EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleLunar New YearCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree

Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree - image 1 of 4
Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree - image 2 of 4
Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree - image 3 of 4
Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree - image 4 of 4
Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree - image 1 of 4
$6.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • This clarifying shampoo is crafted without mineral oil or silicone
  • Scented with refreshing notes of tea tree essence
  • Removes buildup and residue, leaving your hair squeaky clean and full of weightless volume
  • PH-balanced and gentle enough for daily use
  • Cruelty-free certified by PETA

Description

Get the residue-free, squeaky clean hair of your dreams with Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree. The clarifying shampoo with rich lather is pH-balanced to remove buildup, which leaves your hair with weightless volume. Plus, it’s made without mineral oil or silicone. Get the clean hair you want with all the bounce and fullness you require. Oh, and the invigorating minty citrus scent doesn’t hurt either.
Scent: Lime, Herb
Hair Type: All Hair Types
Health Facts: Silicone-Free, Contains Tea Tree Oil, Mineral Oil-Free
Product Form: Liquid
Beauty Purpose: Detangling, Shine Enhancing, Moisturizing
Net weight: 13.5 fl oz (US)
Features: Dermatologist Tested, PH-Balanced, Rinse-Off
TCIN: 82654693
UPC: 190679006769
Item Number (DPCI): 063-02-6141
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Ingredients:

water, sodium laureth sulfate, sodium lauryl sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium citrate, citric acid, fragrance/parfum, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) leaf oil, sodium xylenesulfonate, sodium chloride, cocamide mea, sodium benzoate, tetrasodium edta, menthol, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, mentha arvensis leaf oil, methylchloroisothiazolinone, methylisothiazolinone.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8.42 inches length x 2.75 inches width x 1.61 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.01 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Is this safe for color treated hair? Free of sulfates?

submitted by FLGirl - 2 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your interest in our product, however this particular product in not designed for color treated hair. We would suggest trying our Color Care Line of products. Color Me Happy Shampoo for Colored Hair and here is a link for this item... https://herbalessences.com/en-us/our-products/color-me-happy/color-me-happy-shampoo-for-colored-hair/

    submitted byHerbal Essences - 4 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: is this gluten free?

submitted by wectmall - 2 years ago
  • A: If gluten, wheat or wheat extract is added directly to any of our products, it will be listed on the ingredients label. If you want to remove gluten from your whole beauty/grooming regime, these are the key ingredients to avoid: hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheatgerm extract (Triticum Aestivum Germ Extract/Oil). Gluten is likely to only cause a problem (if you’re sensitive to it) if you eat it. Our products are used on the hair and skin, not ingested and gluten cannot be absorbed through the skin. It is possible to be sensitive to ingredients used in cosmetics, but this has nothing to do with wheat intolerance or coeliac disease specifically

    submitted byHerbal Essences - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this shampoo contain sulfates?

submitted by ana lae - 2 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your question. This product does contain sulfate.

    submitted byHerbal Essences - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this product contain any collagen

submitted by sure - 3 years ago
  • A: For many of our products, you'll find a list of ingredients on the outer package and/or on our brand websites. Many of our sites also offer answers to common ingredient questions. In the US and Canada, you can also use SmartLabel™ to access ingredient information for most P&G brands. This is a site that provides digital access to more detailed product information than is possible to fit on a package label. It is quick and easy to use, and the information comes directly from us in real-time. To learn more, visit www.smartlabel.org (US) or www.smartlabelcanada.org (Canada). You can search for product ingredient lists and information via the Product Search page. You'll also find direct links to SmartLabel™ on many of our brand websites.

    submitted byHerbal Essences - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
4.5 out of 5 stars with 524 reviews
66% would recommend
53 recommendations
quality: 3.77 out of 5
value: 4.13 out of 5

Burned scalp

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Denisse - 13 days ago, Verified purchaser
I deal with oily hair and wanted to cleanse my hair with this shampoo. And it did just that removed my oily hair upon washing but at what cost. My head was left burning after washing out the shampoo once. I would not recommend. The smell was nice I didn't mind it unlike other reviewers.
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 9 days ago
Thank you for reaching out in regards of our Herbal Essences Clarifying Tea Tree Shampoo. While we're glad that you like the product's scent and that it was able to help get rid of any excess oil, we are deeply sorry to hear that your scalp was left burning. We understand how frustrating this experience can be and it's not one we want you to have. We want to make sure your comments get the attention they deserve. To do so, we'd like to collect some additional information from you. Please know that the details you provide will be shared with both our Safety Team as well as the rest of our Herbal Essences Team. Safety is our top priority and all of our products have been thoroughly evaluated to be safe when used as directed. While all our ingredients are thoroughly evaluated to be safe and effective when used as directed, we recognize some people may have personal sensitivities and cannot tolerate a particular ingredient or formulation. If you haven't already, we recommend discontinuing the use of the product. If you still have any remaining, we ask that you keep it on hand in the event we may need to retrieve it. When you find the time, please give us a call at 1-855-236-3327 or email us through our Contact Us Page so we can assist you further.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great shampoo for the price

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
g - 18 days ago, Verified purchaser
Fantastic shampoo for oily hair. Great shine without a dry residue.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Clean but not stripped

5 out of 5 stars
Jessica1583 - 1 month ago
originally posted on herbalessences.com
I love this shampoo. The scent is refreshing and invigorating without being overwhelming. I got the to cleanse and oily scalp with neutral hair texture. My strands were not oily, dry or damaged. My main concern was finding something that would cleanse without drying out my hair entirely AND cleanse without over hydrating my scalp afterwards. This shampoo gives a wonderful balance. My scalp is clean and my hair is voluminous and bouncy. The results are beautiful, carefree, and youthful locks that look healthy and full of vitality.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

So impressed with this shampoo!!!

5 out of 5 stars
Shawndi - 1 month ago
originally posted on herbalessences.com
My hair is healthy after using this! That means a good clean. Hope they keep this one permanently in their hair care line. Hands down my favorite shampoo across all hair care lines. I don’t have a bunch a junk being deposited in my hair, causing damage. I ‘m super happy with this one!!
Did you find this review helpful?

Extremely recomended

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
DB - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
The smell is amazing! I liked the consistency and just a little goes a long way!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

hubby approved!

5 out of 5 stars
jenjen2588 - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
I got this for my husband as he loves another version of this so much but we dont have a store around to get it that is less than 3 hours away. I ordered this to try and he loves it even more! His hair is thick and curly and it even makes his curls bouncy! The tea tree oil helps his hair not get crazy oily and he loves it!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Hair loss

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
bri - 4 months ago
This made my hair feel like string and made it fall out so bad!! Do not use this!!
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 4 months ago
Thank you for reaching out and sharing this information regarding our Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo with Tea Tree. We're sorry to hear that your hair felt stringy and had fallen out. That's truly not the kind of experience we want you to have and we understand how devastating that can be. We appreciate your concern and want to assure you that our hair care products do not cause or speed up hair loss. To make sure your comments get the attention they deserve, we'd like to collect some additional information from you. Please know that the details you provide will be shared with both our Safety Team as well as the rest of our Herbal Essences Team. Safety is our top priority and all of our products have been thoroughly evaluated to be safe when used as directed. While all our ingredients are thoroughly evaluated to be safe and effective when used as directed, we recognize some people may have personal sensitivities and cannot tolerate a particular ingredient or formulation. If you haven't already, we recommend discontinuing the use of the product. If you still have any remaining, we ask that you keep it on hand in the event we may need to retrieve it. When you find the time, please give us a call at 1-855-236-3327 or email us through our Contact Us Page so we can assist you further.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

New favorite

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Stephanie - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
I really love this shampoo and matching conditioner. I had been using a much more expensive brand that costs probably 5 times as much (shame on me) and I have to say I like this better! My hair feels healthy, airy, bouncier, and it's more shiny. I will say, I do not chemically process my hair in any way, I don't use a straighting iron, I rarely even blow dry. If you do, you might need something more moisturizing, like the purple bottle brand I had been using. My child, who has very long hair, started using it as well, and their hair looks great too.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Made hair dry

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Mariposa - 5 months ago
Dried out my daughters hair, not good at all!
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 5 months ago
We appreciate your feedback on our Herbal Essences Clarifying Tea Tree Shampoo. We're disappointed to hear that your daughter's hair dried out. That's not the experience we want her to have and we will share this with the rest of our team. There's a chance that she wasn't using the correct product for her hair type. We've also learned that hair can be dry if it's not conditioned enough. We recommend using a richer conditioner. She could also try using a leave-in conditioner opposed to one that you rinse out. We'd like to gather more information regarding her experience. Please give us a call at 1-855-236-3327 or email us through our Contact Us Page.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
8 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love it!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Mama CC - 6 months ago
I love this clarifying shampoo, but I paid it with the herbal essences honey conditioner. I use it once a week to clean my hair. I have pretty fine hair but a lot of it and it gets oily/greasy easily but also very sensitive skin that is eczema prone. I find this shampoo is gentle enough on my skin but strong enough to clean build up out of my hair. It smells good without smelling overpowering.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not all hair is the same

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
AutumnAngie - 10 months ago
I have an oily scalp that can get a lot of buildup really quickly. I’ve tried the sulfate-free shampoos and the No-Poo, and all the things women were telling you were amazing for your scalp to have the healthiest hair. What I found was true for me was that my scalp was producing more oil and I was having a lot of fall out and my follicles would hurt. A lot. So I wanted a clarifying shampoo that would clean my scalp and reset things and it’s worked for ME. Not all of us have the same needs when it comes to our health and it’s important that we understand that not all products are designed for every hair. This smells great, it works, and most importantly, it’s cruelty free. My hair is restored and even healthy. My hairdresser loves how healthy it looks and feels and has told me to keep doing whatever it is I’m doing because my hair is happy. That’s enough for me.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
70 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Broken

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
WAG - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
The dispenser did not work. Because product was so large made it very difficult to dispense in shower.
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 10 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with our Herbal Essences Clarifying Tea Tree Shampoo. Our apologies you had difficulty dispensing the product in the shower because of its large size. When we design our products, we do extensive research and consumer testing to create features that we think you will love. We always take consumer feedback into account when making changes or designing future products.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

More oily in less than 24 hours

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Twinglemom - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
Made my hair more oily. I only used it twice in one week. Within 24 hours, my hair looked and felt more oily than before giving this shampoo a try. It didn't work for me, if anything, made it worse and made me feel more uncomfortable around others.
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 11 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize you had this encounter with our Herbal Essences Clarifying Shampoo and now feel uncomfortable around others. Our products go through many quality checks to ensure they reach you in perfect condition and what you've described is not something we would expect. Be assured we're reporting this to our Quality Assurance Team.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Tea Tree Shampoo/Conditioner

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
FashionistaMom - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
The scent is delightful and smells so clean. Leaves hair looking residue free, smooth and shiny! The whole family loves it!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
8 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Smells amazing and leaves hair.soft!

5 out of 5 stars
Hannah - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
I have a thing for tea tree shampoo scents and this one is amazing! It is very similar the the Paul Mitchell tea tree shampoo without the price tag. I'll be sticking with this!
18 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great clarifying shampoo

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Lisa - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Great to use once a week for clarifying shampoo and smells nice.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Clarifying tea tree shampoo

5 out of 5 stars
Dmu35 - 1 year ago
originally posted on herbalessences.com
Fantastic and refreshing smell. Left my hair clean, shiny and easy to manage.
13 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Absolutely godawful smell

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Emma - 1 year ago
This stuff smells horrendous. It's an incredibly pungent scent that reminds me of Axe body spray. It lingers for days. It also made my hair pretty dry, but I guess that's to be expected with a clarifying shampoo. It did clean my hair.
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 1 year ago
We’re very sorry you’re unhappy with your purchase. When we design our products, we do extensive research and consumer testing to create features that we think you will love. We know that preferences can vary from person to person, though, so we really appreciate your taking the time to reach out. We always take consumer feedback into account when making changes or designing future products, so I'll be sure to share your comments on this with the rest of our team.
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fresh

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
JenCam7 - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Smells great and makes my hair squeaky clean
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not worked for me

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Bhumi - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
I recently started to use it but with the compare of another variety of this shampoo, it doesn’t work good for me. It makes my hair so dry . My dandruff also got increased. I would surely return it but return window is expires now.
1 reply from Herbal Essences team - 1 year ago
We’re very sorry you’re unhappy with your purchase. When we design our products, we do extensive research and consumer testing to create features that we think you will love. We know that preferences can vary from person to person, though, so we really appreciate your taking the time to reach out. We always take consumer feedback into account when making changes or designing future products, so I'll be sure to share your comments on this with the rest of our team.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
12 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads