Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil - 8qt

Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil - 8qt - image 1 of 4Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil - 8qt - image 2 of 4Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil - 8qt - image 3 of 4Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil - 8qt - image 4 of 4
Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil - 8qt - image 1 of 4
$4.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Fast-draining formula
  • Enriched with Miracle-Gro Plant Food
  • Beautiful, colorful results
  • Contains forest products, sphagnum peat moss, sand and perlite, to help prevent soil compaction and improve drainage
  • For use in containers

Specifications

Weight: 11.02 Pounds

Capacity (Volume): 8 Quart

Used For: Plants

Maximum Coverage Area: 1 cubic-ft

TCIN: 53863504
UPC: 132247207857
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-0473
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

Grow strong cactus, palms and citruses with Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm and Citrus Potting Mix. The fast-draining formula is enriched with Miracle-Gro Plant Food, so you can be sure your plants are getting the nutrients they deserve. It also contains forest products, sand, and perlite to help prevent soil compaction and improve drainage. Get more beautiful, colorful results with Miracle-Gro.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 16.21 inches length x 11.88 inches width x 6.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 7.48 pounds
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Florida

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: It would be helpful to list the ingredients....?

submitted by Ro - 3 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your question regarding Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Mix. This product is formulated with processed forest products, sphagnum peat moss, sand, perlite, fertilizer and a wetting agent. Please contact us at the following number with any other inquiries that you may have: 877-220-3089

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Contains forest products, sphagnum peat moss, sand, perlite, fertilizer(NPK: 0.06-0.02-0.04 with part of it polymer coated for timed release of nutrients) and a wetting agent. Actual contents or ratio of contents will vary for Georgia and New Hampshire.

    submitted byfhj52 - 3 years ago

Q: can this soil be used in succulent plants outside

submitted by Cecilia Hall - 6 months ago
  • A: Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix is designed specifically to be used indoors.

    submitted byMiracle-Gro Consumer Services - 6 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this a good soil for money tree plants?

submitted by Jenknat - 3 years ago
  • A: Yes, this is an excellent soil mix for a money tree, the sand, perlite,and peat moss mix helps to drain excess water which can cause root rot. You still want to be careful not to overwater your money tree but this type of soil mix is optimal for your plant.

    submitted byAnkhara - 2 years ago

Q: How many 11lb bags to fill a large pot (22in across by 20in deep)?

submitted by Steve - 3 years ago
  • A: About 11 or 12 should do it. Here's the math: Volume of the pot = pi(r)^2 -> 3.14(11)^2 = 7602 cubic inches. One dry quart= 67.2 cubic inches (found this info with a google search) so 7602/67.2 = 113 dry quart capacity for your pot. Since each 11 pound bag is 8 dry quarts: 113/8 =13 and change. Since your pot probably isn't a perfect cylinder and you probably don't want it full to the brim, we round down by a bag or two.

    submitted byAshleyC - 3 years ago
4.2 out of 5 stars with 438 reviews
74% would recommend
47 recommendations
quality: 3.84 out of 5
value: 3.93 out of 5

Fungus gnats and poor drainage killed herit plants

1 out of 5 stars
- 23 days ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I inherited a Christmas cactus from my grandmother. She had had it for over 40 years, propigating many offspring for her children and grandchildren. I had it for many years, moving it across the country several times. I also propigated several plants to give to my children when they were grown and settled. This year, the plants were becoming rather crowded, so I repotted them using Miracle-Gro succulent potting soil. It was a busy summer, and I was not paying close attention as they were dwindling and dropping leaves. I realized they were in trouble when I was being swarmed by fungus gnats, and noticed that the soil was wet, even though I had not been watering for a while. It was not draining. I tried removing the plants and sterilizing the soil, to no avail. Sadly, I've lost all 4 plants. I couldn't believe Miracle-Gro soil would be so terrible.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 22 days ago
We're sorry to hear this happened after using Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix and we'd like to help. Reach out to us at 888-295-6902 for assistance with our product guarantee.
Did you find this review helpful?

The Best Soils

5 out of 5 stars
Marilyn - 1 month ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I only use Miracle-Gro Potting Soils and Garden Soils. My husband brought home a cheaper brand one time when I requested Miracle-Gro, the quality was bad and alot of weed seeds. I will NEVER use anything else again.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Potting soil for bonsai tree

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Krystle - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Have been using this soil for two years for my succulents and bonsai, never have had a problem!
Did you find this review helpful?

Excellent, No issues

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Liveplants - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Unlike the reviews I have not had a problem with gnats. Maybe because I prep my soil and not just dump it in my repotted plants. I also leave it in a storage bin a few days before I actually repot.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Fungus gnats!

1 out of 5 stars
kmattison - 3 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I've used Miracle Grow soil for everything for many years with great results. however, my recent purchases 7 of the last 10 bags of the Cactus and Succulent soil have come with fungus gnats. My once healthy plants are slowly dying as I try everything to get rid of these pests. I even dumped all of the old soil, washed the roots, and replanted in brand new terracotta containers to get rid of them, but sadly, I used more Miracle Grow Cactus and Succulent soil for repotting, so the problem continues.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to hear you had an issue with gnats after using Miracle-Gro soil. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping or while awaiting sale. Allowing the soil to dry out as much as possible between waterings will help control them. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
Did you find this review helpful?

Just dont buy

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Sam G - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Running ground for gnats. Don’t buy unless you want gnats in your plants and home. Don’t waste your money!
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil and appreciate your feedback. Insects could not survive the composting and packing process. However, it is possible for them to enter the bag during shipping and storage. Insect may also come in with soil of transplanted plant or enter through cracks, crevices, open windows or doors simply looking for suitable environment. Fungus gnats do not typically damage houseplants but they are a nuisance. The larvae look like tiny white grubs or maggots and feed on the fungus that naturally grows in potting soil. The adults are small and dark and may enter the air holes in the bag to lay eggs while the soil is waiting for sale. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Does the job

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Eliza - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
I transplanted my golden barrel cactus a couple months ago using this dirt, and it's still alive, so I'm happy.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't recommend

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
E - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is not good soil for cacti and succulents - far too moist. Very misleading
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 4 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm Citrus Potting Soil and appreciate your feedback. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great deal

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Gee Gee - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
It was enough to fill my pot. The price was excellent.
Did you find this review helpful?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Ashley - 5 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
My husband bought 3 bags of this cactus mix. After reading reviews I was hesitant to use it, but decided to try one bag and give it a chance. Like others, I experienced both root rot in my aloe plants and an infestation of fungus gnats.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 4 months ago
Ashley, we're sorry to hear this happened after using Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Gnats !!!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
- 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
I wish I would have read the reviews about fungus gnats, my plants are now infested with them. Please listen and don’t buy or be prepared to deal with them. Very disappointed
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Fungus gnats do not harm humans and do little plant damage, as they primarily feed on the fungus found naturally in soil. Possible ways to control fungus gnats include allowing the soil to dry pout between waterings to control the larvae or applying a 1/2 inch of horticultural sand atop the soil, as the larvae cannot burrow through the sand. Horticultural sand should be left on the container for several weeks, until the problem is solved. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do it right to get it right!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Ace - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
Y’all… DO NOT water succulents when repotting. Never ever ever water succulents when you repot them. This is a #1 basic knowledge here folks. Y’all say you have gnats bcuz of the soil yet your reviews say that your soil STILL isn’t dry from repotting… evidence that you watered your succulent. I am a scientist and none of the negative reviews have a controlled environment to conclude that the soil itself had gnats. But this is SOIL so its not sterile. If you’re worried, add some cheap diatomaceous earth and plant DRY. This soil is cheap and it works and I used it for all my plants last year… They look beautiful and I grew these plants from cuttings. I often add rocks and a bit of charcoal to mine.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
15 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't buy this product . BUGS!.

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Non smoker - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
IT HAS BUGS!!!! Use to be good
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Insects could not survive the composting and packing process. However, it is possible for them to enter the bag during shipping and storage. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Miracle Gro Rocks

5 out of 5 stars
- 6 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I’ve used Miracle Gro products in the past and it works so well for me and this is my first time using the Miracle Gro Cactus, Palm, and Succulent potting soil with a cactus clipping that I have and it already started to grow a baby shoot this product is a miracle and I am a plant killer and Miracle Gro you brought a green thumb into a plant killer and I just wanna say thank you so much! And I’m gonna recommend your products to all my friends and coworkers!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Really weird, doesn't drain at all

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Funkyp - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is the worst draining soil I've ever experienced. The water literally puddles and just sits on top of the soil. There is also like zero pumice in it but even if this wasn't marketed for cactus i would be shocked at how it behaves. It's as if the soil repels water. Will have to mix this so it's 50% pumice in order to not kill my plants.
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 6 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Soils and soil amendment products may dry out too much in shipping or storage. When our soils dry out they become naturally water repellent due to the peat moss and organic materials that are an important part of the soil mixture. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Good potting soil for drainage

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Kathy - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this potting soil for plants other than cactus, palm and citrus types. It is a rich, yet light soil. Target had the best price of any other store.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fungas gnats

1 out of 5 stars
KHenry - 6 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
Bought a bag last week to repot two plants. All in that area of the house now have gnats. I blamed a new plant for the infestation until I found the gnats flying around the bag of soil.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 6 months ago
KHenry, we're sorry to hear about your experience with Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and storage. Allowing the soil to dry out before use and between waterings will help control them. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great choice

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Ashley - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Great for my aloe! A good amount of bang for your buck!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Way too moist

1 out of 5 stars
Meg - 6 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I bought this to repot some succulents I had propagated and an aloe plant that had babies. All were healthy before planting. I used this soil thinking it would be as good as the other soil I had but ALL the plants I re-potted quickly became water logged. I will have to go get some real cactus soil because the drainage is awful. DO NOT BUY.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
Meg, we're sorry to hear Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix didn't perform as expected and we'd like to help. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y3fhn8pe
Did you find this review helpful?

Should be called Gnats Galore

2 out of 5 stars
Ryver - 7 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I am very disappointed in this Miracle Grow product. I bought 3 bags to create a succulent potted garden for my wife's Mother's Day present. Needless to say that every bag had Gnats in them. A week before Mother's Day I noticed the plants were suffering also. Spoiled my surprise... I couldn't let her see this. I have used Miracle Grow products for years and can't understand what happened. I even used MIracle Grow Organics for my vegetable starts and guess what I have one gnat in my office where I do my plantings. Now I have them from this product in that room and had to sprinkle cinnamon on my already started vegetable starts. Praying this works... Totally sucks...
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
Ryver, we're sorry to hear there were insects in your Miracle-Gro Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and storage. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y9nlw5xl
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads