Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose

Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 1 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 2 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 3 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 4 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 1 of 4
$7.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Organic and peat-free potting mix for a home garden
  • Potting soil for plants housed in a container or pot
  • Contains plant food and pH balancing dolomitic limestone
  • Includes Yucca Extract for moisture control
  • Great for herbs, veggies, fruits, and flowers
  • Perfect for practicing gardening at home
  • #GrowOneGiveOne - Share a pic, and we'll donate a kit to a classroom of your choice!
  • Guaranteed to Grow Promise

Description

Back to the Roots Organic All-Purpose Potting Mix is a great soil for herbs, veggies, fruits, and flowers in pots, in the ground, or in a raised bed or container! This soil blend contains all-purpose plant food to help grow bigger plants*, dolomitic limestone to adjust pH, and yucca extract (saponin) for moisture control. Our All-Purpose Potting Mix is peat-free, meaning that instead of imported peat, the base of our soils is made from upcycled plant matter and wood fines. The Back to the Roots Organic All-Purpose Potting Mix Specialty Blend is a great addition to your at-home gardening supplies!
Weight: 28 Pounds
Used For: Growing Vegetables, Flowers, Growing Flowers, House Plants, Plants
Capacity (Volume): 1 cubic-ft
Features: Organic, Peat-Free
Maximum Coverage Area: 1 cubic-ft
TCIN: 87291753
UPC: 810667030810
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-0156
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 24 inches length x 16 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 20.9 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: What is the Ph level of this soil?

submitted by Very Pleased - 8 days ago
  • A: Hi There! Our All-Purpose Potting Mix has a more neutral pH, less acidic, more alkaline. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 7 days ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this have worm castings?

submitted by Cr - 3 months ago
  • A: Hi Cr! Thank you for asking. Our Premium Blend does not have worm castings, but our Specialty Blend Potting Mix does have worm castings. We also have worm castings sold separately. Please feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 3 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this be used for houseplants?

submitted by Carol - 7 months ago
  • A: Hi Carol! Yes, our all-purpose soil can be used for houseplants. We also have an Organic Indoor Potting Mix for houseplants. :)

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 7 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: what is 25.7 qt? How many actual qts? Weights?

submitted by way to low veee neck - 7 months ago
  • A: Hi there! 25.7 dry quarts is 1 cubic foot. There are about 60.75 pounds of soil in 25.7 dry quarts. Please feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 7 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: can I use it to plant shrubs?

submitted by dixie - 10 months ago
  • A: Hi Dixie! You should be able to use our all-purpose potting mix for shrubs — depending on the shrub variety. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with any questions!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 10 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: can I use it for azaleas

submitted by Babs - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Babs! You can use our all-purpose potting mix for Azaleas. Our soil is great for drainage; however, you may need to amend it for your Azaleas, as Azaleas like acidic soil with a pH of 4.5-5.5.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this include any bone meal or blood meal in it?

submitted by Hussein - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Hussein! No, our soils do not have any bone meal or blood meal. However, our soils do contain poultry manure, crab meal, and feather meal.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the PH of this soil?

submitted by Jay - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Jay! Thank you for asking. The All-Purpose Potting Mix is an alkaline mix, but we do include dolomitic limestone to help balance the pH. Feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with more questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Cultivate More Together

About the collection
With the items from this Cultivate More Together collection, you can easily grow flowers and other plants with the whole family. The collection features potting mix for indoor and outdoor planting, a terrarium kids can use to grow microgreens, plant food, organic seeds, and more. It's sure to help both you and the kids cultivate your green thumbs while providing plenty of quality time outdoors.
View Cultivate More Together collection
4.1 out of 5 stars with 853 reviews
10% would recommend
127 recommendations
quality: 1.56 out of 5
value: 1.82 out of 5

Garden Soil

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Stecklernyc - 2 days ago, Verified purchaser
Great value and quality.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Bugs Everywhere

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Kissrich - 2 days ago, Verified purchaser
Full of bugs! So disappointing to receive potting soil that carry bugs. I’ve sprayed bug spray for plants many times but it did not work
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Fine for the price

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Tom - 4 days ago, Verified purchaser
I m reading all these bad reviews about bugs etc…. I’ve been using this for a couple seasons and never had any such issues. It is slightly mulchy but otherwise it’s fine for potted flowers
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not worth buying!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Amrita - 7 days ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this as it was on sale in the store. But it was a mistake! This has so much wood chip mixed in that it feels like mulch rather than potting mix! Also mushrooms started growing all over the soil after I put it in the containers for planting.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 4 days ago
Hi Amrita! We are sorry to hear the texture is not what you were expecting. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with how your soil is and the front and back of the bag, we would love to help you grow in our soil or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Bag soil

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Mulch - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
It basically wood chips & mulch. Not good
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 7 days ago
Hi There! We are sorry to hear you're not satisfied with the texture of our soil. Please send a photo of the soil you have as well as a photo of the front and back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com. We would love to help with a refund!
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Good deal

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
HaKar - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I was surprised to see a big bag of organic soil. I thought for the price I was paying, it will be a small bag. I was very happy and bought few white pots from Target and now I'll have organic herb garden in my patio.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Gnats

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Sm1993 - 9 days ago, Verified purchaser
This soil is disgusting, came infested with gnats that’s I’m still trying to get rid of. Please do not buy this!
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 8 days ago
Hi Sm1993! We are sorry to hear about the issue you're having with gnats. Please reach out to us at contact@backtotheroots.com with a photo of the front and back of the bag, we would love to help you grow or we would be happy to help with a refund.
value: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
LC - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
Fungus gnats galore, mushrooms growing in my aloe plant of all places cause you barely water those never had this problem in all my years
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 7 days ago
Hi LC! We are sorry to hear you've had this experience. Please send us photos of the front and back of the bag and of the mushrooms growing to contact@backtotheroots.com. We would love to help you grow in our soil, or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Has Mold Spores & Flying Insects!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
TG - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
DO NOT BUY THIS SOIL! I bought 2 bags of this soil, one at the Potomac Mills Target, and one at the Manassas Target. Both bags had issues. The first bag was infested with black gnats, so I returned that bag and got the second bag. The second bag I ended up using and now I realize that it has mold spores in it that is killing the plants that have been potted with this soil! I’m going to return this soil as well!
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 7 days ago
Hi TG! Mold is not common with our potting mix. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of your plants and the mold in your soil to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soil or we can refund your soil purchase.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Mushroom growing mulch

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Cmichael - 13 days ago, Verified purchaser
As many others have stated this mixture is complete garbage. If you are looking to grow bugs and mushrooms well you have found your “soil”. I use that term very loosely as this is closer related to mulch than soil. I was excited to find an organic option for seed starting but sadly hardly any of my seeds germinated. Thankfully they were saved seeds so I was not also out the money there and I had more to replant in a different soil of which did amazing with my seeds. Save your money and time and look elsewhere for soil!
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 11 days ago
Hi Cmichael! We are sorry to hear you're having trouble with our soil. If you can please send a photo of the front and back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soil or we can help with a refund.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Sooooooo many bugs

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Unhappy customer - 15 days ago, Verified purchaser
I used this soil to repot my lime tree and then I started noticing gnats in my house. My husband discovered they were coming from the dirt of the lime tree so we moved it outside now that it’s warmer. We had to buy some light traps to get rid of the bugs and have changed the filters several times but there are still gnats around. I guess at least it’s organic? Would not recommend.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 13 days ago
Hi There! We are sorry to hear you're experiencing problems with gnats. Please reach out to us at contact@backtotheroots.com with a photo of the front and back of the bag, and we'd be happy to help turn around your experience, and we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Full of pests

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Theresa H - 19 days ago, Verified purchaser
This is terrible potting soil. It's basically mulch, and after using it my house plants and seedlings are covered in aphids, whiteflies and fungal gnats. It's terrible!!!
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 14 days ago
Hi Theresa! We are sorry to hear you're experiencing this with our soil. Please reach out to us at contact@backtotheroots.com. We would love to turn around your experience and help you grow!
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not Great - Mushrooms & Mulch

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
KI - 20 days ago, Verified purchaser
Repotted my indoor plants in this soil and mushrooms have started to grow! Having mushroom spores in my house isn't something I want! Also, the texture of the soil isn't great. Very woody and closer to mulch than potting soil.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 20 days ago
Hi KI! We are sorry to hear the texture of the soil is not what you were expecting. Please send a photo of your soil and the date code on the back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com. We are happy to help you grow in our soil or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Bugs

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Tatia - 23 days ago, Verified purchaser
Crawling with little bugs. Had to take them straight to the dumpster as too heavy to return
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 22 days ago
Hi Tatia! We are sorry to hear your had this experience with our soil. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com, we are happy to help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Dont buy - full of mushrooms!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Target017 - 25 days ago, Verified purchaser
Spent a ton of time repotting all of my house plants in this soil and every single one immediately sprouted mushrooms! Must be full of mushroom spores!
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 25 days ago
Hi There! We are sorry to hear you've had this experience with our potting mix. The mushrooms shouldn't hurt your plants, but if you wouldn't mind sending a photo of the mushrooms in your pots and a photo of the date code on the back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soils.
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Terrible and filled with fungi

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
MRob - 28 days ago, Verified purchaser
I used this product to start seeds from annual flowers indoors, with a grow light, as I do every year, and all it grew was mini mushrooms. Terrible product and should not be sold.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 26 days ago
Hi MRob! Please send us a photo of your planters with the fungi in the soil as well as a photo of the date code on the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com. We would love to help you grow in our soils!
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Mushrooms?

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Notsatisfied - 29 days ago, Verified purchaser
Poor quality, noticed that mushrooms started to grow in pots. Had to repot all my houseplants.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 29 days ago
Hi There! The mushrooms won't hurt your plants, but it can signal the soil could be too wet. If you wouldn't mind reaching out to us at contact@backtotheroots.com with a photo of the mushrooms and of the date code on the back of the bag, we would love to help you grow in our soils or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible "soil" do not buy!!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Coliecakes - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
I would give it a zero if I could. It looks just like mulch!!! Never have I seen soil like this. It’s just horrible. Even the feeling is woody.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 28 days ago
Hi Coliecakes! We are sorry to hear you're not satisfied with the texture of the soil. Please send a photo of your soil and the date code on the back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com. We would love to help you grow in our soils or we can help with a refund.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Zero%GerminationRate

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Tjlf - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
As an experienced & educated home horticulturalist I appreciate that Target has an organic option, however this seed starter is not useable for the intended purpose. The wood content is far too high and texture is not suitable for seed starting. The mix is fine for mulch or an amendment to my native desert soil. Zero percent seed germination in a controlled greenhouse environment. As a comparison, over 95% germination rate with my own organic seed starter blend.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 28 days ago
Hi Tjlf! We are sorry to hear you're having trouble with our All-Purpose Premium Blend Potting Mix. We would love to make this right. If you can please send a photo of the soil and a photo of the date code on the back of your bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soil or we can help with a refund. We look forward to hearing from you!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Bugs and Mushrooms

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Swiss - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
This is like 50% wood. Tons of bugs, very disappointing. I put about 2" of play sand at the top of my planters to kill off bugs anyways but I am still seeing some with this potting mix for obvious reasons. They will break through the surface following the rools because there's just so much wood. I thought one of my plants was having new sprouts but it was mushrooms coming up. Where's the perlite? Vermiculite? Probably just going to dump the rest around a fruit tree outside and get something else, and repot my plants. They are new babies and I don't to disturb them again, so hopefully they grow a bit and I can redo them with something else.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 1 month ago
Hi There! We are sorry to hear about the issues you're having with our potting mix. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of your soil and a photo of the date code on the back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soil.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy