Loading, please wait...

The Woman with the Blue Star - by Pam Jenoff (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 9 Inches (H) x 1 Inches (W) x 6 Inches (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Number of Pages: 336

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Historical

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Park Row

Author: Pam Jenoff

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: World War II

Language: English

Street Date: May 4, 2021
TCIN: 81225916
UPC: 9780778389385
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-4753
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it's a girl hiding. Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds."--



Book Synopsis



"This emotional novel is filled with twists, turns, and displays of bravery and love that you will never forget, culminating in an ending that manages to be both surprising and uplifting." --Lisa Scottoline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eternal

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of courage and unlikely friendship during World War II.

1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents in the Kraków Ghetto during World War II. When the Nazis liquidate the ghetto, Sadie and her pregnant mother are forced to seek refuge in the perilous tunnels beneath the city. One day Sadie looks up through a grate and sees a girl about her own age buying flowers.

Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it's a girl hiding.

Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds. Inspired by incredible true stories, The Woman with the Blue Star is an unforgettable testament to the power of friendship and the extraordinary strength of the human will to survive.



Review Quotes



"Mesmerizing and meticulous... Jenoff creates a rich historical drama from her compelling characters' connection, growth, and perseverance." --Booklist

"Pam Jenoff's meticulously researched account of an unlikely and dangerous friendship during WWII is a timely and compelling account of the lengths we go to for the family we are born with, and the family we make for ourselves. It will leave you gasping at the end." --Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Two Ways and A Spark of Light

"Heartfelt and beautifully written... This emotional novel is filled with twists, turns, and displays of bravery and love that you will never forget, culminating in an ending that manages to be both surprising and uplifting at the same time. This is singular historical fiction that you will not be able to put down." --Lisa Scottoline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eternal

"As I read this searing story of the Holocaust, I was transported, heart and soul, to a moment in history that still defies comprehension. In Pam Jenoff's sure and sensitive hands, however, this is a story of friendship, love, and hope - hope that transcends even the darkest days of our past. The Woman with the Blue Star is a profoundly moving novel from a writer who is, deservedly, both admired and beloved for the truth, power, and beauty of her work." --Jennifer Robson, New York Times bestselling author of The Gown

"The Woman with the Blue Star is a beautifully written and extraordinarily well-researched story. Pam Jenoff captures the trials and the triumphs of the human spirit during the WW2 era like no one else. This book is a must-read for all historical fiction fans." --Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say

"The Woman with the Blue Star crackles with suspense as this haunting, harrowing tale of love, loss and survival takes us deeper and deeper into the lives of two courageous young women. This is the historic fiction novel Pam Jenoff was born to write, and she does so with passion and authenticity. Readers who loved The Nightingale and The Alice Network will happily follow The Woman with the Blue Star into this new intriguing Eastern European-set landscape." --Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hello Summer and Sunset Beach

"Once again, Pam Jenoff displays her mastery at illuminating little-known yet remarkably important nuggets of WWII history. I was immediately mesmerized by The Woman with the Blue Star, a haunting tale of enduring bonds, impossible sacrifice, and an inspiring fortitude to survive the darkness--in every sense. Book clubs will assuredly devour this compulsively readable novel that both wrenches and warms the heart." --Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of Sold on a Monday

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Fri, May 21 with free 2-day shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.59 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.