Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Scotts 5000 sq ft Turf Builder Bonus Southern Weed and Feed Fertilizer: Thickens Lawns, Controls Weeds

Scotts 5000 sq ft Turf Builder Bonus Southern Weed and Feed Fertilizer: Thickens Lawns, Controls Weeds - image 1 of 4
Scotts 5000 sq ft Turf Builder Bonus Southern Weed and Feed Fertilizer: Thickens Lawns, Controls Weeds - image 2 of 4
Scotts 5000 sq ft Turf Builder Bonus Southern Weed and Feed Fertilizer: Thickens Lawns, Controls Weeds - image 3 of 4
Scotts 5000 sq ft Turf Builder Bonus Southern Weed and Feed Fertilizer: Thickens Lawns, Controls Weeds - image 4 of 4
Scotts 5000 sq ft Turf Builder Bonus Southern Weed and Feed Fertilizer: Thickens Lawns, Controls Weeds - image 1 of 4
$31.49 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Kills dollarweed, clover and other listed lawn weeds
  • Feeds grass to crowd out future weeds
  • Builds strong, deep grass roots to strengthen against heat and drought
  • Not for use on Bermudagrass
  • Only for use on St. Augustinegrass (including Floratam), centipede, zoysia and carpetgrass lawns

Description

Scotts® Turf Builder® Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed2 will not only kill weeds, but also thicken your lawn to help crowd out future weeds. Regular feedings provide the nutrients your lawn needs to look its best and withstand the stresses of heat, drought and family activity. Bonus® S may be used on St. Augustinegrass (including Floratam), centipede, zoysia and carpetgrass lawns. Apply when grass and weeds are actively growing. Available in TX, FL (except Panhandle region), LA, AL, GA, MS, NC, and SC.
Weight: 17.63 Pounds
Used For: Fertilizes Lawn and Control Weeds
Duration: 6 Months
Application Type: Dispense by Hand
Time Release: Release Timing Not Indicated
Maximum Coverage Area: 5000 Square Feet
N-P-K Label: 29-00-10
TCIN: 13985040
UPC: 032247033138
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-0348
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 16 inches length x 12 inches width x 3.75 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 17.63 pounds
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: West Virginia, Illinois, California, Rhode Island, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Montana, Nevada, District of Columbia, Connecticut, Kansas, North Carolina, Nebraska, South Dakota, Colorado, Louisiana, Iowa, Vermont, Delaware, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Missouri, Virginia, Florida, Massachusetts, Arizona, New Mexico, Maryland, Arkansas, Maine, New Jersey, Michigan, Alabama, Ohio, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Georgia, Oregon, Minnesota, South Carolina, North Dakota, Washington

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Can this be used on common Bermuda grass?

submitted by Champagnelace - 4 years ago
  • A: We appreciate your interest in Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed. This product is not listed for use on Bermuda grass. We encourage you to contact us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 if there is anything else that we can assist you with.

    submitted byScotts Consumer Services - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Will this kill zoysia

submitted by Hitler - 5 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your interest in Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed. This product is safe to use on Zoysia grass. Please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 if there is anything else we can help you with.

    submitted byScotts Consumer Services - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Which of the Scott products is best to use around pets?

submitted by Diane - 6 years ago
  • A: Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed does not pose any health risks to humans or domestic animals when the product is applied according to label instructions. The treated area can be reentered once the granules have been watered in and allowed to dry. You can reach us at the following link if you have other questions: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5

    submitted byScotts Consumer Services - 6 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: The description of this Southern Weed and Feed shows it is for 5000 sq ft but later in detail section it states it only covers 1500 sq ft and the products total weight is 1 pound. Are these granules?

submitted by ConsiderThis77 - 7 years ago
  • A: Thank you for reaching out, yes Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed and Feed is a granule product that must be applied using either a rotary or drop spreader.

    submitted byScotts Consumer Services - 7 years ago
    Brand expert
3.5 out of 5 stars with 616 reviews
40% would recommend
5 recommendations
value: 3.67 out of 5
quality: 3 out of 5

3 weeks and no weeds dying or even turning yellow

1 out of 5 stars
BMKReview - 29 days ago
originally posted on Scotts
Applied 3 weeks ago as per instructions in Palm Coast, Florida.Watered immediately. Not one weed dead or even yellowing. Not sure whether I should wait or reapply it again.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 28 days ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed and appreciate your feedback. Temperatures must be consistently (several days in a row) between 60-90°F for target weeds to be actively growing. Low or high temperatures will delay weed control. It can take up to 3 weeks for the weeds to begin to yellow. Dollarweed/Pennywort is difficult to control, particularly if the lawn is being watered too much. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 888-270-3714 if we can further assist.
Did you find this review helpful?

Works very well

5 out of 5 stars
JCru - 1 month ago
originally posted on Scotts
I used this product 6 weeks ago and my weeds are gone and the grass is darker, plush and thick.
Did you find this review helpful?

Works great for me!

5 out of 5 stars
GreenGrass365 - 2 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
Not sure why all of the negative reviews. Been using on my centipede and St. Augustine grass for years. Kills the weeds and makes the grass a dark, healthy looking green. After a couple of months after applying I can tell a major difference in the color of the grass (from dark to light green), which lets me know it worked well.
Did you find this review helpful?

This is stuff is the TRUTH!!

5 out of 5 stars
Nique - 2 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
Southern newbie here, and let's just say my lawn journey hasn't been smooth sailing. I tried a couple of fertilizers based on research, but nothing seemed to work. Reviews on Bonus S were mixed, but desperate times call for desperate measures, right? Last year, I took a leap of faith and applied it to my front lawn, just before a heavy rain shower. Two weeks later, thicker green lawn. I was shocked. I had men from the neighborhood walk up to me and ask what I was using on my lawn. Yeah, that was a proud moment for me. The transformation was amazing, especially considering the state of everyone else's turf in the neighborhood. The builder's turf choice was full of weeds, a real eyesore. Replacing it wasn't an option, so I was determined to make it thrive. And with a little trial and error, I did! Yep. this year, I did the same, and my lawn is looking great, including the backyard. It's killing the weeds but there are a few stragglers as expected. To get rid of all your weeds, you need to add a pre-emergent in the spring and post-emergent in the late spring when the stragglers are small but actively growing.
Did you find this review helpful?

Lawn killer!!

1 out of 5 stars
Adam80 - 2 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I would give this 0 stars. This stuff killed most of my good grass in my front and side yard within a week. Good thing I only made 2 passes in the front yard and 1 down the side.The only places I spread it. All it left was Bermuda grass. Now my yard looks terrible. If I could attach a picture as a warning to others I would. The option is not letting me. Now my nice lawn that I spend years bringing back is trashed.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

Don't Use Anything Else

5 out of 5 stars
BillyJ - 2 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I live in NE Florida and apply this fertilizer on my Emerald Zoysia turf -- ever since the sod was laid in 2013. I spread it in April or early May, depending on the amount of rain we have had up to the time I want to fertilize. In my experience, the fertilizer DOES KILL the weeds up to September. I have never fertilized in the Summer or Fall and probably should apply in the Fall to get ready for the Winter.
Did you find this review helpful?

(no review title)

1 out of 5 stars
Gardener Cathy - 2 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I have used this product last fall and again this spring. I am very disappointed in the product. Only thing I have accomplished is to make the weeks grow stronger. The very weeds the product is supposed to eliminate.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 2 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

Scotts Bonus S Weed and Feed for Southern Lawns

5 out of 5 stars
- 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I have used scotts bonus s weed and feed for many, many years. Apply in late February and lawn is gorgeous by late March. Works wonderful with St Augustine grass. I won't use anything else. Thank you Scott's for a great product.
Did you find this review helpful?

No Effect on weeds

2 out of 5 stars
Joe64 - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I'm going to have to agree with the rest. Put this product down per the instructions and 6 weeks later this grass is nice and green but so are the weeds. Had no effect at all on weeds, I am familiar with Atrazine and how it works. Just for experimental purposes, I re-applied a 2nd bag 4 weeks after 1st treatment. Once again, grass still looks great but so do weeds. 2nd year I've used product with same results.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S and appreciate your feedback. It can take up to 3 weeks for the weeds to begin to yellow. You must wait at least 6-8 weeks to reapply this product. Applying before that time can damage the lawn. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 888-270-3714 if we can further assist.
Did you find this review helpful?

Won't repurchase

1 out of 5 stars
Lisa5983j - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I purchased this product and used according to directions. Unfortunately it didn't kill a single weed. I won't be purchasing this brand again. Also, it was expensive.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S and appreciate your feedback. Temperatures must be consistently (several days in a row) between 60-90°F for target weeds to be actively growing. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 888-270-3714 if we can further assist.
Did you find this review helpful?

This made my weed problem worse.

1 out of 5 stars
CPLewis - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I bought this about a month ago and it seemed to make the weeds get worse. My neighbor used a different brand and has no weeds in his lawn.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Scotts Bonus S and appreciate your feedback. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 888-270-3714 if we can further assist.
Did you find this review helpful?

This Product is not loke it used to be.

1 out of 5 stars
CPLewis - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I bought this a month ago and it did not kill the dollar weeds and seems to have made the weeds get worse.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Scotts Bonus S not controlling the Dollarweed and appreciate your feedback. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 888-270-3714 if we can further assist.
Did you find this review helpful?

My neighbors are becoming jealous of my grass.

4 out of 5 stars
Ernie C - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I applied in early March and most of the weeds are gone. However, I did a second application today (4/20/2024) in order to kill the rest and get some patches to grow. This is the third year that I have used the product with some success however, my past failures were because I failed to read the instructions, specifically, WATER LAWN INMEDIATELY. Not later, not in an hour, it says INMEDIATELY. Good luck and read the instructions. Area: Southeast LA
Did you find this review helpful?

Worked well on some weeds

3 out of 5 stars
Kitcat - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
While this product got rid of some weeds, it didn’t touch the dollar weed, even though it advertises that it does
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

Scotts Bonus S

1 out of 5 stars
Mike DJ - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
Product was great 3 years ago. For the last two years product was not an effective fertilizer or weed preventer.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

I couldn't be happier!

5 out of 5 stars
Gulf Coast Florida Boy - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
Used it on Empire Zoysia with great results. Our irrigation system failed mid-summer last year, and our turfgrass died and grew weeds. Applied Bonus S 4 weeks ago and the weeds are dying and the turfgrass is getting a deep green. It took a few weeks for the weeds to turn, and they are still dying. I mowed yesterday for the first time since application at 1", almost at scalp, and the weeds disappeared, leaving Zoysia to re-grow in the voids the weeds left behind. I couldn't be happier!
Did you find this review helpful?

Did not work well this spring, 2024.

1 out of 5 stars
Disappointed2024 - 3 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I have used this product for years and it has worked good. This year, 2024, it did not work very well at all. I will probably try another brand.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

Would not purchase again.

1 out of 5 stars
Zito41 - 4 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I purchased this product for the first time and have seen no difference in my lawn. I am very disappointed in the product.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 3 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

Patience may be required

4 out of 5 stars
KickyG - 4 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
It works well, you just have to know how to use it. This product contains atrazine which is slow to work and highly mobile in the soil. It typically takes 10-14 days to see first results and that is if it is actively over 75-80F. It is also best applied after several dry days, watered in thoroughly, followed by several dry days. Too much rain will cause the atrazine to move too quickly through the soil profile. I suggest anyone use something like Google Scholar and read some papers on triazine class of herbicides on your grass type and see how they work. If you want quicker results on weeds, I don’t believe you will find a better “weed and feed” than Scott’s Bonus S. Faster results take and elevated knowledge of weed control on your particular grass type. Good luck. PS. I live in North Carolina (St Aug) and still have not applied because it is not time yet. Spring is late this year. 4/7/24
Did you find this review helpful?

Product better on St Augustine than Zoysia.

3 out of 5 stars
BobV - 4 months ago
originally posted on Scotts
I have a mixture of St. Augustine and Zoysia Grass. The product work better on the SA but not so well on the Zoysia. I will not use a weed and feed product on my lawn again, as the boost the SA received, diminished the success I was looking for both grasses.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 4 months ago
We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy