Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Woman with the Blue Star - by Pam Jenoff (Paperback)

The Woman with the Blue Star - by Pam Jenoff (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Woman with the Blue Star - by Pam Jenoff (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$10.49 sale price when purchased online
$17.99 list price

About this item

Description



About the Book



"Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it's a girl hiding. Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds."--



Book Synopsis



"This emotional novel is filled with twists, turns, and displays of bravery and love that you will never forget, culminating in an ending that manages to be both surprising and uplifting." --Lisa Scottoline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eternal

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of courage and unlikely friendship during World War II.

1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents in the Kraków Ghetto during World War II. When the Nazis liquidate the ghetto, Sadie and her pregnant mother are forced to seek refuge in the perilous tunnels beneath the city. One day Sadie looks up through a grate and sees a girl about her own age buying flowers.

Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it's a girl hiding.

Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds. Inspired by incredible true stories, The Woman with the Blue Star is an unforgettable testament to the power of friendship and the extraordinary strength of the human will to survive.



Review Quotes



"Mesmerizing and meticulous... Jenoff creates a rich historical drama from her compelling characters' connection, growth, and perseverance." --Booklist

"Pam Jenoff's meticulously researched account of an unlikely and dangerous friendship during WWII is a timely and compelling account of the lengths we go to for the family we are born with, and the family we make for ourselves. It will leave you gasping at the end." --Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Two Ways and A Spark of Light

"Heartfelt and beautifully written... This emotional novel is filled with twists, turns, and displays of bravery and love that you will never forget, culminating in an ending that manages to be both surprising and uplifting at the same time. This is singular historical fiction that you will not be able to put down." --Lisa Scottoline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eternal

"As I read this searing story of the Holocaust, I was transported, heart and soul, to a moment in history that still defies comprehension. In Pam Jenoff's sure and sensitive hands, however, this is a story of friendship, love, and hope - hope that transcends even the darkest days of our past. The Woman with the Blue Star is a profoundly moving novel from a writer who is, deservedly, both admired and beloved for the truth, power, and beauty of her work." --Jennifer Robson, New York Times bestselling author of The Gown

"The Woman with the Blue Star is a beautifully written and extraordinarily well-researched story. Pam Jenoff captures the trials and the triumphs of the human spirit during the WW2 era like no one else. This book is a must-read for all historical fiction fans." --Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say

"The Woman with the Blue Star crackles with suspense as this haunting, harrowing tale of love, loss and survival takes us deeper and deeper into the lives of two courageous young women. This is the historic fiction novel Pam Jenoff was born to write, and she does so with passion and authenticity. Readers who loved The Nightingale and The Alice Network will happily follow The Woman with the Blue Star into this new intriguing Eastern European-set landscape." --Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hello Summer and Sunset Beach

"Once again, Pam Jenoff displays her mastery at illuminating little-known yet remarkably important nuggets of WWII history. I was immediately mesmerized by The Woman with the Blue Star, a haunting tale of enduring bonds, impossible sacrifice, and an inspiring fortitude to survive the darkness--in every sense. Book clubs will assuredly devour this compulsively readable novel that both wrenches and warms the heart." --Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of Sold on a Monday

Dimensions (Overall): 9 Inches (H) x 1 Inches (W) x 6 Inches (D)
Weight: 1 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 336
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Historical
Publisher: Park Row
Format: Paperback
Author: Pam Jenoff
Book theme: World War II
Language: English
Street Date: May 4, 2021
TCIN: 81225916
UPC: 9780778389385
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-4753
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.59 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.6 out of 5 stars with 5 reviews
0% would recommend
1 recommendations

The book is kinda mhm

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Spackarmy - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
I got this book because I though it be amazing after 3 chapters it’s carry slow not much to see or read and at the very beginning before you get in to the book it tells you this book is stolen and that The author in publisher thought it was destroyed would kind of ruined my perception of what should’ve been a really good book
Did you find this review helpful?

Never Forget

5 out of 5 stars
Maureen - 3 years ago
Pam Jenoff gives us a story that although fictional is based on actual happening, during the period of terror in Europe, know as WWII. In this page turner read the Gault family is running for their lives, and their crime? Being Jewish! What a horrible time, a blight on history, and through the eyes of this young eighteen year old we are experiencing what life was like back then. Can you imagine living in a sewer? The smell, and then not being able to bathe and get this slime off of you, and to do this for months and months. Then finding food? Thank goodness for some good samaritans, but, the evil catches up with them too, how do they survive? This is an eye opener, and a story that needs to be told, and not forgotten. Love the epilogue! I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Harlequin, and was not required to give a positive review.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy