Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose

Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 1 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 2 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 3 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 4 of 4
Back to the Roots 25.7qt Organic Potting Mix Premium Blend All Purpose - image 1 of 4
$7.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Organic and peat-free potting mix for a home garden
  • Potting soil for plants housed in a container or pot
  • Contains plant food and pH balancing dolomitic limestone
  • Includes Yucca Extract for moisture control
  • Great for herbs, veggies, fruits, and flowers
  • Perfect for practicing gardening at home
  • #GrowOneGiveOne - Share a pic, and we'll donate a kit to a classroom of your choice!
  • Guaranteed to Grow Promise

Description

Back to the Roots Organic All-Purpose Potting Mix is a great soil for herbs, veggies, fruits, and flowers in pots, in the ground, or in a raised bed or container! This soil blend contains all-purpose plant food to help grow bigger plants*, dolomitic limestone to adjust pH, and yucca extract (saponin) for moisture control. Our All-Purpose Potting Mix is peat-free, meaning that instead of imported peat, the base of our soils is made from upcycled plant matter and wood fines. The Back to the Roots Organic All-Purpose Potting Mix Specialty Blend is a great addition to your at-home gardening supplies!
Weight: 28 Pounds
Used For: Growing Vegetables, Flowers, Growing Flowers, House Plants, Plants
Capacity (Volume): 1 cubic-ft
Features: Organic, Peat-Free
Maximum Coverage Area: 1 cubic-ft
TCIN: 87291753
UPC: 810667030810
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-0156
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 24 inches length x 16 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 20.9 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: I'm growing cannabis plants in five gallon fabric containers. What is the NPK of this soil?

submitted by The Comfortable Queen - 4 days ago
  • A: Hi There! Our All-Purpose Potting Mix has an NPK of 0.18-0.04-0.04. Please feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 day ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this soil recommended for planting amaryllis bulbs? Thank you.

submitted by Kris - 6 days ago
  • A: Hi Kris! Our All-Purpose Potting Mix should work great for amaryllis bulbs; you want a quick-draining soil. You could even add some perlite to help add extra drainage with any larger wood pieces. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 day ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the Ph level of this soil?

submitted by Very Pleased - 1 month ago
  • A: Hi There! Our All-Purpose Potting Mix has a more neutral pH, less acidic, more alkaline. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 month ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this have worm castings?

submitted by Cr - 4 months ago
  • A: Hi Cr! Thank you for asking. Our Premium Blend does not have worm castings, but our Specialty Blend Potting Mix does have worm castings. We also have worm castings sold separately. Please feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 4 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this be used for houseplants?

submitted by Carol - 8 months ago
  • A: Hi Carol! Yes, our all-purpose soil can be used for houseplants. We also have an Organic Indoor Potting Mix for houseplants. :)

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 8 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: what is 25.7 qt? How many actual qts? Weights?

submitted by way to low veee neck - 8 months ago
  • A: Hi there! 25.7 dry quarts is 1 cubic foot. There are about 60.75 pounds of soil in 25.7 dry quarts. Please feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 8 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: can I use it to plant shrubs?

submitted by dixie - 11 months ago
  • A: Hi Dixie! You should be able to use our all-purpose potting mix for shrubs — depending on the shrub variety. Please reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with any questions!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 11 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: can I use it for azaleas

submitted by Babs - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Babs! You can use our all-purpose potting mix for Azaleas. Our soil is great for drainage; however, you may need to amend it for your Azaleas, as Azaleas like acidic soil with a pH of 4.5-5.5.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this include any bone meal or blood meal in it?

submitted by Hussein - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Hussein! No, our soils do not have any bone meal or blood meal. However, our soils do contain poultry manure, crab meal, and feather meal.

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the PH of this soil?

submitted by Jay - 1 year ago
  • A: Hi Jay! Thank you for asking. The All-Purpose Potting Mix is an alkaline mix, but we do include dolomitic limestone to help balance the pH. Feel free to reach out to contact@backtotheroots.com with more questions or concerns!

    submitted byBack to the Roots, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert
4.1 out of 5 stars with 956 reviews
35% would recommend
215 recommendations
value: 2.82 out of 5
quality: 2.66 out of 5

Do not buy

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Nina - 4 days ago
I bought this because it was on sale for $3. However, my plants instanteously died after repotting using this mix. The soil does retain a lot of moisture. I wish I read the bad reviews before buying this.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not my Favorite

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
tcalam - 5 days ago, Verified purchaser
Not a great potting soil - has the consistency of peat mixed with fine wood chips. Compacts very easily and holds on to moisture a little TOO well in my opinion. Would not buy again as potting soil, but probably would be alright for garden beds.
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Plants did not grow

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Elizabeth - 5 days ago
I like that I saw mushrooms come up and I like that this soil doesn't have peat. But I used it to pot up 48 pepper and eggplant seedlings, and they haven't grown for the whole month they have been in this new soil and they look yellowish. Maybe the woodchips in the soil are still breaking down, tying up nitrogen? Either way i am very disappointed and afraid of using any more of the soil. I also talked to a neighbor who bought this soil and had the same problem.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 5 days ago
Hi Elizabeth! We are sorry to hear you're having trouble with your plants in our soil. Please send a photo of your plants to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you troubleshoot and grow in our soils. If you can let us know if you've used any plant food, that'd be super helpful.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Good soil

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Vic - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. This is a great soil for my herbs and plants. It is a little bit more coarse than I expected, but my plants seem to like it. I like that it includes plant food to ensure proper nutrients and growth.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Seems like a good product

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
KK - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. I initially thought the bag would be a bit smaller, but I was pleasantly surprised when it was a bit bigger than I'd expected. The soil has a good texture and smell, similar to other organic soils I've purchased, and it seems to be good quality. I only recently repotted my plants (a cucumber plant and a houseplant) using this product, so they haven't had much time to grow, but I believe this will be a good soil for them to grow in. The soil is a bit chunkier than some other potting soils, so that's something to take into account when deciding what to purchase. I love that it's organic, yet it contains nutrients to help my plants grow better than they would with plain garden soil. The peat-free formula is also more sustainable, which I like. Natural ingredients to help with moisture control are also good for the hot, dry days we get in the summer in the Midwest.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Excellent Organic Potting Soil

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Jeremy - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. This is a very good product that met my expectations. I was delighted to see the rich black color and loose, but not sandy, consistency of the soil. This is an excellent value, too, for being organic soil. I also appreciated the claims/explanation on the back of the bag about not using peat. I would recommend this product at the price to anyone.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy to mix

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Dou - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. I like this product it is organic, and it is easy to mix my vegetables pot.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy to use in my beds

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
DSWALKER - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. I found this potting soil to be very loose. The organic chunks are bark or bark like. It's a little difficult to get good compaction in my flower pots. It had better luck with the pottting soil in my beds. The potting soil is fairly damp. The plants that are in partial sun or full are doing well. My shade lovers are still droppy after two weeks. I'm adjusting my watering to see if that helps. I have seen any fungus.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good Soil Mix

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ThriftyLady262 - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. The Back to the Roots Potting Soil is great. It met all my expectations and a little more in that it was also organic. When on sale I would definitely choose this soil again.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great product!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ShannonB - 8 days ago
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. I really like this product. It has organic ingredients that my plants need them the most. The soil is super loose which provides the best nutrients for potting plants. It's a great product, highly recommended!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Lots of mulch and bark

4 out of 5 stars
Ladyhawk - 9 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. Overall, I would say that this soil does the job depending on your need. It was looser than I would have liked. It has some more bark or mulch pieces. I personally thought this soil worked for my raised bed mixed with other more compact soil, but I wouldn't start seeds with it. I don't think it was problematic enough to knock off two stars, so I went with one. I prefer organic soil when I have the opportunity to buy it.
Did you find this review helpful?

Great product!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Karanicole - 9 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. This stuff is great for gardeners of all experience levels. Perfect for the flowers I want to plant along my house. I love that it has yucca for moisture control and that it is peat free. It also helps keep the soil PH balanced!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Highly Recommend!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ashbash95 - 9 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. This potting soil from back to the roots is a staple for my summer gardening. It gives my garden beds the refresh they need for a fraction of the price of some other brands. My plants respond really well to this potting soil. I definitely recommend this!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Includes plant food!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
joe - 10 days ago
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. Very easy to use all organic potting mix. I like it includes plant food to help the plants grow bigger. It seems like a very good value, all of the ingredients of the soil are listed on the package. I highly recommend this potting soil!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Includes plant food!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Nancy - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. Very easy to use all organic potting mix. I like it includes plant food to help the plants grow bigger. It seems like a very good value, all of the ingredients of the soil are listed on the package. I highly recommend this potting soil!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

A Bag of Sticks

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Vnieps - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. I had very high hopes for this product and was let down. it felt like it was a bag of 90% sticks and 10% dirt. I used it to pot my fig tree and it immediately grew a ton of mushrooms. So far my plant has not died, but I would not purchase this again. It felt like it would not provide the nutrients my plant needs long term.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 9 days ago
Hi Vnieps! We are sorry to hear you're having trouble with the texture of the soil, please reach out to us with a photo of the soil and the front and the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we'd love to help you grow or we can help with a refund or replacement.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Infested

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Gracebgust - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
Opened up the bag and it was infected with fleas. Completely useless.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 8 days ago
Hi Gracebgust! Fleas are not common with our Organic Potting Mix. Please send a photo of the front and back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soil or we can help with a refund.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Tasha - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
Bought several bags and I am highly let down. The soil is extremely wet, molds and somehow I had mushrooms growing. I lost several plants due to this soil. First time buying and last time buying.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 8 days ago
Hi Tasha! We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble with the potting mix. Mushrooms are a sign that your soil is biologically alive and healthy, but if you can please send a photo of your soil and plants, as well as a photo of the front and back of the bag to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you grow in our soils or we can help with a refund.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great soil

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Heather - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
I received product reimbursement in exchange for my honest review. This soil is great to use for potting my plants and vegetables! I love how it does not dry out too quick and the soil has great moisture. This product being organic is just another plus!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Terrible results for my seedlings

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Kj94 - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
I usually use miracle gro potting soil to start my seedlings, but this year I use this, since it was all I could find. It’s terrible! The plants are all stunted, a weird color, and look so unhealthy. I would never use this or recommend it. I’ve been gardening for 13 years, so I know it’s the soil and not anything else. Stay away.
1 reply from Back to the Roots, Inc. team - 6 days ago
Hi there! We are sorry to hear your plants are not thriving. If you wouldn't mind sending a photo of your seedlings to contact@backtotheroots.com, we would love to help you and your plants grow in our soils.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy