’t be fooled by it looking quality, it is poorly designed. Would say not if will fall or slowing slip done on the wall but when.
1 reply from Maytex team - 6 months ago
Hello! We are very disappointed to hear that your Shower Tension Rod - Room Essentials @ Target does not adhere to the shower wall. Dale! Please reach out the manufacturer's Customer Service department at Tel# 800 892 3986 Monday - Friday from 8:30am to 5:00pm Est. for help in getting your Rod reinstalled. Thank you.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy