Preen Extended Control Weed Killer Herbicide - 4.93lbs

Preen Extended Control Weed Killer Herbicide - 4.93lbs - image 1 of 4Preen Extended Control Weed Killer Herbicide - 4.93lbs - image 2 of 4Preen Extended Control Weed Killer Herbicide - 4.93lbs - image 3 of 4Preen Extended Control Weed Killer Herbicide - 4.93lbs - image 4 of 4
Preen Extended Control Weed Killer Herbicide - 4.93lbs - image 1 of 4
$19.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • One easy application blocks listed weeds up to 6 months guaranteed
  • When used as directed Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer can be used around more than 600 perennials, groundcovers, shrubs and trees as listed on the product label
  • Flip-top applicator makes it easy to apply
  • Not intended for use on flower seesd, lawns, vegetable gardens or other food-producing or edible plants
  • Not available for sale in NY
  • 4.3 lb bottle covers 805 sq. ft.

Specifications

Weight: 4.93 Pounds

Duration: 6 Months

Formulation: Ready to Use

Application Type: Granules

Maximum Coverage Area: 805 Square Feet

TCIN: 79859492
UPC: 088685640926
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-0108
Origin: Made in the USA

Description

Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer stops listed weeds for up to six months per application. It’s labelled for use around 600 plants in perennial flower beds; around groundcovers, trees and shrubs; and in xeriscape settings and rock gardens. Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer tackles many of the toughest weeds a gardener faces in their landscaped beds, including: dandelions, crabgrass, field bindweed, white clover, chickweed, henbit, purslane, Carolina geranium, stinging nettle, horseweed or marestail, oxalis, spurge, lambsquarters and more.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 11.57 inches length x 8.33 inches width x 4.72 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 7.18 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.6 out of 5 stars with 178 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5

Wonderful

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Gabe - 4 months ago
Used this stuff in the landscaping business. What most company’s use for weed control. Most people don’t know how to properly put it down. Works great if gotten down before the seeds start to germinate
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Doesn't work

1 out of 5 stars
Bobbee - 2 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I have been using Preen for years and have been very satisfied. New extended product sounded great. Bought 3 large containers. Spread in May, it is now June and we are over run with weeds. Used one container, 2 large containers ready for our rubbish pickup.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

It Works, Depending On Application

4 out of 5 stars
Wally1 - 3 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
Preen Extended Control works, but maybe not as directed. I used it a year ago according to application and I got weeds, this past year, I used it again, and this time I put a very heavy application down and it worked, virtually no weeds. So my recomendation is good but if they put down a heavy application.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Extremely Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
DogMomx2 - 3 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I have been using the regular Preen for many years and always had good results. When I discovered the Preen Extended Control, I was expecting to have good results and saving myself the time to not have to put the product down two times per growing season. I put the Preen Extended Control down in March and followed application instructions as per usual. We live in MD, zone 7a. We have over 2 acres of property and several large flower gardens. My flower gardens have always been beautiful in the past, but this year the weeds are overwhelming! Attached is a photo of just one small area.
1 reply from customer service team - 3 years ago
Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear that our Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer did not perform as you had expected it to. There could be various reasons why you are still seeing weeds after an application of this product. We do stand behind our products and you may contact us at customerservice@lebsea.com so we can further assist you.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Dissatisfied User

1 out of 5 stars
Big D - 3 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I did the same to my garden this year as I’ve done years before starting with the weeding. For the most part my gardens were pretty good controlled from weeds. This year is an exception. I weeded as usual, Then as a preventer, I put on your product. Unfortunately it made my gardens worse. I have never had this many weeds before using this product. And that is just my opinion. I will never use it again.
1 reply from customer service team - 3 years ago
Thank you for your inquiry! We are very sorry to hear that our Preen Extended Weed Control did not work as you had expected it to . There could be various reasons that the product did not work. We do stand behind our products and you may contact us at customerservice@lebsea.com so we can further assist you.
Did you find this review helpful?

Got rid of the weeds

5 out of 5 stars
db19191 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I used this in my front yard in a couple of areas where weeds had started to take over the grass. There has been hardly any new weed growth since then and my lawn looks amazing. Great product with great results. I'm very pleased. What more can I say? [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 reply from Customer Service team - 4 years ago
We are glad that you like Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer, but please note that this product is not labeled for use on lawns as turf injury could result. Thank-you!
Did you find this review helpful?

Not satisfied

1 out of 5 stars
Fldiver3405 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I cleaned my flower beds as I have done in the past before applying the regular preen. This time I used the extended preen and the weeds are growing like crazy. Never had this problem with the regular preen. So, I wasted my money on the extended preen.
1 reply from Customer Service team - 4 years ago
We are very sorry to hear that our new Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer (stronger than Preen Garden Weed Preventer) did not work as you had expected. There could be various reasons why you are seeing weeds after an application of this product, such as weeds that are not listed that Preen controls, or due to invasive roots or runners such as thistle, grass, etc. Another reason could be that weed seeds already had germinated at the time of application and were not visible for you to remove. Also, this product does not kill any existing weeds but rather creates an invisible barrier that prevents the listed weed seeds from germinating. We do stand behind our products so please email us at customerservice@lebsea.com so we may further assist. Thank-you!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Average Weed & Grass Killer

3 out of 5 stars
Nina - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I found it’s no better (or worse) than any other weed & grass killer. I do like the cap and how easily you can sprinkle it wherever you want. Another + is that there’s literally no mess to clean up when you’re done nor any mixing needed prior to use. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 reply from Customer Service team - 4 years ago
We are glad that you like the application cap. Please note that this product when applied as directed helps to prevent (it does not kill existing weeds) its listed weed seeds from germinating up to six months per application. Thank-you!
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy to use

4 out of 5 stars
Greeneee0 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
We have had this weed preventer for a couple months now, and so far so good. Hope it stays true to the 6 month guarantee on the back. The instructions were easy to follow and it is easy to use. I really like the pour spout on the top that provides even distribution of the granular. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Easy to use

4 out of 5 stars
Jkc83 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I used this product in the flower beds around the front of my house. I applied in early spring although we didnt have much of a spring this year. We struggle with various types of weeds but mainly breakthrough large grasses. The product is easy to use and the canister is very easy to pour out of. We have a lot of other plants in the flower bed so I like that this is safe to use around them. When it was first applied, I could tell the weeds were reduced but after a few months, they were back again. I'm not sure that this is really effective for as long as it says it is or if I didnt apply it exactly right. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 reply from Customer Service team - 4 years ago
Thank you for your review! Our Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer is to be applied to a weed free area around the label listed flowers, plants, trees and shrubs listed on the label. Watered in to activate. There could be various reasons why you are seeing weeds after an application of this product, such as weeds that are not listed that Preen controls, due to invasive roots or runners such as thistle, grass, etc. Another reason could be that weed seeds already had germinated at the time of application and were not visible for you to remove. Also, If heavy rains were received the product may need to be reapplied sooner than the recommended 6 months. We do stand behind our products and you may feel free to contact us at customerservice@lebsea.com
Did you find this review helpful?

Great product

4 out of 5 stars
Tiffanyrae4 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I received this about a month ago and my husband put it on our front lawn and we tell tell a difference. We have way less weeds and they aren’t growing as fast as they were before we used this product. I would reccomend. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Did you find this review helpful?

So far so good!

5 out of 5 stars
Vickie73 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
We put the Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer on our bermuda grass after painstakingly removing all the weeds that popped up this spring. So far we've had a few weeds pop up here and there, but only a handful at a time. Seems to have done the trick! My low back thanks you! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Seems to be working

5 out of 5 stars
DawnGregory578 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I haven't had it long enough to say whether it truly does work for 6 months, but so far it has been 2 months and there has been no new weed growth. It's made gardening much easier. The shaker top makes it super easy to apply. I think it is a great product and I am loving my weed-free Spring! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

works great on my yard

5 out of 5 stars
Adrianjuicy - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I bought this about a month ago and I am so happy that I did because it actually helped me with my garden and controlling weeds and I have never been so excited that I haven't had to pull weeds and my vegetables and herbs are flourishing because of the product and I haven't had to pull a weed yet! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Super simple to use

5 out of 5 stars
PinkH20Lilly - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
Now that the weather is nice we finally were able to pull the weeds up out of our patio. We sprinkled and spread pot the Preen weed control, which was super simple thanks to the easy pour spout. So far so good, we haven't seen any growth in between the patio stones so far. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Keeps weeds down

4 out of 5 stars
Surlyrat - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I used Preen Extended Control Weed Preventer in my flower beds. We've had a week of rain and I noticed there weren't as many new weeds popping up compared to other places it was not used. I received the product in exchange for an unbiased review, but it has only been used for a month, so I can't tell you how long it works. I'm happy so far. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy to Use

5 out of 5 stars
Tlkilp - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
I re dived this a while back but just now able to use it. We recently moved to a acre of land. My husband just used it and was pleased with the ease of of the product. Looking forward to seeing the weeds gone soon. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Did you find this review helpful?

Worked like a champ!’

5 out of 5 stars
GMom47 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
This s has been helpful in keeping the weeds down in out yard. We had a couple of spots that we kept having issues with it growing again and now that is fixed. I will use this in the future if necessary. Very happy!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Did you find this review helpful?

Soooo AMAZING

5 out of 5 stars
Carter527 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
Works great!! I used this around my flowers, where I was afraid to cut with the weed eater and it worked wonders. Very easy to use too. I am also glad it did not have a harsh smell as a lot of weed killers do, this one was not over powering. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Did you find this review helpful?

Love this weed killer

5 out of 5 stars
Remsgirl05 - 4 years ago
originally posted on preen.com
Love this product! It has kept weeds out of my flower beds for a few weeks so far. Weeds need to be pulled first but then it is easy going from there! I love Preen products. They have nade my life so much easier! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads