Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Back to the Roots 6qt Organic Potting Mix All Purpose - image 1 of 4
Back to the Roots 6qt Organic Potting Mix All Purpose - image 2 of 4
Back to the Roots 6qt Organic Potting Mix All Purpose - image 3 of 4
Back to the Roots 6qt Organic Potting Mix All Purpose - image 4 of 4
Back to the Roots 6qt Organic Potting Mix All Purpose - image 1 of 4
$4.99 sale price when purchased online
$6.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Organic and peat-free potting mix for a home garden
  • Potting soil for indoor plants and outdoor plants
  • Contains nutrient-rich fertilizer and beneficial Mycorrhizae
  • Includes pH-balancing dolomitic limestone
  • Great for herbs, veggies, fruits, and flowers
  • Perfect for practicing gardening at home
  • #GrowOneGiveOne - Share a pic, and we'll donate a kit to a classroom of your choice!
  • Guaranteed to Grow Promise

Description

Back to the Roots Organic All-Purpose Potting Mix is a great soil for herbs, veggies, fruits, and flowers in pots, in the ground, or in a raised bed or container! This soil blend contains natural, organic, and nutritious fertilizer as well as moisture-retaining coconut coir and beneficial mycorrhizae for enhanced root growth. Our All-Purpose Potting Mix is peat-free, meaning that instead of imported peat, the base of our soils is made from upcycled plant matter and wood fines. The Back to the Roots Organic All-Purpose Potting Mix Specialty Blend is a great addition to your at-home gardening supplies!
Weight: 3.5 Pounds
Used For: Growing Flowers, Growing Vegetables, Flowers, Plants, House Plants
Capacity (Volume): 6 Quart
Features: Organic, Peat-Free
Sustainability Claims: Renewable Resource, Contains Recycled Content, Post-Consumer Recycled Material
Industry or Government Certifications: OMRI Certified
Maximum Coverage Area: .41 Square Feet
TCIN: 82834900
UPC: 810667034092
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-8973
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 3 inches length x 12 inches width x 15 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 7.4 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Cultivate More Together

About the collection
With the items from this Cultivate More Together collection, you can easily grow flowers and other plants with the whole family. The collection features potting mix for indoor and outdoor planting, a terrarium kids can use to grow microgreens, plant food, organic seeds, and more. It's sure to help both you and the kids cultivate your green thumbs while providing plenty of quality time outdoors.
View Cultivate More Together collection
4.5 out of 5 stars with 4933 reviews
9% would recommend
149 recommendations
quality: 1.56 out of 5
value: 1.63 out of 5

Bad Soil

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Jda - 6 days ago, Verified purchaser
This soil is so bad. There are mushrooms growing in the soil! I’ll stick with my Lowe’s soil.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 6 days ago
Hi Jda! We are sorry to hear you're not satisfied with the potting mix. Please send a photo of the soil and the mushrooms growing as well as a photo of the front and back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com. We would love to help you grow in our soil or we can help with a refund.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

GNATS!!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Clementine - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
FULL of gnats!!! Opened the bag and four immediately flew out. I took the bag outside and so many more flew out. So gross.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 8 days ago
Hi Clementine! We are sorry to hear you're having trouble with gnats. Please send a photo of the date code on the back of your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help turn around your experience.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Georgie Girl - 24 days ago, Verified purchaser
I purchased this some where before and loved it. It wasn't available at the other place and was happy to see that it was $4.00 cheaper per bag at Target. Way to go 🎯
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Will NEVER purchase again

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
ES - 28 days ago
The soil is extremely dry! Like it literally is bone dry all the way through the next day. I watered my plants on a Friday before leaving work, but Monday morning they were already starting to shrivel up. Reported with a better brand to try and save my little guys.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 28 days ago
Hi ES! We are sorry to hear you have had this experience. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of your soil and plants to contact@backtotheroots.com as well as a photo of the date code on the back of your bag, we would love to help you and your plants grow and thrive in our soil.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Only purchase if you like gnats

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Lori - 28 days ago, Verified purchaser
Full of fungus gnats that are now buzzing around my living room. Mushrooms in my planters. I’ll need to get new soil from somewhere else and hope that repotting will work.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 28 days ago
Hi Lori! We are sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with fungus gnats. The mushrooms won't harm your plants, though. We would love to help turn around your experience. Can you please send a photo of the date code on the back of your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com?
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Awful!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
TamiG - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
This soil is filled with gnats and gross mushrooms. After noticing the gnats, I decided to check the bag. Sure enough… they were all inside the bag.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 30 days ago
Hi TamiG! The mushrooms won't harm your plants, but if you wouldn't mind sending a photo of your soil and a photo of the date code on the back of your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soils and can help with a refund or a replacement.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fungus gnats

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Michael - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Fungus gnats everywhere. Incredible disappointing experience. Had to throw away two bags and still seeing those darn gnats in my home.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 1 month ago
Hi Michael! We are sorry to hear about your experience with our soil. Please reach out to us at contact@backtotheroots.com, and it'd be super helpful to have a photo of the date code on the bag, and we'd be happy to help you grow or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not great

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Mel - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I opened the bag to find fungus but removed it and used it anyway… well folks I now have a mushroom growing in my plant and a few fungus nats. The soil quality is lousy and doesn’t appear to have any nutrients and is way too dry
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 2 months ago
Hi Mel! We are sorry you are having trouble with our potting mix. Please reach out to us at contact@backtotheroots.com, we are happy to help you grow in our soil, or we can help with a refund.
value: 3 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Gnats

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
LW - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Infested with gnats. Regret purchasing.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 2 months ago
Hi LW! We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with gnats. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of the date code on the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow and we can help with a refund or replacement.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not buy

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Anonymous Gardener - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Highly infected with fungus.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 2 months ago
Hi There! WE are sorry to hear your soil appears to have fungus inside. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of the soil and fungus as well as the date code on the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

PUT BACK ON SHELF AND WALK THE OTHER WAY

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Bianca - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
This soil was decent last summer when I bought it but this year it’s absolutely infested with gnats and the batch I got was hydrophobic
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 2 months ago
Hi Bianca! We are sorry to hear you had trouble with our potting mix. If you wouldn't mind reaching out to contact@backtotheroots.com with the date code on the bag, we'd love to make this right. We can help with a refund or a replacement.
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Gnats!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
KH - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
After using this organic potting mix, I had an epidemic of fungus gnats in all the plants I put in this soil! Months later, I'm still killing gnats.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 4 months ago
Hi KH! We are sorry to hear about the problem you're having with gnats. We know how irritating they can be. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of the date code on your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would be more than happy to help with a refund or a replacement.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

HORRIBLE + BUG INFESTATION

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
amazing AZ - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
wood chips in somewhat pulverized wood pulb that has a ton atiny flies that are now all over my house. I opened up the bag last night in the sink and tried to make a seedling base with this awful stuff and this moring find these flies all over and they are getting in and out of the stinking bag!!!! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.. just like another brand had grubs infestation Why can't these be sterilized????????????????????????????
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 5 months ago
Hi there! We are sorry to hear that your soil has bugs. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of the date code on your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would be happy to help with a replacement or a refund. We look forward to growing with you!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Nope

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
ARG - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
This literally mulch. It is awful for indoor plants! Save your money and buy another brand if you are using it for indoor plants. Also keeps way too much moisture. I have a lot of gnats and there’s a lot of mold and leaking from the pots
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 5 months ago
Hi there! We are sorry to hear you're not satisfied with the texture of the soil. If you could please send a photo of the date code on your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com as well as a photo of the mold, we would be happy to help with tips and tricks, and a refund. We look forward to growing with you!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Giant Gnat Problem

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
C - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this soil as a back up when my current soil ran out. Everything was fine but 2 months later I started to noticed a a bunch of dead gnats in my apartment. The problem was getting worse and I thought they were coming in from the window. Turns out they were all coming from this unused soil which was in a closet in a storage contain and flying all over my apartment!!! Luckily I threw out the soil before it contaminated all my plants! DO NOT BUY THIS SOIL.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 5 months ago
Hi C! We are sorry to hear you've had trouble with gnats. If you can please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with a photo of the date code on the bag, we would be happy to help with tips to get rid of the gnats and we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not buy

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
David B - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
I purchased this soil a few weeks ago and now have a huge fungus gnats issue.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 5 months ago
Hi David! We are so sorry to hear about the issue you're having with gnats. Will you please send the date code on the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com? We are happy to make this right or we can help with a refund! We look forward to hearing from you.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Blocked root growth and stunted plant growth

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
WG - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
I would not recommend this soil because I noticed the plants I used this potting soil for didn't continue to grow, or grow roots. I had to replace / repot everything before the plants died.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 6 months ago
Hi WG! We are sorry to hear your plants are not thriving in our soil. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of your plants and the date code on the bag of soil to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soils or we can help with a refund. We look forward to hearing from you!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Bugs

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
M21 - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
Had a ton of little, flying bugs in it. Wanted to use it on indoor plants but ended up having to throw it outside.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 6 months ago
Hi there! We are sorry to hear about the bugs in your soil. Would you mind sending a photo of the date code on the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com? We are happy to help or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fruit fly infestation

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Bichardson - 6 months ago, Verified purchaser
My house is now infested with fruit flies after bringing this home from a Target run. So bummed. I have used this soil before and really liked it but beware if buying from Target.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 6 months ago
Hi there! We are sorry to hear about your issue with the bugs. Would you mind sending a photo of the date code on the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com? We are here to help make this right or we can help with a refund.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fruit flies live in this soil :(

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
ap - 7 months ago, Verified purchaser
My plants got infested with tiny flies after this (I live in apartment without any outdoor space, so it is from this soil). They would live ONLY in the pot with this soil and not in plants that were repotted before with different soil. I had to throw away the entire plant and all soil.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 7 months ago
Hi ap! We are sorry to hear about the bugs in your soil. If you wouldn't mind reaching out to contact@backtotheroots.com with the date code on the bag, we are here to help turn around your experience.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy