EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleLunar New YearCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Lying in the Deep - by Diana Urban - image 1 of 1
Lying in the Deep - by Diana Urban - image 1 of 1
$11.39 when purchased online

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



A juicy mystery of jealousy, love, and betrayal set on a Semester at Sea-inspired cruise ship, with a diverse cast of delightfully suspicious characters who'll leave you guessing with every jaw-dropping twist.

After being jilted by her ex-boyfriend and best friend, Jade couldn't be more ready to embark on the adventure of a lifetime--11 countries in 4 months, all from the luxurious Campus on Board ship--and to wedge an entire globe between her and the people who broke her heart.

But when Jade discovers the backstabbing couple are also setting sail, her obsession with them grows and festers, leading to a shocking murder. And as their friends begin to drop like flies, Jade and her new crush must race to clear her name and find the killer they're trapped at sea with....before anyone else winds up in body bags.

Perfect for readers of Natalie D. Richards, E. Lockhart, and Karen McManus!



Review Quotes




A twisted tale of betrayal, heartbreak, and revenge, Lying in the Deep is shocking from the very first page. As gory as a slasher and as fun as a comedy, this book is a must-read for thriller fans.
-- Jessica Goodman, bestselling author of The Counselors

Diana Urban is the Agatha Christie of today's YA audience. Lying in the Deep had me utterly engrossed from the jaw-dropping prologue to the final murderous twist. An absolutely thrilling and romantic read all the way through, and I can't recommend it highly enough.
--Jessica S. Olson, author of A Forgery of Roses

"Whatever your age, this twisty and surprising thriller--with gorgeous settings, swoon-worthy romance, toxic friendships, and a surprise around every corner--will keep you turning the pages as fast as you can. This is storytelling at its best!"
-- Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today Bestselling Author of Her Perfect Life



About the Author



Diana Urban is an author of dark, twisty thrillers, including All Your Twisted Secrets (HarperTeen) and These Deadly Games (Wednesday Books). Her novels have been published internationally, and she'll be featured in the Firsts and Lasts anthology (Penguin Workshop, 2023). When she's not torturing fictional characters, she freelances in content writing and digital marketing. She lives with her husband and cat in Boston and enjoys reading, playing video games, fawning over cute animals, and looking at the beach from a safe distance. Visit her online at dianaurban.com.
Suggested Age: 14 Years
Number of Pages: 384
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Thrillers & Suspense
Publisher: Razorbill
Format: Hardcover
Author: Diana Urban
Language: English
Street Date: May 2, 2023
TCIN: 87405127
UPC: 9780593527603
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-5148
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.65 inches length x 5.89 inches width x 8.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.13 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
3.9 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews
50% would recommend
2 recommendations

Set sail with murder, twists and turns!

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
lurkykitty - 8 months ago
Lying in the Deep follows Jade as she sets sail on the Campus on Board cruise ship, for a university semester at sea, which visits 11 countries in four months. She is dismayed to find that her ex-best friend and ex-boyfriend are both on board, after coldly betraying her over the summer. The academic adventure is soon marred by a gruesome murder. Jade realizes that she has become a suspect and rapidly races to clear her name with the help of a new romantic interest. The deaths of more students occur, and Jade finds herself trying to untangle a complicated web of motives and secrets. Lying in the Deep is a thrilling, young adult murder mystery with an atmospheric, claustrophobic "locked-room" setting and clever, unpredictable twists. The characters did seem somewhat young and immature for Ivy league university students however, fans of the genre will enjoy this fast-paced thriller, as did I.
Did you find this review helpful?

One of my favorite books of the year

5 out of 5 stars
Kit - 10 months ago
A fun mystery with a swoonworthy romance and twists I didn't see coming!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

EH

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
JKD - 10 months ago
I was really excited to pick up Lying in the Deep but unfortunately I think I was just a bit too old to care about this particular YA mystery. I felt like the characters were way too juvenile and the drama they talked about was completely uninteresting to me. I don't necessarily feel like this is a problem of the authors doing, however. YA books can be a bit hit or miss for me due to the maturity levels of the stories' characters. The premise and overall setting is why I was interested in this particular book to begin with and I do think those aspects of the book were great. Unfortunately, I just think some of the execution was lacking as I felt the story was a bit predictable and the characters (in my opinion) were a little bit unlikeable. Overall, I feel like this book suits the younger side of YA readers looking for an enjoyable thriller/mystery book.
Did you find this review helpful?

Predictable

3 out of 5 stars
Devin - 10 months ago
Jade, reeling from being betrayed by her ex-boyfriend and her best friend, couldn't be more excited for the adventure of a lifetime - cruising to 11 countries in 4 months. She is ready to wedge an entire globe between her and the people who broke her heart by embarking on the Campus on Board ship. However, Jade soon discovers that her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend will also be on the ship and taking part in the semester at sea. Her obsession with the two of them grows and festers. Then a shocking murder takes place on board and as her friends begin to drop like flies around her, Jade and her new crush must hurry to clear her name from being a suspect. They are also determined to find the killer they are trapped with out at sea before anyone else ends up in a body bag. This one sounded like it was going to be good but I was a bit disappointed. It was pretty predictable and I was able to guess most of the ending early on in the book.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads