Loading, please wait...

They Both Die at the End - by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End - by Adam Silvera - image 1 of 1
They Both Die at the End - by Adam Silvera - image 1 of 1
Format Paperback

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x .8 Inches (W) x 6.8 Inches (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Suggested Age: 13-19 Years

Number of Pages: 416

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Social Themes

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Author: Adam Silvera

Book theme: Death, Grief, Bereavement

Language: English

Street Date: April 6, 2021
TCIN: 53767754
UPC: 9780062457806
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-2593
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Silvera's heartbreaking but hopeful instant "New York Times" is now in paperback. In a world where people receive a phone call on the day they're going to die, Rufus and Mateo meet through an app and come up with a perfect plan to live their last hours to the fullest.



Book Synopsis



Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure--to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound."

Featuring a map of the novel's characters and their connections, an exclusive essay by the author, and a behind-the-scenes look at the early outlines for this critically acclaimed bestseller.



From the Back Cover



We here at Last Friend Inc. are collectively sorry for this loss of you.

Our deepest sympathies extend to those who love you and those who will never meet you.

We hope you find a new friend of value to spend your final hours with today.

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to deliver some bad news: They're going to die in less than twenty-four hours. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news is there's an app for that. It's called Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo meet up for one final epic adventure--to live a lifetime in a single day.



Review Quotes



★"Extraordinary and unforgettable."--Booklist (starred review)

★"It's another standout from Silvera. Engrossing, contemplative, and as heart-wrenching as the title promises."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★"Over the course of an eventful day, these thoughtful young men speak honestly and movingly about their fate, their anger at its unfairness, and what it means to be alive, until their budding friendship organically turns into something more."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ "Silvera continues to masterfully integrate diversity, disability, and young queer voices into an appealing story with a lot of heart. A must-have for YA shelves."--School Library Journal (starred review)

"They Both Die at the End is beautiful and charged with emotion, and Silvera's best work to date."--Jordan April, The River's End Bookstore, for the Autumn 2017 Teen Indie Next List

"A bold, lovely, and haunting story of loss, hope, and the redeeming power of friendship."--Lauren Oliver, New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall

"Adam Silvera uses his ample skill to force readers to examine how they live life now and how they want to live it. They Both Die at the End is a prime example of his skill at asking the most relevant questions of all of us."--Teen Vogue

"Silvera not only poignantly captures the raw emotion of facing your own morality, but creates such relatable and authentic characters you want to follow on their journey. His gorgeous writing and wonderful storytelling will wreck you in the very best possible way."--Buzzfeed

"Themes of friendship, love, loss, and fate combine in this novel that should be read with a box of tissues close at hand."--Brightly
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.2 inches width x 7.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.66 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars with 28 reviews
85% would recommend
20 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.